We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its your "home away from home"... perhaps just a bit nicer and likley better stocked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last four years or so. You can always count on a warm reception from the staff who is always helpful and courteous. The rooms are well appointed and always impeccably clean. The hotel services are without par. Other reviewer comments about the shower pressure are spot on; after a workout in the gym (all top notch PRECOR gear) what a treat....a soothing "water massage"!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback! It is truly our goal to provide an experience like you can't get anywhere else. I'm glad we were successful in your case!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been staying here since last August for business and the staff is wonderful. When I walk in the staff is so out-going, they treat you just like family. They make sure you have everything you need and if you feel like the room is not comfortable or need anything, they make sure you feel comfortable and secure. The rooms are always fresh and clean.

It is a great place to stay if you want to be treated like a family member not a guest.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarkessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! As a family run company, we understand the importance of treating each other, and certainly our guests, like family. We are delighted that your extended stay was just as compfortable as home making us your home away from home. With bed boards, feather or foam pillows, refigerators, and microwaves, etc available upon request, plus any item you could possibly need, we work hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went here for a busines function and we had a lot of people here. This is not the first time we have been here and they seem to do everything right because we keep coming back.
My room was great and I was able to control the temperatue well. The shower pressure was crazy strong, but I kind of liked it. I doubt it was very water wise.
We had a couple meals here and I thought the food was great for hotel banquet food.

Room Tip: A little steep in price for the breakfast bar for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moustacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive review from your business meeting! We are proud to host meetings of up to 300 people in our Christiana Ballroom. Our kitchen and banquet teams strives for perfection and we are delighted that your meals exceeded your expectations! Yes, our shower pressure is quite remarkable; our guests love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Isn't it great to feel as if you are always welcomed home even though you are traveling. The great staff at the Hilton makes us feel comfortable and secure each and every time we arrive. Christine and Cassandra are always willing and able to meet our needs, and the ambiance of new features recently in place keeps the Hilton fresh and exciting. We are always given the option of having the same room each time we visit, its why it has become our home away from home. Rich Jones

Room Tip: Great food, service and attention to detail, order the Classic Ceaser salad its DA BOMB
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you Mr. Jones for your loyal visits over the last decade! We love having you and your cat who occasionally comes along! Chris and Cassandra are wonderful and warm; we are happy they add to your home away from home. As you mentioned the "new features," please be sure to come on a Sunday now through March 24th to experience our Wine & Stien Brunch with live piano music and a complimentary glass of wine or beer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Christiana Hilton displays professionalism, courtesy, friendliness and superior service from check in to check out. The staff is exceptional, and gets their example and lead from the Director of Sales, Michelle Goad. Michelle is at the forefront in ensuring everyone's stay is handled flawlessly. The rooms are very well appointed and the bedding and pillows are top of the line. The Brassiere grill offers exceptional food and service, serving the best filet mignon in Delaware. The hotel is very well maintained,easily accessible from all major roadways and has ample parking. The decorations displayed at Christmas time were beautiful and very tasteful, including a Gingerbread House contest display. The Christiana Hilton is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! We strive to exceed expectations in all areas from service, to cleanliness, to quality and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Michelle is truely an asset not just to the sales team, but to the entire company. She is excellent at ensuring our corpoarte accounts are well taken of! The holidays are a special time of year where we surely "deck the halls" and then some. Be sure to come back and see us in the Spring for SpringFest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just spent the last 10 days here at the Hilton Christiana. The staff could not have been more courteous and professional. The breakfast fare was fantastic, the omlet chef was excellent and super friendly and I was very impressed with the food presentations coming from the kitchen for lunch and dinner. The only knock I have, and it is not the hotel's fault, is that I smelled cigarette smoke on several floors of the Hotel even though there is a no smoking policy. Inconsiderate people....
P.S. Mary Fran in the executive lounge is a treasure!

Room Tip: I rated the spa a 3 because they did not have a n/a as I never used or saw the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing comments of your experience during your extended stay! We pride ourselves in having a fantastic team of associates who are empowered to make moments into memories as they clearly have done well in the Brasserie Grille! We apologize for the cigarette smoke smell in the hallways; we do our best to keep the halls smelling fresh & clean. In reference to "the spa," we do not have a spa per se, however, we do offer spa services, like a massage, in your guest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great and surprisingly accommodating for a group event. Very clean and updated rooms make it a very appropriate location for corporate events and business travel. Bar can be lively at night against all odds.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for the positive remarks regarding your group's experience. We have been exceeding expectations for different sized groups for more than 25 years. We also have been working hard at improving the experience in our bar. It has turned into a very popular spot for guests in the hotel as well as the local community. Be sure to come back to see us in the Spring when the outdoor patio will be in full swing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $117 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, perfect for both business and leisure travelers, is designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Guest rooms are newly renovated with new features to make your stay more convenient than ever before. Hilton Honor members can use the Digital Key app to choose their room, bypass the front desk, and check into their room just by using their phone. In addition, our Kipsu program, allows guests to text message their requests to the front desk as opposed to calling or making the extra trip. Guest rooms and suites are modernly styled and include Wi-Fi high speed Internet Access, iHOME clock with docking station, tabletop lamp with built-in power outlets and USB port, Ergonomic work desk and chair, and 42 inch LG TVs with On Demand and HBO. Our Hilton hotel offers exclusive packages and is located near many corporate offices, world class area attractions, and tax free shopping. The hotel is located just off Delaware interstate 95 midway between Philadelphia international and Baltimore Washington International airports. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 10 mile radius (based on availability). On-site dining options include the brand new Market Kitchen & Bar, the outdoor Patio which features seasonal live entertainment during the week, and in-room dining. Our very own herb garden is located in the Courtyard of our hotel which is where our Food and Beverage Director plants vegetables and herbs, which we use in our fresh food dishes and hand-crafted cocktails. Whether dinner and fresh hand-crafted cocktails in the Market, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is designed to offer you the most memorable experience when hosting any sort of event. All meeting rooms, boardrooms, and Ballrooms are newly transformed and include innovative and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and chic decor. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor meeting and event space, we can accommodate groups of any size up to 300 people—and hold multiple breakout sessions. We offer delicious catering options fashioned by our award-winning culinary staff, a variety of flexible meeting packages and much more. The Patio is known for seasonal outdoor entertainment, happy hour specials, and is the perfect location to grab a refreshing drink or happy hour appetizer after your meeting. Voted "most happening hotel" in 2016 by North DelaWHERE Happening, best wedding reception venue by Delaware Today in 2016 and 2017, and best outdoor dining venue by Delaware Today in 2017. Whether you're hosting a conference or business meeting, a special birthday, or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time here at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Event planners on staff are ready to help you plan every detail of your special event. From coordinating the décor and choosing the menu to charming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing