We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I celebrated by recent birthday by visiting - Delaware. We came a long way as we live near Allentown, PA. Our room and our dining experience were first class. More importantly the Hilton's staff were very helpful and courteous. We just has a GREAT time...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    268
    116
    54
    38
See reviews for
282
251
72
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My favorite place to stay in Delaware! I stayed at this hotel for seven months while traveling for business and was never disappointed. I was always treated with respect and courtesy. My rooms were always clean and comfortable. The hotel staff is fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and bar have great food and the breakfast buffet, with made to order omelets, is a favorite of mine. I would highly recommend this Hilton for your stay either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. From the first moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly and treated as honored guests. The front desk staff were excellent and called us by name from the very beginning of our stay. No request was considered trivial and was carried out with great consideration. This hotel is definitely a keeper.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCLegalLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Last minute trip through Delaware over Thanksgiving. Booked on line. Candidly I regretted it from the moment I walked in the hotel. Reception wasn't rude but they weren't friendly or even welcoming. Hotel charges for wifi (Hilton Garden Inn usually doesn't which I mentioned - person at reception said "we do."

The room was ok. Big issue was there was a hockey tournament or something in the hotel and the kids were running all over the place - in public places, up and down hallways - and neither the hotel or parents did anything to keep them quiet.

Looks like more of a conference hotel. But for individual travel (business or leisure) I would definitely look at a Hilton Garden Inn or another hotel than this one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collierguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our favorite place to stay when visiting familily in Delaware. Great location, beautiful hotel, nice rooms and good staff. We like the buffet breakfast. Rates can't be beat by even lesser class facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCSpartaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

A Hilton property that aims to please. Very helpful and courteous staff that works hard to accommodate all requests. Well equipped fitness center and business center available to all guests without additional charge. If breakfast is an important event, you won"t want to miss this one. Excellent variety of fresh wholesome foods for everyone regardless of taste or diet particulars. Lots of activities close by. I always look forward to a return visit, especially when the Executive Lounge is available.

Room Tip: They are all good. I prefer a high floor, but that's just my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Two parts: First, got my two room via Priceline for $50/night/per room. Second, the hotel advertises that they accept pets.

PROBLEM: they charged me $50/night for my Maultese! When I checked in!

ISSUE: Neither Priceline nor the hotel state anywhere that there will be an additional change for pets.

Such charges need to be stated clealy and UPFRONT.

Different matter: Called and asked for an adjoining room an hour earlier, told the front deak lady that I would be there within the hour, showed up to check-in, was told none were available. Their words have no worthiness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TKDgladiator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Property: Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Christiana is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our overnight guest rooms and suites envelope you in comfort, featuring soft colors, and conveniences such as wireless Internet access. Guests on our Executive Level enjoy access to a private lounge with a complimentary cocktail reception consisting of beer, wine, and light hors d'oeuvres Monday - Thursday from 5pm - 7pm, and refreshments throughout the day. Delight in the cuisine of the Brasserie Grille, our steak and seafood restaurant serving up aged certified Angus beef grilled to perfection. Whether dinner in the Brasserie Grille, sunset cocktails in the Hunt Club Lounge, or enjoying seasonal live music on our outdoor Patio, relaxation is never far away. Rejuvenate with a workout at the gym or a swim in our shimmering outdoor pool. World-class attractions, such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur, are just minutes away. Take advantage of tax-free shopping, also just minutes away, at the Christiana Mall and Christiana Fashion Center. Our meeting facilities and innovative meeting enhancements ensure your event is highly memorable. We pride ourselves in our landscaped Courtyard and Patio which are absolutely perfect for outdoor events. Whether you are planning a corporate conference or a magical wedding in our gazebo, our team will make sure that everything goes exactly as planned. Why trust anyone else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing