We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Hotel Of Choice When In The Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“My Hotel Of Choice When In The Area”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed here on many occasions. My minimum stay is a week, the longest three weeks. The staff are pleasant, bar okay, business lounge very useful and breakfast has most things. I saw a review here saying there were not many restaurants nearby but that's simply not true, I can think of six just across the road and within a five minute walk. Someone's just not looking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for continuing to choose us when you come to town. We are honored to serve you. We know how tough it is to be on the road so much so we really try hard to make it a fun, family atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    270
    116
    54
    38
See reviews for
288
256
72
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had my reception at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, and I could not have been more pleased! The entire staff from the front desk, butler, chef, servers, etc. took much care to ensure excellent service from the first visit through the morning after our event. Most of the credit goes to Leah Markiewicz, who handled all the details of the event and did a beautiful job. I highly recommend the hotel for any events. We were also pleased with the cleanliness of our room, and the bed was very comfortable too! All in all a perfect time! Thank you to all the staff at the Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
WOW! Thanks for such positive feedback! We really appreciate you entrusting us with your special day. I'm glad we exceeded expectations. See you on your first anniversary (and hopefully sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, location was ideal to our needs...A bit noisy at night and not many restraunts in the direct area. Rooms wer well kept and very affordable. A very nice courtyard and pool, both well kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have not been happy with the Hilton hotel chain lately. I booked the Christiana Hilton for a leisure weekend because I am a Diamond member and I wanted to get the points. Also it was close to the casino. It is a beautiful hotel. I received a wonderful upgrade and the room was beautiful and very clean. I stay in a lot of Hiltons on the east coast and this is by far the best one. Staff is super friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback at the hotel. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you had such a positive experience. Hopefully this will give you motivation to continue to try Hiltons in other areas. Regardless, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have had smaller group activities at the Christiana/Hilton and have always had excellent service.
This conference was a weekend affair. We planned over several months with Patty Harris and Katie McNally. We could not ask for better service provided by these two ladies. The entire staff was courteous and friendly to all of our guests attending the conference. Everyone had a wonderful time and we will return to the Christiana Hilton in Newark, DE in the near future.
Thanks for your kindness in every aspect of this conference.

Shirley Farr, Chairperson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post feedback about your experience at the hotel. We really appreciate you choosing us. I will be sure to give props to Katie and Patty. They are two of the best! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband was at Christiana for six days, and my stay at the Hilton eased my stress. When the hospital called to ask how long it would take me to be there one morning, I was glad to be able to say "ten minutes." The accommodations were excellent, particularly the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Candy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your positive experience about the hotel. We really appreciate it. I hope your husband is doing well. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel is a bit older and could use some modernization, but the service at the hotel makes it a good stay. The staff is friendly and warm - the restaurants, room service, and particularly the front desk and make a week away from home a lot easier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us such positive feedback about your visit. I'm happy you found our people and service to your liking. We just installed new guestroom carpet throughout the entire hotel and that has made a huge difference. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Christiana is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our overnight guest rooms and suites envelope you in comfort, featuring soft colors, and conveniences such as wireless Internet access. Guests on our Executive Level enjoy access to a private lounge with a complimentary cocktail reception consisting of beer, wine, and light hors d'oeuvres Monday - Thursday from 5pm - 7pm, and refreshments throughout the day. Delight in the cuisine of the Brasserie Grille, our steak and seafood restaurant serving up aged certified Angus beef grilled to perfection. Whether dinner in the Brasserie Grille, sunset cocktails in the Hunt Club Lounge, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. Rejuvenate with a workout at the gym or a swim in our shimmering outdoor pool. World-class attractions, such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, are just minutes away. Take advantage of tax-free shopping, also just minutes away, at the Christiana Mall and Christiana Fashion Center. Our meeting facilities and innovative meeting enhancements ensure your event is highly memorable. We pride ourselves in our landscaped Courtyard and Patio which are absolutely perfect for outdoor events. Whether you are planning a corporate conference or a magical wedding in our gazebo, our team will make sure that everything goes exactly as planned. Why trust anyone else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing