We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to Newark to watch a college baseball game. Hotel was really nice. Good staff and clean rooms. Not what you usually expect for a Red Roof Inn. Very happy about hotel! A lot of restaurants and shopping nearby. We DID have to travel a bit to go see a movie, but it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSHICKORY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. Good to see you were able to go to a basketball game and movie while visiting. Newark has a lot to offer our guests and we're pleased that you chose our hotel to stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

We got a great rate for this hotel on booking.com and were very happy with our stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. It was equipped with coffee maker, microwave and mini-fridge. The king bed was very comfortable and the sheets were of high quality. The breakfast included frozen omelets which you could heat in the microwave, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, make-you-own waffles, and pastries. The coffee was very good and so was the orange juice. The location just off 95 was very handy. In addition, the hotel staff was extremely friendly. Wifi was free and powerful.
I was concerned that there might be pet noise and odors but we were put on the non-pet floor and there was no problem at all.
One warning...there is no elevator so it is not recommended for the disabled, but the friendly staff helped me carry my bag upstairs and all was well. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and not adjoining other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margo23185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Doesn't look great from the outside but the rooms were large and clean. Nice pool. Friendly staff. Hotel looks like it is being remodeled but is quiet and clean. Close to I-95. Restaurant next door and some others closer to the university

Room Tip: Very close to the University of Delaware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. Clean and comfortable is what we strive for with a friendly team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was one of few places in the area that was dog friendly. The price couldn't be beat.
The place and our room was clean. Our room was quite spacious and handicapped accessible as well as dog friendly. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were only staying overnight on the way down south and visiting our daughter. It definitely filled our needs and excellent value. We choose this Red Roof over the one that was closer to where our daughter lives due to the reviews. We were very pleased with this one. Accessibility off of I95 could not have been more convenient and where we needed to start the following day. Would come back again.

Room Tip: Read reviews thoroughly and determine what are your specific needs. We had a room near an exist con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 152faithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We take our guest comments seriously and always strive for positive experiences. Sounds like we accomplished this! See you next time you come visit your daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Continuing on my way to a professional seminar, we stopped at this location because it was a good stopping point between Washington DC and Philadelphia. It's wonderfully located and the staff was lovely, but it did lose points for accessibility (it's a touch hard to get to), the seemingly run down quality of the room (it seems a tiny bit worn but still comfy) and the selection of restaurants nearby. The hotel isn't the major problem... the accessibility and the poor restaurants nearby is the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased you had a positive experience overall. Our hotel is going through renovations, and we just finished painting the lobby's exterior..... NO MORE ORANGE ROOF! There will be extensive renovations coming and we hope when you return you'll enjoy it much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was in line to check in. I made a reservation with their reception desk earlier in the day and they told me that the only rooms left were smoking rooms. I wanted a non smoking. While in line, a gentleman in front of me declined a room after he inspected and the receptionist said they have a non smoking room they could have him look at. But the gentleman looking disappointed said he'll pass. So when it was my turn I asked the receptionist if I could have the non smoking room they just mentioned. The receptionist(male, indian looking) said that its not available. I said you just offered it to the guy in front of me. The he persist to tell me its not my reservation.

Not wanting to argue, I just took my room.
The room they gave me has a leaking faucet in the bathroom sink, not just minor dripping leak. Also all the room lights were white fluorescent cheap kinds. No cozy yellow incandescent lamps here.
Really disappointed.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It doesn't sound like we hit our mark and gave you a very good experience. This doesn't sound like our hotel at all and not sure what happened. Please contact me directly as we would like for you to come stay with us again, and I assure you that you will have a much different experience. ~Roxanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of a contingent for a recent lacrosse tournament. The boy's team also stayed here and I'm sure the reason it was chosen was for the low price ($65/night). While the price was right, the hotel was wrong....very wrong. The rooms, while a good size, where disgusting with an odor of mold. The sliding door was arduous to open and the place was just run down. The shower was great but the bathroom was small, hardly enough room to place a toiletry bag on the counter. The TV was great but when the room stinks you hardly want to stay there to watch anything. The breakfast was not worth mentioning....toast, cereal, coffee and a waffle. If you don't eat this you may as well skip it. The w-ifi was also very poor and certainly not good if you truly need the service. If you are traveling alone and just want a place to sleep for a few hours (it's just off 95 near UDel) go for it but to stay here for longer than 8 hours is nuts.

Room Tip: Park your car under a light. The clientele often appear a little sketchy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. I truly apologize if you didn't have a positive experience with our hotel. This is not how we want to be remembered. Please contact me directly as I would like for you to come stay with us again and have a much better experience. ~Roxanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#16 of 24 in Newark
143 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & Sr 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing