We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polar Express”
Review of The Salted Rim

The Salted Rim
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Ocean View
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Salted Rim Restaurant located in Ocean View Delaware. American and authentic Mexican Cuisine, Artisan cheese and Charcuterie boards. Located at the train cars on Rt 26, Atlantic Avenue in Ocean View Delaware! Dine in the train cars or in the pub area. We also host family friendly events in the trains such The Polar Express, Frozen and Thomas the Tank Engine! Create magical memories for your family as you enjoy a buffet dinner and watch the movie in the train cars decorated in the theme of the event. You will see the Conductor, Elves and Santa during The Polar Express or Anna and Elsa for Frozen! It is truly a wonderful time to spend with your family! Call us about booking Private Parties, Holiday Parties, Catering, Banquets and Meetings in authentic train cars serving customized American and/or Mexican Cuisine
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful time. My wife and I took our five year old granddaughter for this magical night. Starting off with a visit to Mrs. Claus to check in. We were met by Mr. Conductor where our tickets were punched just like in the movie. The old train car was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Large screen Tv were set up so all tables had a great view. Santa's elf brought drinks and then we went to a buffet dinner. The lights were lowered and the movie starts. When Santa's arrival in the movie comes , the real Santa enters the car and visits each child. Needless to say the squeals of joy filled the room. I would recommend this adventure to parents and grandparents
.Well thought out and organised.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TrailBlazer623425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

We were passing through Delaware at dinner time and decided to stop. My first impression was not good - I should have followed my instincts. It was very noisy. We asked to be seated in the back of the restaurant - away from the bar. We prefer a restaurant that we can communicate with one another while dining. That didn't happen. I chose a salad which was just ok - nothing special for $10.00 and no meat just salad, craisins, nuts and an egg. My husband had an enchilada - it was raw and soggy and the filling was not very good. As I said it was our first visit and our last.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dasher6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

We're really sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us. We take a lot of pride in the food we serve, so it is disheartening to know that it did not meet your expectations. We hope you're willing to give us another shot in the future so we have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

If you' looking for something different, check this place out. You can choose to eat in a beautiful rail car rather than their main restaurant. The rail car is quieter dining and is really pretty inside, especially at night. The food was delicious, service was great, portions were decent sized, and prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KASDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with my wife and friend. There were only a handful of customers. The service was terrible and the food was poor. Not a good experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank trakbum128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hello, I am sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact us at info@saltedrimde.com so we can further look into and discuss the situation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Like another reviewer, we had passed this restaurant for several years on our vacations to Bethany Beach, and had thought about stopping there to eat because it looked charming. We did so last week and were dismayed to find that aside from some seating inside the old railroad cars there was nothing special or even passable about the food or service. Our server had to be prodded several times to even get a glass of water. Our food service was a disaster of delayed or missing items, cold food and unpalatable food presentation. Despite having a number of servers milling about service was disorganized and painfully slow. To top it off my husband was up all night with a nasty stomach ailment after dinner. There are many places to eat at the beach. Skip this one!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sherlockjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hi There,
We are sorry that your dining experience was only worthy of a one-star review. Our customers and their satisfaction are our top priorities! If possible, would you please email us at info@saltedrimde.com to give us more insight of what happened the day of your visit, causing this review, so we can make adjustments accordingly. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salted Rim also viewed

 

Been to The Salted Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing