We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Christiana Hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, DE
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Close to Christiana Hospital”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband was a patient at Christiana Care Hospital so I was looking for a Marriott hotel close by. They offer a special rate ($125/night) for patient's family members, provided you get a voucher from the visitor's desk at the hospital. This Marriott Courtyard is less than 5 minutes away. Front desk staff are very kind and helpful. Being a woman travelling alone, I felt very safe here. Nearby is the Christiana Mall, many restaurants and easy access to I 95.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the highway as there is noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope everything went well for your husband at the hospital. We hope to see you back under better circumstances.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    103
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
67
27
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Walking into the room, I was hit with an unusual smell. Phoned down to front desk, and they said they only had handicap rooms left so decided to remain. Did not get back into room until later that night, around 10, and by 11 I had a tremendous pounding headache and felt awful. It was that chemical smell, which I finally figured out was coming from the carpet. The front desk gave me the key to another room and the same smell was there, but not quite as strong, so the maintenance guy put an ozone machine in the room for an hour. By this time it is after 1 a.m. --- they shooed me out of the lobby and back into the room. I ended up spending the night in the desk chair pushed right up to the window, which I could only open a few inches, so get some fresh air. Needless to say got next to no sleep. The maintenance guy told me that their cleaning people spray a "freshener" whenever they clean the room. Which means that there are months and months and months of Febreze type stink in the carpet. Imagine spraying that in your car every day for a month and then sitting in the car with the windows shut -- that was what this room was like. I have to wonder what they are trying to hide with all that "freshener". I don't have allergies, so wasn't that. Coupled with fact that hotel right off highway and rooms noisy, I'd say stay anywhere else but here!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room that has not been sprayed with chemicals lately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ConsultantfromPA,
I'm truly sorry you had such a poor experience at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing clean rooms for our guests and it is distressing to hear that you weren't happy with your room. We do spray an "air freshener" in the rooms, however, we don't put any chemicals in the carpets beyond regular carpet cleaning. If this smell was the cause of the displeasing odor, again, I'm very sorry. I would be happy to speak with you about the incident and it woud be helpful to find out the room in which you were placed.
Please call me at your earliest convenience at 302-456-3800.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

From check in to check out the staff were pleasant and accommodating. I wish I could remember the name of the agent who checked us in as she deserves kudos. Although the room was small it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kndrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have not received such poor customer service in a very long time. I have patronized this hotel for over 5 years and it’s been great until recently. I’m not sure how to even write this review because there are so many bizarre things that happened and there’s not enough space to describe it all. I will just recap the inadequate service. During check in I experienced lack of knowledge, the inability to make decisions, blatant lies, being talked to like a 3 year old, and that was in less than five minutes. The hotel team has a total lack of communication. It took three of them to check me in and honestly all they did was argue and lie to me. I had two reservations which they said they combined but that was not the truth. My room card stopped working, housekeeping woke me up, and I had to take several trips to the front desk...one inconvenience after the other. The front desk manager is an absolute nightmare and takes ownership for nothing. She is condescending, fake and has no idea how to deal with loyal customers. In addition to poor service they run programs for Elite members and never issue the points that you win. The hotel is clean, in a safe area and very convenient but it now comes with a price. If you’re good with being disrespected by management, lied to and made to feel your loyalty means nothing then this is the hotel for you. It’s such a shame that a few new employees have brought the place down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shewbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Snowdogz,
Thank you for your review and the kind comments regarding cleanliness and convenience. On the other hand, I am very sorry you experienced the lack of service and communication you expect from Marriott. I don't know the exact circumstances of your stay so it is difficult for me to comment on your situation, but I can see that you are very upset. By reading your review, we definitely did a poor job in communicating bewtween our team and with you. I'm disappointed that our staff wasn't able to sort out the confusion and meet your needs at check-in and throughout your stay. I don't believe this is typical from our staff, and I would be grateful for any follow-up to this situation you would like to provide. Please call me at your convenience at 302-456-3800 ext 601.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a means to break up a long drive to a beach vacation in South Carolina. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

The good:
-- the room was very clean and clearly had been recently updated
-- the hotel itself was basically right off the highway so it was very convenient
-- the staff was very friendly
-- close to fast food

The not so good:
-- this is not-picking but we had to wait 15 minutes or so before we could get our room for the staff to work out some sort of glitch in their computer system that kept telling them there were no more rooms left with two queen beds (even though they knew they were). They worked out the problem and were very polite and professional.
-- wouldn't call the area it is in "charming". It is tucked amid a bunch of strip mall-like structures. Very convenient though.

If you are looking for a convenient, clean and comfortable stopover in the Newark,DE area, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. I'm very sorry about the delay at check-in. I hope the rest of your stay made up for it. I would agree, our area isn't very charming. On the bright side, its very safe and a great area to do some shopping in tax free Delaware. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting someone at the nearby hospital. The hotel is just minutes away from the hospital, is very clean, and our room was very nice. We were able to check in at the last minute on a Saturday night and they were very accommodating even though we could see that they were pretty full.

Marriott is a bit more expensive than some of the other chain hotels in the area, but it was clean and very comfortable, and worth the little bit extra to stay in a nice place. Having a Dunkin Donuts right next door is a plus. We didn't use any of the extra amenities, but we were happy with our stay, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler6376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We have been very busy so far this summer on our weekends. If you come again, inquire at the hospital help desk about our special rate with Christiana Hospital, it may save a few $$$.

Best Regards,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my favorite hotel when I travel to Newark for work. It's been renovated and the rooms are modern, comfortable, and very, very clean. Bathrooms are large, water pressure is great in the shower. Best of all is the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Best night's sleep ever! I used to stay at the Newark Hilton, but it's getting a little tired and showing its age. The Marriott Courtyard is so much better than the Hilton. It's fresh, modern, spotless, and very comfortable for business or pleasure. They also have a great breakfast service, with lots of delicious choices. the Egg Scramble is my favorite. Staff is always great and very friendly. See you all next time I am in Newark!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of our recent renovation and the addition of the Bistro restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Jason Abbey
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall

Property: Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Address: 48 Geoffrey Dr, Newark, DE 19713-3603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard Wilmington Newark Hotel near Christiana Mall provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. Our Newark, Delaware hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new Newark, Delaware hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Located just off I-95, our Newark hotel near Delaware Park is just minutes to shopping, dining and entertainment attractions at the Christiana Mall, revitalized Main Street in downtown Newark and plenty of family activities near Wilmington. Each of our spacious hotel rooms feature Marriott bedding, large workspaces and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Your stay at the Courtyard Wilmington Newark, Delaware Hotel is sure to be more comfortable and productive than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing