We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Dining in Rail Car”
Review of The Salted Rim

The Salted Rim
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Ocean View
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Salted Rim Restaurant located in Ocean View Delaware. American and authentic Mexican Cuisine, Artisan cheese and Charcuterie boards. Located at the train cars on Rt 26, Atlantic Avenue in Ocean View Delaware! Dine in the train cars or in the pub area. We also host family friendly events in the trains such The Polar Express, Frozen and Thomas the Tank Engine! Create magical memories for your family as you enjoy a buffet dinner and watch the movie in the train cars decorated in the theme of the event. You will see the Conductor, Elves and Santa during The Polar Express or Anna and Elsa for Frozen! It is truly a wonderful time to spend with your family! Call us about booking Private Parties, Holiday Parties, Catering, Banquets and Meetings in authentic train cars serving customized American and/or Mexican Cuisine
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

If you' looking for something different, check this place out. You can choose to eat in a beautiful rail car rather than their main restaurant. The rail car is quieter dining and is really pretty inside, especially at night. The food was delicious, service was great, portions were decent sized, and prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KASDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with my wife and friend. There were only a handful of customers. The service was terrible and the food was poor. Not a good experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank trakbum128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hello, I am sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact us at info@saltedrimde.com so we can further look into and discuss the situation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Like another reviewer, we had passed this restaurant for several years on our vacations to Bethany Beach, and had thought about stopping there to eat because it looked charming. We did so last week and were dismayed to find that aside from some seating inside the old railroad cars there was nothing special or even passable about the food or service. Our server had to be prodded several times to even get a glass of water. Our food service was a disaster of delayed or missing items, cold food and unpalatable food presentation. Despite having a number of servers milling about service was disorganized and painfully slow. To top it off my husband was up all night with a nasty stomach ailment after dinner. There are many places to eat at the beach. Skip this one!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sherlockjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hi There,
We are sorry that your dining experience was only worthy of a one-star review. Our customers and their satisfaction are our top priorities! If possible, would you please email us at info@saltedrimde.com to give us more insight of what happened the day of your visit, causing this review, so we can make adjustments accordingly. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

This place is very cool. You can eat in a train car or on the other side where there is a nice bar. It seems to get crowded at times, but that is how you know it is a good place. The bowls are amazing. I don't think I have had a bad meal here.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lbcpn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

We stop here at least 3-5 times a year for the past three years.

Its advertised Mexican but more american.

There is a bar inside. It is wheelchair accessible.

Best feature you can eat inside trains which is cool.

The food has always been great, servers wonderful.

My only negative comments are-- i wish there was more seating outside for nice summer days, the pond in front was blue and not green, and that breakfast would return. We came in June and breakfast was on trial basis. We were disappointed it was discontinued.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TLynnwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salted Rim also viewed

 

Been to The Salted Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing