We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“Red Roof Review”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn this week. The room was clean, neat and spacious. I also received excellent help from a gentleman at the front desk by the name of Pragnesh. He was very nice, friendly and courteous. Also the rest of the staff was very nice as well. I passed a gentleman in the hall and before i left i saw two maids who were also very friendly. Oh and the bed was very soft lol. I had an overall good experience and i will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    86
    36
    24
    27
See reviews for
119
67
41
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn with my team for a tournament at the University of Delaware. The service was great, and they were very accommodating for special requests like extra towels and toiletries. Only thing was the eggs were a little funky at breakfast. But besides that, great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmartinez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the fact that you stayed with us for an event at UD. We will share your comments about the eggs with our breakfast team members and I assure you that won't be the case next time you stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stay there frequently and the staff is always friendly, especially Kesha, who always goes out of her way to make sure I have a flat screen tv. They are willing to work with whatever requests you have with no problem and always smile while doing it. Definitely worth the stay thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torchd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Kesha is an asset to us and we appreciate when someone takes the time to mention one of our team members and tells everyone what great service they provide. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I am now halfway through my stay here at the Red Roof Inn and I have been really happy with my stay here. The rooms are spacious and are kept very clean. I have been staying here 1.5 weeks and each evening I return to my room it feels like coming home. Mr. Pragnesh is always there with advice and a smile. All the staff are really friendly. I really enjoy my stay here and want to thank them all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanVR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. All of our team pride themselves on their customer service and Pragnesh is one of our finest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My sister and I stayed at this Red Roof Inn near the campus of the University of Delaware on a very rainy weekend in january 2014. I called earlier to ask about room availability, and the manager on the phone was so kind and helpful. We did decide to stay there, the room rate was very inexpensive, and although the place is a little dated, it was fine for our stay. The great thing also was that it was only about 4 minutes to the restaurants and shops on the main street in the campus town.
Pragnesh and Sara were very nice, professional, and I would definately recommend staying there, especially if you are on a budget, as we were.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and mentioned our outstanding team members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice for the price. Friendly staff(Regresh)especially. Very clean. Had flat screen, fridge,micro. Close to some restaurants in walking distance.University of Delaware right down the road. Very comfortable bed and pillows very roomy. Coffee all day in lobby. Sometimes danishes for breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank timeless48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Being a new Red Roof Inn, we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Our team sees guests as #1 and pride themselves when someone mentions their name. I'll make sure Pragnesh is acknowledged for doing such a wonderful job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best to me. But in room 247. They had a bed bug problem. We asked to move to another room and they moved us but this is where things took a turn. When we finally talked to the manager. The manager straight from the beginning called us liars. She told us that it couldn't have been bed bugs in our room. So I assured her that it was. Then she said if there was such a thing then we brought them in with us so she called the employee that checked the room after we moved out of it and he said he didnt see such a thing but the first employee she asked was saying yes that he seen something but she cut him off. So being feed up with being called liars we asked her to have the room and beds inspected again by a professional and when they confirm what we already know to apologize to us for treating us like lairs. We didnt ask for a free stay we asked if it was anything that she could do for the trouble and she refused.. well anyway the professionals came in and inspected the room and guess what they find.. bingo. They stripped the covers of the bed took the beds and box springs off the bed and everything. So I went up to the employee that said he didnt see anything and he confirmed that they found bed bugs... well anyway like I said from the beginning this hotel is not a bad hotel. But the manager does bad business. Shes not a person that excepts that shes wrong and she doesnt care anything about the customers satisfaction.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Generally problems arise much sooner than 3 weeks into a guest's stay. Inspection was inconclusive, but we treated the room out of precaution. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
4.2 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing