We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full service hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
NE
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Full service hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is a bit older, but quiet and clean. I got upgraded due to my HH Gold status (thanks!) and the executive floor drink/hh room staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing! Hotel is close to the interstate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! Though the property opened in 1984, we have done major renovations in all our guest rooms and public areas just recently. We are getting ready to update the Brasserie Grille and build a deck along the Swan Pond soon! We invite you to come back in the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    268
    115
    54
    38
See reviews for
281
251
72
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Christiana for a family wedding in January, and I feel that this hotel had every amenity one should expect from a reputable brand like Hilton. Friendly Staff, Comfortable Rooms, Modern Interiors, Classical Exteriors, and of course, the wonderful array of breakfast are all attributes of this hotel. I would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Glad you had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer in the winter! Be sure to come back in the summer to soak up the sun at our pool and enjoy happy hour on The Patio after watching our daily Swan Feeding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the first time i stayed in Hilton Christiana during my stay at Delaware. The location is great. Staff is courteous. Loved the breakfast, especially the Omelete guy.
The shuttle staff was great with my daily transfers to office and my occasional shopping spree at the Christiana Mall.
The room was pretty standard Business Hotel, nothing fancy, though the Air conditioning unit kept making noises thru my stay.
The only little concern i had was with some of my local calls i made to Dover from my room phone and i was surprised to see that i was charged, where as the leaflet in my room clearly mentioned that all calls made at 302 area code was free of charge.
The hotel were initially reluctant but later on removed it from my bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishnendu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Don, the omelet chef, is fantastic; making breakfast a special experience beyond the most important meal of the day! Our convenient, complimentary shuttle servicing the local area makes it simple to get around. We apologize for the inconvenience with your AC and we have had our Engineers look at it. Glad we were able to take care of your phone bill. We look forward to seeing you again for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I didn't have anything to do this past NYE so we searched for a nice NYE event. We found The Hilton Wilmington / Christiana to have a very reasonable NYE package. When we got there everyone was very helpful and eager to make our stay wonderful. The Hotel was very close to the gaming venue, very clean and well kept. The holiday decorations were AMAZING.... OH DID I SAY THE DECORATIONS WERE "AMAZING" LOL, yes they were. The room was very nice and the fact that we had opted for the executive package put us on the top floor with special key card access to the floor. That little extra along with the made us feel a bit special. The NYE dinner included in the package was AWESOME, the portions were great. The Filet was of a very generous size and cooked to perfection, topped with Succulent Jumbo Shrimp. The hotel had three different ball rooms and ball drops with a great variety of musical themes.To put it short, Hilton Wilmington / Christiana we will see you again next year.... We had GREAT time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephandkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm glad you had such a great time for New Year's! Don't wait a whole year to come back and see us! We do a fantastic job for all of the holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This Hilton property is a gem. I have stayed in resort towns with Hiltons that do not compare to this property. From check in to check out, I was impressed.

Check in was super fast. I made my reservation on the phone through the Diamond Line while driving to the hotel (avoiding the blizzard further north). I thought for sure that I would be waiting for the whole pick-a-room process when I arrived, but my key was ready and I was quickly in my room.

The room was standard, but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was the same.

The bed was so-so...and the pillows even more so-so, but not enough to cause me any sleep issues. The temp in the room was a little hard to maintain at a comfortable level, but it was a crazy windy night and that might have played havoc with some drafts in the room.

The breakfast was good - simple and the layout kept everyone from crashing into one another. The folks maintaining the breakfast area were pleasant and attentive, but not annoying. It is a bit of an odd location in the hallway area, but it was a good use of a space and there was no foot traffic to speak of that made it uncomfortable.

Overall...great location and I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaveFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last four years or so. You can always count on a warm reception from the staff who is always helpful and courteous. The rooms are well appointed and always impeccably clean. The hotel services are without par. Other reviewer comments about the shower pressure are spot on; after a workout in the gym (all top notch PRECOR gear) what a treat....a soothing "water massage"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback! It is truly our goal to provide an experience like you can't get anywhere else. I'm glad we were successful in your case!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been staying here since last August for business and the staff is wonderful. When I walk in the staff is so out-going, they treat you just like family. They make sure you have everything you need and if you feel like the room is not comfortable or need anything, they make sure you feel comfortable and secure. The rooms are always fresh and clean.

It is a great place to stay if you want to be treated like a family member not a guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarkessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! As a family run company, we understand the importance of treating each other, and certainly our guests, like family. We are delighted that your extended stay was just as compfortable as home making us your home away from home. With bed boards, feather or foam pillows, refigerators, and microwaves, etc available upon request, plus any item you could possibly need, we work hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Christiana is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our overnight guest rooms and suites envelope you in comfort, featuring soft colors, and conveniences such as wireless Internet access. Guests on our Executive Level enjoy access to a private lounge with a complimentary cocktail reception consisting of beer, wine, and light hors d'oeuvres Monday - Thursday from 5pm - 7pm, and refreshments throughout the day. Delight in the cuisine of the Brasserie Grille, our steak and seafood restaurant serving up aged certified Angus beef grilled to perfection. Whether dinner in the Brasserie Grille, sunset cocktails in the Hunt Club Lounge, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. Rejuvenate with a workout at the gym or a swim in our shimmering outdoor pool. World-class attractions, such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, are just minutes away. Take advantage of tax-free shopping, also just minutes away, at the Christiana Mall and Christiana Fashion Center. Our meeting facilities and innovative meeting enhancements ensure your event is highly memorable. We pride ourselves in our landscaped Courtyard and Patio which are absolutely perfect for outdoor events. Whether you are planning a corporate conference or a magical wedding in our gazebo, our team will make sure that everything goes exactly as planned. Why trust anyone else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing