We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was impressed as I drove up to the office. The grounds and the flowers were so beautiful. The staff at the front desk as so warm and friendly. I would give this Marriott an Excellent in spite of the age of these villas. The bedding is nice and white and so are the towels. Great cleaning staff. The breakfast was wonderful and many choices. A thank you to the lady who sets up breakfast for you. Be sure to thank her personally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kps2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    27
    18
    6
See reviews for
44
18
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've stayed here intermittently throughout the past two years. The first time for work and the rest for leisure. The rooms are adequate and the staff is nice. The rooms have a kitchen so I didn't have to spend too much money eating out. I like how the rooms are more apartment style with private entrances (where we don't have to go through the front desk). Being a female and traveling alone for most of the trips I really feel safe staying here. The location is also really close to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mryan208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

While I got business pricing due to travel arrangements for my employer, I stayed here every 2 months for about 2 years for meetings up the street on Chapman. PROS - proximity to activities in Delaware and price. Service was always great and have had no complaints after having stayed approximately 12 times in the last couple years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Full disclosure - I was able to get a nice 'corporate' rate but was planning on staying here anyway.

PROs
- I love the space in the Residence Inn suites.
- A small but well equipment fitness center.
- Nice breakfast in the mornings.
- The staff was VERY friendly. Nice job!


CONs
- It's a little 'loud.' The property is close to the interstate and the trees aren't enough to block all the noise. Also, it sounded like someone (kids?) were playing tackle football or something in the room above me and I hear them most of the afternoon and early evening.
- It didn't look like I had a ton of options for dining in the local area (I found a Red Robin and it was very good).


TIP:
- The sign for the property is hidden behind some trees, and you will go right past the entrance if you are going too fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berentski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had to attend a function in New Jersey and decided to stay in a hotel closer to our destination. We chose the Residence Inn because we stay in them often and like the "extras". We arrived just as the Light Fare was being cleared away and the staff very kindly made up two plates for us, so we could take them back to our room.
Our room was large, spotlessly clean and had all the comforts we have come to expect of the brand. Even though the highway is very close, we heard absolutely no noise at all.
After a restful night, we had a good breakfast and went on our way!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Like a lot of Residence Inns, it is a good hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly, unassuming service. The staff was warm and helpful, the breakfast was reasonable.

Despite being located next to a freeway, the hotel rooms are fairly quiet, and it provides easy access. It would also be a good choice for someone who was driving up I95 to stop for the night, and much more reasonably priced than hotels in the DC or Philadelphia area, although it is not commutable from either one. Easy commute to northern Maryland.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in one of the middle buildings are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SShimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I drove by it plenty of times and even chose to stay at other hotels instead; mistake on my part because this hotel is great. We had 2 suites; a 2 bedroom and a 1 bedroom. I've stayed at several other extended stay hotels in the area, and this hotel definitely stands out. The rooms are very clean and spacious. They feel and look like your own mini apartment. The 2 bedroom suite has an upstairs loft; which makes for even more space. The rooms have a FULL kitchen complete with normal size 4 burner stove as well as an oven. Each room has a flat screen and the beds are very comfortable. The living room has a pullout sofa for extra sleeping space. There is a basketball court, gym, laundry facility, and outdoor pool. Next to the pool there are additional tables and chairs overlooking a mini pond. The kids loved looking at the turtles in the pond while we sat outside eating dinner. I love the outside entrance to each room, but what stood out for me was the staff. Each person I came in contact with was extremely friendly, polite, and went out of their way to help a guest. I had issues at other extended stay hotels with extending our stay if an event was in town. The management here went above and beyond to make that process of extending our stay stress free. Since losing our home to a flood its been hard on my children, but staying here has made the situation a lot easier to deal with. I would MOST DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or someone looking for a great place to stay on business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybay302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Property: Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Address: 240 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing