We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever , for the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

By far the best hotel experience ever. And it was no fluke since this was my second time here.From the time you enter the parking lot and seeing the swans in the pond to the moment you leave everything is top notch.I definitely would suggest you upgrade to the Executive level.Great lounge on this level , that is not used by many guests. Also the free passes to Delaware park including valet parking was a nice touch.

Room Tip: the 1st floor would not be a great idea on weekends. Weddings and party's can be loud.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thanks!!! When are you coming back? Your suggestion about the executive level is a good one. Our guests that travel the globe often tell us this amenity is the one that really sets us apart during the week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just had my 25th high school reunion at the Christiana Hilton. The banquet room was beautiful, the staff was very professional and helpful and the food was fabulous! The hotel offered a group rate to stay overnight, the room was great, very clean and beautiful.
Overall, a great place to stay for a great rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We really work hard at making our food and beverage experience one that you can't find elsewhere in the area. I'm glad it showed in this case!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in Newark. The hotel was fine, paying a rate of $139 per night. There was a DJ out on the patio at night by the open fireplace. Additional heaters were provided since it was a bit chilly. The wedding was not at the hotel, but there must have been two to three wedding receptions during our stay, so very busy. The bar in the lobby closes early (as far as bar hours go), which is kind of annoying. I think last drinks were served either at 11 pm or 12 (don't quite remember).

My recommendation is not to eat at the restaurant. Service is slow and by the time the food got to us, it was cold. We had breakfast there. The room is well equipped, as is standard for a Hilton. Nothing special, other than it served its purpose, as a lot of the wedding guests stayed there.

The big mall is not very far away and there is a nail salon across the street in the strip mall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfrie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your experience. I will take a hard look at why your dining experience was not up to standard. If you have occasion to return to the area and stay here, please contact me directly and I will ensure we exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars is because I was on the ground floor during my stay and there were 2 weddings going on. I got woken up numerous times Saturday night and into Sunday morning. Some of the wedding party was on my floor so I didn't get much sleep that night. I would have asked to be moved but it was 3 o'clock in the morning. Other than that one night my stay was excellent. The food from room service was exceptional. The cool cumcumber water was very refreshing. The staff greeted some clients by name--very impressive all the way around. I did complain about the noise to the front desk and I was given points toward my Hilton Honors membership so the Hilton tried to correct te error. I definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Avoid the Lanai rooms toward the lobby if you need a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I'm glad we hit the mark on service and food quality! I'm sorry we weren't able to provide you a more restful sleep. We will make a note in your guest profile to ensure you are put in the quietest part of the hotel possible on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Got a "Deal" on an Executive floor room online for a 2 night stay during a road trip and family visit.
Price was right, the hotel is VERY NICE, but some maintenance issues and policies made the stay..... annoying. The "Executive Level" requires your room Key Card to activate the floor button in the elevators. At best 3 tries, at worst 6 tries with one card and 3 tries with the other to get the floor selected each time we used the elevators (there are 2). The door to our room looked like someone broke it down and they had repaired it (It was split on both the hinge and latch sides and had a block of wood bolted in the door to support the top hinge where the door obviously gave way. I know this because we had trouble opening the door - as it was not in the door jamb correctly due to this repair. We finally called the desk. The maintenance man worked for an hour to get the door to open. Unfortunately we had to stay in the room as he went back to the maintenance shop several times leaving our room unsecured, and causing us to postpone our plans for that afternoon :( The door "worked" but the guy said he told his supervisor they needed to replace it (Ummm I agree - But that it should have been done before I had to call it in). After he left, I fixed the sliding doors to the closet, the adjustment screw for the rollers was all the way out so the door didn't roll, you had to pick it up to move it. (isn't the cleaning staff reporting these issues?) The shower, ok, but as in most hotels the liberal use of caulk to fix the poor tile job was a bit moldy and mildewed. Threshold molding in the Lobby loose and people tripping on it - and Oh the Exec. Lounge is closed Sat & Sun!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the Executive level rooms - there are NO amenities. I'd say more...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I'm very sorry you encountered so many issues on your visit. I will look into the items you listed as soon as possible and ensure they are resolved. If you have occasion to return and give us another opportunity, please contact me directly and I will make the arrangements. Please accept my apologies from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first time to this hotel and we went for a wedding. The hotel was wonderful! It was clean and everywhere you looked there was complimentary mint/cucumber water or something to drink. Our room was clean, TV was big, view of pool and courtyard was nice. The hotel is big so we did get a little lost a couple of time lol but overall I would def. recommend this hotel! Even the general ambience of the hotel was great..staff was very nice and everything was just so clean! I loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool and courtyard...very nice!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IheartMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback! Your tip about requesting a room overlooking the courtyard is a good one. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have visited this hotel many times over the years for business, but stayed as a guest this weekend. We attended a wedding, and it was perfect. All the common areas are elegant and clean. There is a courtyard that reminded me of NewOrleans. The pool and hottub are outside and were still open mid-September. The temperature of the pool was very cold and the hottub not very hot but, that could just be due to the weather.

I booked a room on the 4th floor, Concierge level. Depending on the day of week you may have a complimentary cocktail hour or a "free" breakfast buffet. At $14.95 per person it made the upgrade sensible. Room was well appointed, comfy bed, no complaints whatsoever.

The banquet food we had at the wedding was very good. I had steak and it was pink in the middle and tender. Surprising as steak is tough to pull off at banquets.

Parking was free and convenient.

The only complaint I have is that the breakfast buffet service was terrible. We approached the hostess stand and she didn't make eye contact and waved her hand and said "Sit anywhere." A quick scan of the area offered numerous tables piled with dirty dishes. No bus boy? As the crowd was obnoxious with kids running all over we decided to eat outside in the courtyard. Anyway it was self serve, pretty much the same kind of breakfast foods found at many complimentary hotel breakfast. There was a man who did make omletes or eggs to order. Thank goodness! The coffee was empty and the potatoes undercooked. After we ate, suddenly a waiter appeared to hand us a bill. We showed our vouchers and left a very modest tip, considering the non existent service. Please do not pay for this buffet. There are tons of restaurants and a giant regional mall within minutes that are a much better bet. I would expect better, especially from THIS Hilton.

Room Tip: My room was 428, it was near the elevator and ice machine. Had no issues with noise or the room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to give a detailed description of your experience. The comment about the steak was one that warms my heart! We work hard on the food quality in the hotel. That said, I will investigate the root cause of what went wrong during the breakfast you had. I'm sorry this wasn't a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $124 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, perfect for both business and leisure travelers, is designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Guest rooms are newly renovated with new features to make your stay more convenient than ever before. Hilton Honor members can use the Digital Key app to choose their room, bypass the front desk, and check into their room just by using their phone. In addition, our Kipsu program, allows guests to text message their requests to the front desk as opposed to calling or making the extra trip. Guest rooms and suites are modernly styled and include Wi-Fi high speed Internet Access, iHOME clock with docking station, tabletop lamp with built-in power outlets and USB port, Ergonomic work desk and chair, and 42 inch LG TVs with On Demand and HBO. Our Hilton hotel offers exclusive packages and is located near many corporate offices, world class area attractions, and tax free shopping. The hotel is located just off Delaware interstate 95 midway between Philadelphia international and Baltimore Washington International airports. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 10 mile radius (based on availability). On-site dining options include the brand new Market Kitchen & Bar, the outdoor Patio which features seasonal live entertainment during the week, and in-room dining. Our very own herb garden is located in the Courtyard of our hotel which is where our Food and Beverage Director plants vegetables and herbs, which we use in our fresh food dishes and hand-crafted cocktails. Whether dinner and fresh hand-crafted cocktails in the Market, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. The Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is designed to offer you the most memorable experience when hosting any sort of event. All meeting rooms, boardrooms, and Ballrooms are newly transformed and include innovative and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and chic decor. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor meeting and event space, we can accommodate groups of any size up to 300 people—and hold multiple breakout sessions. We offer delicious catering options fashioned by our award-winning culinary staff, a variety of flexible meeting packages and much more. The Patio is known for seasonal outdoor entertainment, happy hour specials, and is the perfect location to grab a refreshing drink or happy hour appetizer after your meeting. Voted "most happening hotel" in 2016 by North DelaWHERE Happening, best wedding reception venue by Delaware Today in 2016 and 2017, and best outdoor dining venue by Delaware Today in 2017. Whether you're hosting a conference or business meeting, a special birthday, or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time here at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Event planners on staff are ready to help you plan every detail of your special event. From coordinating the décor and choosing the menu to charming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing