We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Great Service. Very nice rooms. Excellent bargain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2010

There's a big college showcase soccer tournament in Nov each year (Kirkwood Tournament) and people travel from all over the east coast to participate. Our team likes to stay at nice hotels close to the playing fields and with rooms we can rent to have dinner ordered in for the team. The Hilton was perfect. From the friendly greeting at check in to the very, very friendly staff throughout our stay (always a pleasant greeting--from the front desk, phone service, a waiter/waitress--or a maintenance person on the elevator). The room was nice, up-to-date (with large flat screen tv) and included a small refrigerator and plenty of drawer space (also small couch/seat and desk with free wifi). We had about 15 players with rooms and paid a rate of $108 per night, which included a very nice buffet breakfast for 2 people (bacon, eggs, sausage, bagels/breads, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, and drinks). They do have a restaurant for other meals and a small bar (didn't use either one--except for breakfast buffet). We rented a room for our dinner and the staff was SO helpful---always checking in on us and getting us ice, tables, etc. Didn't want to accept a tip (but we finally convinced them to take one)! My wife did the arrangements with Cara, the sales manager, who was very helpful. The hotel even had directions printed for the guests so that we could find the fields easily (less than 10mins from the Kirkwood complex). Also: This hotel is right off of 95---right near a big mall (Christiana). Didn't go to the mall (it was Black Friday). There's a bunch of restaurants around the area and a Dunkin Donuts 1 min away, a liquor store 1 min away, etc. A great, enjoyable stay. And still can't get over the friendliness of the people everywhere we went in Delaware. Imagine working at a hotel with 100 or more teenage girl soccer players running around---and still being patient and friendly (lol). I would stay here again and recommend you stay here. I also believe that the hotel is pet friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

I wrote a lengthy letter directly to the hotel but will be brief here. Everything was absolutley PERFECT at this hotel. The staff was excellent, the food was incredible. They actuall give you raosted garlic with your bread, at dinner. GET THE STEAKS!
We had drinks in the Hunt Room where they give you there home-made potato chips. They were addicting!
They paid attention to little details that are too numerous to mention. The room has soft towels, liquid AND bar soap. Very comfortable bed and linens. Our room had coffee with MUGS, not plastic cups. Real glasses.
This place has it all and done to perfection. Some have commented that they did not like the lobby decor (dated). I thought it was very nice.
The staff realllly cares about your stay. They were all amazing.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevans369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was great with a varity of foods. You could have an omlet to order, lots of fresh fruit, or cereal. The noise level was low compared to other places I have stayed. Overall, I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaBuckhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

There's nothing special about this hotel. It's not bad but it's certainly not what I'd expect of a Hilton. It's more on par with a Holiday Inn Express.

The staff at the front desk were extremely professional. The hotel seems to be decorated in a quality manner.

However, it's difficult to even find this hotel. There is a Hilton sign out by the main road but you cannot see any other Hilton signs until you walk in the front doors.

There is also nothing country or estate like about this place. It's amid strip malls.

The only real complaints I have about it was that the bed wasn't as comfortable as I would expect for that type of hotel. Also, the bathroom is extremely tiny. The towels are Super 8 Motel quality. Anything going on in the bathroom can be heard clearly throughout the room.

Overall, the place wasn't bad but it wasn't anything special. For $209/night it should be much better.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgoudy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our honeymoon. We had a great experience. The location is within close proximity to shopping and local sights. We had a lovely breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious. The hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The beauty of the location, the attractiveness of the facility from the pond to the courtyard to the rooms coupled with the extremely efficient and pleasant staff make the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana the best of the best. An amazing additional benefit is the quality of the food at attractive prices and the expertise of the staff in the restaurant. As a fifty to sixty night per year hotel guest, one just doesn't see this quality in a hotel restaurant. Can't provide a higher recommendation than the one provided for this hotel and its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lstellmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stay in a lot of hotels accorss the country and this is the first hotel I am writing a review for. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This started with our check in and an invitation to a free wine and cheese event in the lobby. The room was spacious and had good pillows. The only negative would be that we had trouble keeping the room temperure regulated, but this is such a common problem in hotels that I really did not notice it.

The highlight was the hotel dining room. Unpretentious, friendly and family priced. I do not normally eat in the hotels I stay in but I am glad I ate here. It was so good that I made sure I ate breakfast there also and was not disappointed.

I am looking forward to my next trip to this hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $115 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, perfect for both business and leisure travelers, is designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Guest rooms are newly renovated with new features to make your stay more convenient than ever before. Hilton Honor members can use the Digital Key app to choose their room, bypass the front desk, and check into their room just by using their phone. In addition, our Kipsu program, allows guests to text message their requests to the front desk as opposed to calling or making the extra trip. Guest rooms and suites are modernly styled and include Wi-Fi high speed Internet Access, iHOME clock with docking station, tabletop lamp with built-in power outlets and USB port, Ergonomic work desk and chair, and 42 inch LG TVs with On Demand and HBO. Our Hilton hotel offers exclusive packages and is located near many corporate offices, world class area attractions, and tax free shopping. The hotel is located just off Delaware interstate 95 midway between Philadelphia international and Baltimore Washington International airports. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 10 mile radius (based on availability). On-site dining options include the brand new Market Kitchen & Bar, the outdoor Patio which features seasonal live entertainment during the week, and in-room dining. Our very own herb garden is located in the Courtyard of our hotel which is where our Food and Beverage Director plants vegetables and herbs, which we use in our fresh food dishes and hand-crafted cocktails. Whether dinner and fresh hand-crafted cocktails in the Market, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is designed to offer you the most memorable experience when hosting any sort of event. All meeting rooms, boardrooms, and Ballrooms are newly transformed and include innovative and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and chic decor. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor meeting and event space, we can accommodate groups of any size up to 300 people—and hold multiple breakout sessions. We offer delicious catering options fashioned by our award-winning culinary staff, a variety of flexible meeting packages and much more. The Patio is known for seasonal outdoor entertainment, happy hour specials, and is the perfect location to grab a refreshing drink or happy hour appetizer after your meeting. Voted "most happening hotel" in 2016 by North DelaWHERE Happening, best wedding reception venue by Delaware Today in 2016 and 2017, and best outdoor dining venue by Delaware Today in 2017. Whether you're hosting a conference or business meeting, a special birthday, or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time here at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Event planners on staff are ready to help you plan every detail of your special event. From coordinating the décor and choosing the menu to charming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing