We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a king/sofabed/queen loft room. Very nice, clean and spacious. Easily sleeps 6 -7 people! Breakfast - large selection, of food which was very good. Coffee 24 hours a day. There is a deck with a grill off of the lobby with a small lake. I'm sure it's very nice in the summer! They provide dinner Monday - Wednesday but did not get a chance to partake in this. There is a small fitness area. There is also an outdoor pool and spa. Grounds are well kept and the staff is very nice and friendly. There are a few restaurants close by along with a mall. Casinos are close by. Nice stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Yes this residence inn is showing its age,stayed there during the week and encountered no noise or people gathering outside maybe it was beacause it was during the week,breakfast ok room good for that type of residence inn but it is showing its age,needs a property upgrade staff very personable and willing to take care of your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler457700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were traveling late the other night and hoped to make it to our destination, Philly but bad waether forced us to stop short in the Delaware area. After a few searches and cold calls from our GPS we came accross this gem. 1BD suite for $114 and only 3 minutes off I-95.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankercranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stopped here while driving south. Not great. You have to sign a form saying you know they don't allow loud parties, which seemed odd. As we drove around the complex we could see why, with many rooms open with people spilling out enjoying their Friday night. The complex is older and showing its age. The rooms were adequate, and very affordable, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zinfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed over weekend 2 weeks ago. Will be last time. Have stayed here many times over several years. Place continues to show it's age, no upgrades apparent. Room was not cleaned well, missing several items, including tv remote, kitchen chair, any room info of any kind. Mattress too soft .Breakfast still; ok - above average. Worst part - people in room next to us partying into early AM, people constantly coming and going, slamming door, yelling, sitting on steps outside our room talking loud on cell phones - you get the picture - got little sleep. Calls to desk clerk finally resulted in her leaving the office and knocking on their door. She tried at least, but it continued . When we checked out we explained to desk clerk (OJ) who apologized, said would report to manager, took our phone number and promised a call from manager who would attempt to keep our business . Of course the call never came, received nothing for our miserable stay in compensation - not even some extra points. OJ is a great guy - he could teach the manager a few things about customer service. Will be reporting this to Marriott Rewards as this property in no way resembles Residence Inn quality or service. Many better hotel options in area. Recommend Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Stay away from I-95 side - very noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brusherrPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Rooms are a little dated and worn. Front desk staff was friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was standard, good but nothing outstanding. Average for the Residence Inns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed there, again, the weekend of June 09-10. Was able to check in early and the room was nice and clean (#212). However, just as I was about to doze off and go to sleep I was awakened by barking and continuous running around by a dog(s) as well as a number of young children. After a 1/2 hour and the noise still continuing I phoned the front desk twice and submitted a complaint. Evidently nothing was accomplished by my telephone call because the noise went on for quite awhile and I eventually dozed off for the night.
Why would any hotel put pets above the ground floor is beyond me. A parent may be able to control their child from running and jumping around all night but an animal has a mind of it's own and doesnt know the difference between wrong and right.
Have stayed at this exact hotel before, and plan on staying here again but pets, especially dogs, should not be allowed on the upper floors.
Upon checkout I was asked to provide a telephone number I could be reached at. Still havent received a call. But the next morning I received an email stating that 5K points were deposited into my rewards account.

Room Tip: I'd recommend that a request for an upper level room due to no worries about pets or children ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark

Address: 240 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702-5405 (Formerly Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $116 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re doing business or vacationing in the Wilmington, Delaware area, you’ll be glad you found the Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington-Newark. Our centrally located hotel is just 13 miles away from downtown and has quick access to I-95, so no matter if you're here for business or pleasure, it will be easy to get to where you want to go from our hotel. We are also ideally situated for meetings with the major international credit card companies headquartered here, so our hotel is often a hotspot for those on business trips. With Free Wifi, oversized guest suites featuring full kitchens, daily free breakfast and an evening social three nights a week - we have all that you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Wilmington - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing