We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was lucky I wasnt killed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed September 4, 2006

I had accidently left my light on in my car. My daughter noticed when she looked out the window. I went down and turned off the light.

The next morning I found that my passenger window had been smashed in. The police said it was probably done with a baseball bat.

I then discovered that not only had this happened before but the maintanence shed (which I was parked in front of) had just recently been broken into.

When I went to the front desk they told me they were not responsible and there was a guard. The guard did not see my car lights on nor my window bashed in and I was there from 8 pm to 8 am. Nor did I see a guard there once.

I called corporate Marriott and they told me that the hotel is protected by an Innkeepers policy where they are not responsible for vandalized property.

So I paid $210 for one night at a hotel where I could have been attacked if I had gone out to my car later. And I am also out the cost of my window and my GPS unit.

I would never stay there again.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank jrpull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 156 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2006

I stayed at this Residence Inn for just one night but was very pleased with our stay. It is located very conveniently off I-95 not far from a moderate sized shopping center. The room was more than large enough for the four of us and came with a sofa, love seat and two stools at the counter island as well as two double beds. My son slept on the sofa while our daughter took the other double bed. The room was clean and everything worked well. Although it is somewhat common now, we were all very pleased with the free wireless internet and its ease of use. The full complimentary breakfast the following morning was quite good and kept well stocked. In addition to scrambled egges, pancakes and sausage, batter was provided to make one's own waffles. The breakfast staff was very friendly and greeted each group cordially upon arrival as well as upon departure. The bill for the room had been slid under our door during the night and check out consisted of simply calling the front desk and informing them we were leaving.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasualView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

I recently stayed at this Residence Inn for a week on a business trip.
The pros:
I stayed in a studio room and it had lots and lots of space.
The kitchen area had a full refrigerator, a dishwasher, a microwave, a 12 cup coffee maker, and a full sized stove and oven and it was also equipped with basic pots and pans, plates, cups, and silverware.
The room had a working fireplace.
The staff was really nice.
The hot breakfast was filling and Mon-Thurs there was an evening social that actually provided enough food to make a meal out of it.
It was clean.
The cons:
The room was extremely noisy. I could clearly hear the footsteps, running water, and conversation in normal tones of the people in the room above me.
The hotel is older and is starting to show its age in its furnishings, walls, and appliances. For instance, the wallpaper in my bathroom was starting to peel and there was rust inside of my dishwasher.
All of the rooms had outside entrances which made me feel less safe as anyone could have walked up to my door.
The mattress was old and uncomfortable.

I have stayed at other Residence Inns before and this place was definitely not as nice as most of them. It was an okay hotel, but considering that it was a Marriott brand hotel, I was not impressed. If you are just looking for a clean hotel that has a full kitchen then this place would be okay for you, but if you are expecting typical Marriott quality you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vidst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
345
Reviewed September 21, 2004

I stayed at the Residence Inn in Wilmington/ Newark from September 18-21 in 2003 (yes, I'm a year late with this review!). I originally reserved my room for the 19th, but was able to arrive earlier due to cancellations by NASCAR participants. Hurricane Isabel had come to town, which opened up several rooms at the Residence Inn.

Being at a hotel that is within striking distance of a hurricane is an unusual circumstance. When I arrived, the staff had to delay checking me in because they were all in meetings about how to handle emergencies "in the event of." I did NOT see this as an inconvenience at all, given the circumstances.

I originally reserved a Studio Suite, which suits 1-3 occupants. Apparently, the staff had dealt with some mighty cranky people before I arrived. When they apologized for delays which I found completely understandable, they upgraded my room to a penthouse suite for no extra charge! Travelers: Let this be a lesson to you. A smile and a good sense of humour will result in many rewards. Another hint: If you're traveling during huricane season, get yourself a hat or a shirt that has "Titanic Crew" embroidered on it. The RI staff was sure I had arrived to steer them clear of icebergs.

During my stay, I encountered housekeeping staff, groundskeepers and lobby staff. Each person I spoke to was pleasant and helpful. Even the fellow mowing the lawn had a friendly wave and helped with directions. I never felt that they were intruding on my privacy.

At one point there was a problem with the phone service and the night clerk was able to put a call through for me even when I couldn't dial it directly from my room. All this while they were boarding up the huge picture window in the gatehouse to prepare for Hurricane Isabel.

If a hotel staff can make you feel welcome and safe when a hurricane is approaching, imagine what they can do when the weather is fine!

From what I've been told, this particular hotel is somewhat different than other Residence Inns. The Marriot website for this location does not have (at this writing) photographs of the building or its environs, so you may be in for a bit of a shock when you arrive if you're not prepared. In fact, the home page of this location doesn't give you any indication of what you can REALLY expect when you arrive, but don't let that put you off, unless you have accessibility issues.

There are no interior hallways or elevators at this location, so be prepared to haul your suitcase(s) up two short flights of stairs if you're not on ground level. Additionally, rooms are in building "blocks," so don't bring your suitcase into the main building (Gatehouse) when you register. You'll need to drive your car to the correct building and unload from there. If you have trouble with this, be sure to contact the hotel directly to make appropriate arrangements.

Because of the building set up, I didn't notice any wheelchair accessible signage in my travels. Their website mentions only "Service animals allowed for persons with disabilities." I'm not sure what accommodations for wheelchairs are available, if any.

The penthouse suite I was given was really cool. I've lived in apartments that didn't have as much room as this hotel. For starters, the door to the suite, which opens to the outside world, has a dead bolt lock, a slide bolt and a viewer, so you can see who is outside your door. If you have an ounce of sense, you're not going to open the door to just anyone. The "porch" was well lit, so I felt completely safe. If I recall correctly, there is a sign on the inside of the door stating when housekeeping is likely to call with instructions to call the gatehouse to double check if you still are not sure.

Just inside the front door and to the right is the kitchen area. There is an island, with two stools. A basket of coffee, tea, sugar and powdered (yuck) creamer is waiting for your use.

The kitchen area has a full refrigerator, a microwave, a full stove and oven, a dishwasher and sink, coffee maker and full cabinets. Included are a nice selection of pots, pans, silverware, service for four and baking utensils - everything you'd need to cook a 3 course meal if you wanted to. Measuring cups, a toaster and can openers are here! They even make sure there are ice cubes in the freezer.

To the left of the front door is the living room area. There is a couch (which is a hideaway bed), an arm chair, a coffee table, an end table and a floor lamp. In this room, there is also a fireplace, a television set and a telephone. The TV is outfitted for a Web TV kind of internet access, which I didn't care for. I expect this has changed since last year and more "normal" high speed access is available.

Connected to, but separated from the living room by a curtain is another space. In this space, there is a table that can seat four for eating. There is also a desk with a lamp and a telephone. Additionally, there is a queen-sized Murphy's bed, which is a pull down wall bed. When you're done sleeping, the bed flips up and back into the wall. Great idea for this kind of room.

Off of this secondary room is a full sized bathroom that includes a toilet, shower/bath and sink with a vanity. The bathroom also has a hair dryer and the usual complement of soaps and shampoos. Outside the bathroom, there is a closet with mirrored doors.

As this was a penthouse, there is a second level to visit. Directly in line with the front door, just beyond the kitchen area, is a flight of 8 or 10 stairs. At the top of the stairs, you find yourself in another bedroom area. This is open to the bottom floor. You can look over the short wall and into the living area from the head of the upstairs bedroom. Here you'll find a queen-sized bed, a dresser with a television set on top, another closet with mirrored doors plus two night stands and another phone. The upper level has its own bathroom as well. The sink and vanity are outside of the toilet / shower room.

Every inch of the penthouse suite was immaculate. Windows in the secondary first floor area, as well as the upper level, could be opened to let in fresh air. You can be as alone as you like (which is what I like) and request that housekeeping NOT visit everyday or you can be involved in the group activities such as the Manager's Barbecue or free breakfast in the gatehouse.

If you stock your refrigerator, you won't have to deal with one heck of a jaunt to the gatehouse to replenish your coffee supplies in the middle of the night. It's not a quick trip down an elevator to the lobby! I happen to like this arrangement, so I loved this location.

I was traveling alone last year, so a penthouse suite was actually too large a space for a single person. But what a kick to choose from two bathrooms and two floors. My stay at the Residence Inn in Wilmington / Newark was terrific. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers who aren't afraid to carry their own luggage.

I hope this review was helpful, long-winded as it is.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: нет предпочтений
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Валерий П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark

Address: 240 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702-5405 (Formerly Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $180 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re doing business or vacationing in the Wilmington, Delaware area, you’ll be glad you found the Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington-Newark. Our centrally located hotel is just 13 miles away from downtown and has quick access to I-95, so no matter if you're here for business or pleasure, it will be easy to get to where you want to go from our hotel. We are also ideally situated for meetings with the major international credit card companies headquartered here, so our hotel is often a hotspot for those on business trips. With Free Wifi, oversized guest suites featuring full kitchens, daily free breakfast and an evening social three nights a week - we have all that you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing