We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to University of Delaware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great access to University of Delaware”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great place and close (10 minutes) to University of Delaware for parents to stay. Hotel was clean, staff friendly and plenty of parking. Breakfast was great and easy access to Christiana Mall. No problems. Would recommend this hotel for business, family, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Robin B, we want to thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Newark. We couldn't be happier to hear you had a wonderful experience at our property.

It's very common for us to have parents and other loved ones of students of the University of Delaware stay at our hotel. The quick and easy access to the school, as well as many other places makes our location truly prime. It's great to know you felt our staff was friendly, and you felt our breakfast was delicious. We'll make sure to let our team know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave an amazing review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    292
    118
    56
    40
See reviews for
315
269
75
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boothwyn,pa., United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

hotel was destination spot for my daughter's wedding. the hotel was 11 miles from Deerfield where wedding was . The Hilton supplied shuttle service from wedding destination back and forth. the Hilton was nice and we met for drinks after wedding and then for breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terrance O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Terrance O, we want to thank you for writing a phenomenal review, and wed also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your daughter's wedding. We're absolutely thrilled to hear everyone had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

We're glad we were able to be a part of your daughter's wedding day. It's great to know you loved our breakfast offering. We'll definitely make sure to let our entire team know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great Breakfast, great location. Hotel offers a "Go Green" program which rewards guests that don't have their room cleaned with a $5 coupon for food or snacks. I have to continue to write something here until I reach 200 characters to submit this review.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
James M, thank you for leaving a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Newark. We're happy you enjoyed your time at property.

Anything we can do, even if on a small scale, to be more efficient and help keep our planet clean is definitely important to us. It's great to know you liked our Go Green program. We have received a lot of great feedback about it so far.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

if we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

this young lady went above and beyond for me. It was a pleasure to have her help, she was very kind and caring. She enabled me to watch my granddaughter graduate on the livefeed from UDEl. as I was unable to leave my room due to a back problem. Even though I wish I could have been there,with her help at least I could see it. Thank you Patricia Rose

Room Tip: your rose garden made a great place for family photos
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Colleen F, thank you for writing a nice review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We're glad to hear a member of our team was able to go the extra mile for you and help out.

We realize a graduation is a very important event. We're thrilled our team member was able to aid in connecting you to the live feed of your granddaughter's graduation. We definitely wouldn't have wanted you to miss out on seeing that very special event take place.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My family and i stayed at this Hilton as part of a large out of town wedding party over memorial day weekend 2014. I can see the property is convenient if you are traveling in that portion of the country for some predetermined event - such as a wedding in the area, or an event associated with UD (located nearby - about 20 minutes). However, why people seemed to flock to the hotel all weekend was beyond me. Everything was clean, but the property is dated, and sorely in need of updating. Also, nothing was even remotely worth the price. The wedding party room rate was nearly $200/night, and everything at the bar was outlandishly expensive - especially considering there were a number of local establishments (both national chains and local places) a mere five minute walk out the aged, worn-looking, gold-festooned doors… I could see “Mclearn’s pub” across the street through the etched glass windows of the bar.
If it wasn't for the outrageously high prices for everything, i would have sworn that i landed on the set of Family Ties. i realize that the hotel (and the town too - although aside from strip malls and the I-95, i didn't see anything i could call "Christiana" town center) is located right between Baltimore and Philly, and on the ea$tcoa$t, but come on! get a grip. A jack and coke at the bar shouldn't be upwards of $10... The breakfast was extremely overpriced at nearly $20 per person, and the food at the bar was equally outlandishly priced. The pool was not heated, and is located in a small, completely bricked in courtyard. I don’t think I’ve spent as much time in an elevator as I did that weekend. Even though the hotel is a mere four stories (with the fourth being designated as “VIP” and requiring key card access), the elevators took an eternity to go only two levels.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay - if you can stand a constant barrage of would-be wedding guests and attendees for all sorts odd events at the "ball room". On the upside, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. It’s not modern, and it's not cheap. I'd suggest that if you have to be in the area, book a night at one of the cheaper chain hotels right across the street.

Room Tip: Overpriced and out of date. If you like dark wood with gold accents, and think that paying more mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottsdaleUrbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
ScottsdaleUrbanite. thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear your stay was pleasant, and that you felt our rooms were clean, and our beds were comfortable.

We take guest feedback very seriously. Please know that we have gone ahead and shared your comments with our management team. We're always looking to improve the guest experience and will certainly take your thoughts into consideration as we look towards the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently had a wedding reception at the Christiana Hilton. From start to finish the event was flawless and the staff were very detailed oriented. The hotel is very clean and the Le Chameleon room was the perfect size and décor for our event. The hostess and wait staff were friendly, attentive and hospitable. Overall wonderful event!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
K R, thank you for leaving an amazing review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to have your wedding reception at our property. We couldn't be happier to hear you were extremely satisfied with everything.

We absolutely love working with couples for wedding events. Nothing brings us more joy than seeing a happy couple celebrating their special and momentous day at our location. We're thrilled you felt every aspect of your reception was incredible. We'll definitely make sure to let everyone here know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon! (Maybe for an anniversary stay!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Super staff, all around. Everyone seems to enjoy providing their individual service. Clean, comfortable, and accommodating place to stay. Try the Hunt Club for drinks and eats, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Eric S, thank you for writing a fabulous review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Delaware. We couldn't be happier to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience during your business trip.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how amazing our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and caring individuals working with us. They're always trying to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure they have a perfect experience. We'll make sure to let our entire team know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
269 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, perfect for both business and leisure travelers, is designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Guest rooms are newly renovated with new features to make your stay more convenient than ever before. Hilton Honor members can use the Digital Key app to choose their room, bypass the front desk, and check into their room just by using their phone. In addition, our Kipsu program, allows guests to text message their requests to the front desk as opposed to calling or making the extra trip. Guest rooms and suites are modernly styled and include Wi-Fi high speed Internet Access, iHOME clock with docking station, tabletop lamp with built-in power outlets and USB port, Ergonomic work desk and chair, and 42 inch LG TVs with On Demand and HBO. Our Hilton hotel offers exclusive packages and is located near many corporate offices, world class area attractions, and tax free shopping. The hotel is located just off Delaware interstate 95 midway between Philadelphia international and Baltimore Washington International airports. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 10 mile radius (based on availability). On-site dining options include the brand new Market Kitchen & Bar, the outdoor Patio which features seasonal live entertainment during the week, and in-room dining. Our very own herb garden is located in the Courtyard of our hotel which is where our Food and Beverage Director plants vegetables and herbs, which we use in our fresh food dishes and hand-crafted cocktails. Whether dinner and fresh hand-crafted cocktails in the Market, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is designed to offer you the most memorable experience when hosting any sort of event. All meeting rooms, boardrooms, and Ballrooms are newly transformed and include innovative and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and chic decor. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor meeting and event space, we can accommodate groups of any size up to 300 people—and hold multiple breakout sessions. We offer delicious catering options fashioned by our award-winning culinary staff, a variety of flexible meeting packages and much more. The Patio is known for seasonal outdoor entertainment, happy hour specials, and is the perfect location to grab a refreshing drink or happy hour appetizer after your meeting. Voted "most happening hotel" in 2016 by North DelaWHERE Happening, best wedding reception venue by Delaware Today in 2016 and 2017, and best outdoor dining venue by Delaware Today in 2017. Whether you're hosting a conference or business meeting, a special birthday, or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time here at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Event planners on staff are ready to help you plan every detail of your special event. From coordinating the décor and choosing the menu to charming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing