We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great stay - I usually stay at one of the Wilmington Courtyard hotels but they were booked so I ended up at this Residence Inn and what a delightful surprise. The evening receptions were appreciated, breakfast was great, the staff was friendly and even the exercise room was well equipted (for this level of hotel). Now I have a conundrum - where do I stay on my next trip to Wilmington :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    29
    19
    6
See reviews for
48
18
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mashantucket, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a horrible experience at another Residence Inn I was ready to cancel this reservation altogether. I'm glad I didn't. When we arrived the front desk was cheerful and provided us with a gift bag. it contained 3 cold waters.

The complex is set up more like condos than a hotel. Each room has it's own exterior entrance. We were able to park just a few feet from the door of our unit which made unloading a breeze. The room is huge. The door opens into a sitting area with a desk and couch that faces a fireplace. Behind the couch is a full kitchen with an attached table that acts as a breakfast bar. it was stocked with a full service for 4. There is plenty of space to walk around the couch even with the queen size bed pulled out. On the far wall is a king size bed and a cozy bathroom. The vanity area is separate from the toilet and shower.

You could easily fit 2 cots in the room in addition to the sofa and bed. It was so nice to have a place to stay where they actually honored my reservation as it was done. We only stayed one night so I don't know how the housekeeping or breakfast is. Regardless I would recommend this Marriott.

Room Tip: Great size rooms for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyCWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Money well spent for a excellent night sleep.... The staff was very courtesy to help with check-in & checking out.... Very clean rooms, very quiet area & you're near a small mall which was nice.... Thanks again Residence Inn....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o1_cisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We live and long Island and were hit pretty hard by hurricane sandy. We decided to get away from our house that had no power or heat. We headed to visit our daughter and son in law and decided to stay at this Residence Inn. We were greeted with a smile and given a room right away. The hot shower was wonderful and the room was warm and welcoming. We stayed 2 nights and had a delicious breakfast each day.
The staff was very friendly.
After we checked out, my husband realized that he misplaced his sun glasses. We tried to trace our steps of the weekend and checked with every place that we had been. He did not think that he left them at the hotel, but after exhausting every other possibility, he called the hotel a few days later. And yes, they were there. They were very happy to mail them to him and they arrived a few days later. That is great customer service! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side not facing 95. It is definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a king/sofabed/queen loft room. Very nice, clean and spacious. Easily sleeps 6 -7 people! Breakfast - large selection, of food which was very good. Coffee 24 hours a day. There is a deck with a grill off of the lobby with a small lake. I'm sure it's very nice in the summer! They provide dinner Monday - Wednesday but did not get a chance to partake in this. There is a small fitness area. There is also an outdoor pool and spa. Grounds are well kept and the staff is very nice and friendly. There are a few restaurants close by along with a mall. Casinos are close by. Nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Yes this residence inn is showing its age,stayed there during the week and encountered no noise or people gathering outside maybe it was beacause it was during the week,breakfast ok room good for that type of residence inn but it is showing its age,needs a property upgrade staff very personable and willing to take care of your needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler457700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were traveling late the other night and hoped to make it to our destination, Philly but bad waether forced us to stop short in the Delaware area. After a few searches and cold calls from our GPS we came accross this gem. 1BD suite for $114 and only 3 minutes off I-95.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankercranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Property: Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Address: 240 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing