We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice room - comfy bed - loved the room service!
Enjoyed a nice filet Mignon dinner that was excellent.
Also enjoyed the brunch in the morning.
Rooms were very nice and spacious and clean.
Hotel was set back from the road so it was nice and quiet.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLMBedford_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for such positive feedback about your stay. We are very thankful that you chose to stay with us and were happy with the experience. I'm glad you had a chance to have the filet. We think it is the best around! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arranged our wedding at the Hilton with Leah M and everything was absolutely phenomenal. We had our ceremony in the courtyard (fresh flowers were planted in the morning) and the staff helped to keep the event on time and run smoothly. Every detail of our fu wedding was perfectly executed. My family does not stop talking about how good the food was and how the personnel at the hotel were top notch. We stayed two nights in the hotel as did many family and friends. There were no complaints and the rooms were very nice. I highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue, a place to stay and dine. We are so happy with the Hilton and know we got great value for our money. Five stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wcudanielle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

First of all - CONGRATULATIONS! We are thrilled you chose us to make your special day a "dream come true". I've been in this business a long time and can honestly say there is no one who takes weddings more seriously than our team. We look forward to seeing you come back to celebrate every anniversary with us! Thank you for the fantastic feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything was great from check-in to departure. Good location to eating establishments, shopping centers and casino. Took a shuttle to casino. Driver was pleasant, helpful and on time both ways. Quiet and beautiful scenery. Staff was nice and helpful at all times. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a positive review on Trip Advisor! I'm glad we made you comfortable. Your comments about our location are heard frequently. We are really in the middle of it all! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This well maintained hotel has Hilton amenities and ambience in spades. Much better choice than hotels that are nearer to UDel. It's about 15 minutes by car to Main st, Newark. But by I-95 and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the kudos! We love hearing the ambiance and amenities we offer are a differentiator. We take our food and beverage effort seriously and I'm glad it has an impact. We really appreciate you choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The rooms are quite clean and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable. The staff is pleasant and helpful. We used hotwire for booking this hotel and got a great deal. The hotel was quite busy and our room was by the elevator but I didn't hear much noise during our stay. We didn't stay for breakfast so I cannot comment on the quality. I would recommend staying at this hotel. It is about 15 minutes away from the university.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsusan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay! We really appreciate you giving us high marks and mentioning how convenient we are to the University of Delaware. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Although there are a lot of nice things to say about this hotel, using "Hotwire" to book it is not one of them. We booked this hotel using Hotwire, paid our money up front and then called them to request a "non-smoking room". Unfortunately for us, there were no "non-smoking rooms" available and no way to get our money back. We asked to be put on a waiting list in case of any cancellations and then called later in the day. When we did, we were then told that our reservation was for a "non-smoking room". When we arrived at the hotel and entered the room, to our surprise, they had stuck us in smoking room after all and boy did it stink! We told the people at the front desk that we had called, but this got us nowhere. If there was a way to cancel our reservation and get our money back, it was not offered.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide the feedback about the hotel. I'm sorry we were not able to accomodate your request for a non-smoking room. The advantage of booking channels like Hotwire and Priceline is that you can save a lot of $. The biggest disadvantage is you forfeit the guaranteed room type. We strive to honor as many requests as possible and I'm very sorry we were not able to grant yours in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here on business and also conducted a meeting at the hotel and was generally pleased with all accommodations. The staff at the front desk and the meeting staff were very friendly and quite helpful, and the room I slept in was very nice and well maintained. The only complaint about this hotel was the lack of diversity for food options. Nothing on the room service menu appealed, and the hotel restaurant was an upscale steak house, and there weren't any super convenient restaurants without a car. I wound up walking across the (very busy, wide) street to a restaurant for dinner. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless it was for business, but then again, I wouldn't be in Delaware again if not for business.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thanks for taking time to submit a review on our hotel. We really appreciate it. I'm sorry we didn't have menu selections that were appealing. We need to do a better job communicating to our guests that if they have any special requests, we are happy to accomodate them. I"m glad the rest of your stay was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $124 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, perfect for both business and leisure travelers, is designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Guest rooms are newly renovated with new features to make your stay more convenient than ever before. Hilton Honor members can use the Digital Key app to choose their room, bypass the front desk, and check into their room just by using their phone. In addition, our Kipsu program, allows guests to text message their requests to the front desk as opposed to calling or making the extra trip. Guest rooms and suites are modernly styled and include Wi-Fi high speed Internet Access, iHOME clock with docking station, tabletop lamp with built-in power outlets and USB port, Ergonomic work desk and chair, and 42 inch LG TVs with On Demand and HBO. Our Hilton hotel offers exclusive packages and is located near many corporate offices, world class area attractions, and tax free shopping. The hotel is located just off Delaware interstate 95 midway between Philadelphia international and Baltimore Washington International airports. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 10 mile radius (based on availability). On-site dining options include the brand new Market Kitchen & Bar, the outdoor Patio which features seasonal live entertainment during the week, and in-room dining. Our very own herb garden is located in the Courtyard of our hotel which is where our Food and Beverage Director plants vegetables and herbs, which we use in our fresh food dishes and hand-crafted cocktails. Whether dinner and fresh hand-crafted cocktails in the Market, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is designed to offer you the most memorable experience when hosting any sort of event. All meeting rooms, boardrooms, and Ballrooms are newly transformed and include innovative and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and chic decor. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor meeting and event space, we can accommodate groups of any size up to 300 people—and hold multiple breakout sessions. We offer delicious catering options fashioned by our award-winning culinary staff, a variety of flexible meeting packages and much more. The Patio is known for seasonal outdoor entertainment, happy hour specials, and is the perfect location to grab a refreshing drink or happy hour appetizer after your meeting. Voted "most happening hotel" in 2016 by North DelaWHERE Happening, best wedding reception venue by Delaware Today in 2016 and 2017, and best outdoor dining venue by Delaware Today in 2017. Whether you're hosting a conference or business meeting, a special birthday, or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time here at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Event planners on staff are ready to help you plan every detail of your special event. From coordinating the décor and choosing the menu to charming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing