We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Red Roof Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Awesome Red Roof Review”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I travel to Delaware a couple times a month and tried several other hotels including other Red Roof Inn properties and this location is by far my favorite choice of stay. I enjoy everything about this location from the great room rates and deals to the outstanding costumer service at the front desk from both gentlemen that I have met. I also received a great complimentary breakfast, which was defiantly a plus to my morning. While staying there I noticed how spacious and clean the rooms appear to be. I would defiantly stay here again and strongly recommend this hotel to many others!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your stay with our hotel. We work very hard to ensure that each and every guest enjoy their experience. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    85
    33
    23
    27
See reviews for
112
66
40
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Between the location in Wilmington and this one, I chose Newark because it provided breakfast, so that was a definite plus. We had a fairly late check in, which went smoothly and the front desk person was friendly. However, when we got to the room, we discovered that the tv was not functioning properly. As we had to leave to go somewhere almost immediately, we didn't address this until we got back, a few hours later. At that point the night auditor had come on duty and although at times he seemed a little reluctant, he did do everything he could to help when we reported the problem.

I asked if we could move rooms and try another one and he was able to switch us. He was very patient while I went back and forth and tried the tv in the second room (which worked fine) and overall did what he could to help us with the problem.

Both rooms were clean and well kept. The one consistent complaint I usually have is that there aren't enough towels provided, but this is usually alleviated by asking for more.

I've been happy with Red Roof Inns overall recently and despite this issue, this one is no exception. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorcha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. I have taken note of your concerns and will share with my team. Please come back and stay with us again to give us the opportunity to show you our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn this week. The room was clean, neat and spacious. I also received excellent help from a gentleman at the front desk by the name of Pragnesh. He was very nice, friendly and courteous. Also the rest of the staff was very nice as well. I passed a gentleman in the hall and before i left i saw two maids who were also very friendly. Oh and the bed was very soft lol. I had an overall good experience and i will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn with my team for a tournament at the University of Delaware. The service was great, and they were very accommodating for special requests like extra towels and toiletries. Only thing was the eggs were a little funky at breakfast. But besides that, great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmartinez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the fact that you stayed with us for an event at UD. We will share your comments about the eggs with our breakfast team members and I assure you that won't be the case next time you stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stay there frequently and the staff is always friendly, especially Kesha, who always goes out of her way to make sure I have a flat screen tv. They are willing to work with whatever requests you have with no problem and always smile while doing it. Definitely worth the stay thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torchd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Kesha is an asset to us and we appreciate when someone takes the time to mention one of our team members and tells everyone what great service they provide. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I am now halfway through my stay here at the Red Roof Inn and I have been really happy with my stay here. The rooms are spacious and are kept very clean. I have been staying here 1.5 weeks and each evening I return to my room it feels like coming home. Mr. Pragnesh is always there with advice and a smile. All the staff are really friendly. I really enjoy my stay here and want to thank them all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanVR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. All of our team pride themselves on their customer service and Pragnesh is one of our finest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My sister and I stayed at this Red Roof Inn near the campus of the University of Delaware on a very rainy weekend in january 2014. I called earlier to ask about room availability, and the manager on the phone was so kind and helpful. We did decide to stay there, the room rate was very inexpensive, and although the place is a little dated, it was fine for our stay. The great thing also was that it was only about 4 minutes to the restaurants and shops on the main street in the campus town.
Pragnesh and Sara were very nice, professional, and I would definately recommend staying there, especially if you are on a budget, as we were.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and mentioned our outstanding team members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
253 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing