We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a nice find right off I-95 that provide a great room at a bargin price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This was a nice find right off I-95 that provide a great room at a bargin price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were traveling late the other night and hoped to make it to our destination, Philly but bad waether forced us to stop short in the Delaware area. After a few searches and cold calls from our GPS we came accross this gem. 1BD suite for $114 and only 3 minutes off I-95.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankercranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    27
    18
    6
See reviews for
44
18
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stopped here while driving south. Not great. You have to sign a form saying you know they don't allow loud parties, which seemed odd. As we drove around the complex we could see why, with many rooms open with people spilling out enjoying their Friday night. The complex is older and showing its age. The rooms were adequate, and very affordable, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zinfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed over weekend 2 weeks ago. Will be last time. Have stayed here many times over several years. Place continues to show it's age, no upgrades apparent. Room was not cleaned well, missing several items, including tv remote, kitchen chair, any room info of any kind. Mattress too soft .Breakfast still; ok - above average. Worst part - people in room next to us partying into early AM, people constantly coming and going, slamming door, yelling, sitting on steps outside our room talking loud on cell phones - you get the picture - got little sleep. Calls to desk clerk finally resulted in her leaving the office and knocking on their door. She tried at least, but it continued . When we checked out we explained to desk clerk (OJ) who apologized, said would report to manager, took our phone number and promised a call from manager who would attempt to keep our business . Of course the call never came, received nothing for our miserable stay in compensation - not even some extra points. OJ is a great guy - he could teach the manager a few things about customer service. Will be reporting this to Marriott Rewards as this property in no way resembles Residence Inn quality or service. Many better hotel options in area. Recommend Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Stay away from I-95 side - very noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brusherrPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Rooms are a little dated and worn. Front desk staff was friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was standard, good but nothing outstanding. Average for the Residence Inns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed there, again, the weekend of June 09-10. Was able to check in early and the room was nice and clean (#212). However, just as I was about to doze off and go to sleep I was awakened by barking and continuous running around by a dog(s) as well as a number of young children. After a 1/2 hour and the noise still continuing I phoned the front desk twice and submitted a complaint. Evidently nothing was accomplished by my telephone call because the noise went on for quite awhile and I eventually dozed off for the night.
Why would any hotel put pets above the ground floor is beyond me. A parent may be able to control their child from running and jumping around all night but an animal has a mind of it's own and doesnt know the difference between wrong and right.
Have stayed at this exact hotel before, and plan on staying here again but pets, especially dogs, should not be allowed on the upper floors.
Upon checkout I was asked to provide a telephone number I could be reached at. Still havent received a call. But the next morning I received an email stating that 5K points were deposited into my rewards account.

Room Tip: I'd recommend that a request for an upper level room due to no worries about pets or children ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed 10 days, and attended a graduation ceremony at the end of our stay, at the near by Univ of Delaware. Good location for day trips to Philly, DC, Baltimore. We did some - shop til you drop - day trips to the local mega mall for tax free goodies.

A very good, full breakfast is included in the price of the room. Waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, fruits, bagels, yogurt, several pots of coffee, tea, and lots of other treats. You can eat in the dining area or make a plate to go. We also had a full kitchen and made our own meals a couple of times during the stay.

Nice(small) pool, patio area - enough to distract us for a few hours on the hot humid afternoon.

Ampel parking - easy access to rooms. Very helpful staff -- and they even brought by a graduation "cupcake" for our graduating visitor. Pretty attentive group.

The suite is a spilt level - one bedroom on second level, open to the rest of the area and the other bedroom, with doors on the first level. Couch turned into a third full size bed when we had need of it. Living area was a little tight, when all five of us fell in at the end of the day -- but didn't spend a lot of time there.

Very very quiet neighborhood - great for runs, walks, etc.

Very easy access to the UDEL campus without being right on top of the college neighborhood. (aka noise)
Plenty of services in area, restaurants, groceries, etc. all within walking distance -- but you need to have a car for any other trips.

WIFI internet was good and easy to access.

Room Tip: Ask for large suite for family or group gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSAILORGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We checked in late at night and the man who checked us in was very pleasant! The rooms were dated and could use some new decor, but the registration building where breakfast is served looked new and was nicely landscaped. The breakfast was above average for a continental hotel breakfast. All staff members that we encountered were very nice and the rate was good!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Property: Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Address: 240 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing