We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand hotel that is showing her age” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
1 review
“A grand hotel that is showing her age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed on executive level room (4th floor) on two different trips, each of 4 nights. Ask for a room facing the pool / courtyard, if you want a quiet room. In-room dining is fair to average (diner quality food). Rooms are comfortable but showing signs of use, similar to the rest of the hotel. Executive lounge is small but cozy. Mary, who works in the executive lounge, will make you comfortable with her friendly banter. Good choices of beers and drinks offered in the lounge, as well. Not a bad choice to stay in the Wilmington / Newark area but the hotel is living on its history and the Hilton name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    268
    116
    54
    38
See reviews for
282
251
72
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this Hilton. I was only staying one night and did not really expect much. It is located in a commercial area, yet It was surprisingly quiet. I did stay on a Saturday and that might have made the difference. I somehow got upgraded to their private floor, which means a key access for the elevator, and I would suggest that if possible. Spacious room, clean, and a staff that could not have been more helpful. There was a wedding taking place, yet, you did not feel forgotten. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Try for the private floor.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkLaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you had such a positive experience and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

stayed 3 nights. clean, quite, staff was very nice. would be first choice if stayed in area again.easy access to highways. quick check in and out . the pool was very nice, dining room and lobby had comfortable feeling

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review! I'm glad we are your first choice in the area. We know you do have choices and appreciate you giving us an opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay here while on business was pleasant surprise. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant very good for dinner A MUST is a stay on executive floor great appetizers and complimentary bar. Hostess was great. Also breakfast came with our room which was only 10 dollars more

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbonedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What a great review! We really work hard on our Food & Beverage effort so it is great to hear your rave reviews about dinner and the Executive Lounge. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great fore the price. Needs breakfast place. small bathroom with missing grout. Lobby to room can be confusing. Down the street from the casino. Just off the I95 expressway. Overall a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for providing feedback on your recent visit. We will follow up with the grout missing in the bathroom. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiana / Newark, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

There are many hotels in whcih to stay in the Wilmington / Newark / Dover area and this property is an excellent choice. It's a busy place, with restaurant, catering, indoor bar, and patio bar. Lots of options for relaxation and dining. The mall across the main road offers many dining options, too. My room was very, very quiet and comfortable, and I had an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review! We pride ourselves on always having a lot going on for our guests. It gives the hotel a great atmosphere and vibe. For clarification purposes, we are not actually on Rt. 13 (but we are close to it).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room was VERY nice, looked like it had been refurbished. Everything smelled and looked fresh. The business center was excellent! We slept very well. Very quiet, no disturbances at all. The hotel is very close to the hospital we were visiting, cutting down on travel time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the kudos! We have just installed new carpet in all of the guest rooms! I'm glad we met your expectations and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Christiana is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our overnight guest rooms and suites envelope you in comfort, featuring soft colors, and conveniences such as wireless Internet access. Guests on our Executive Level enjoy access to a private lounge with a complimentary cocktail reception consisting of beer, wine, and light hors d'oeuvres Monday - Thursday from 5pm - 7pm, and refreshments throughout the day. Delight in the cuisine of the Brasserie Grille, our steak and seafood restaurant serving up aged certified Angus beef grilled to perfection. Whether dinner in the Brasserie Grille, sunset cocktails in the Hunt Club Lounge, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. Rejuvenate with a workout at the gym or a swim in our shimmering outdoor pool. World-class attractions, such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, are just minutes away. Take advantage of tax-free shopping, also just minutes away, at the Christiana Mall and Christiana Fashion Center. Our meeting facilities and innovative meeting enhancements ensure your event is highly memorable. We pride ourselves in our landscaped Courtyard and Patio which are absolutely perfect for outdoor events. Whether you are planning a corporate conference or a magical wedding in our gazebo, our team will make sure that everything goes exactly as planned. Why trust anyone else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing