We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Millsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a good budget hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was in town for a reunion, needed it only to sleep. met my expectations. Breakfast was Average, waffles and cereal. the room was clean, had clean linen. It's nothing fancy, a nice budget hotel. I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshNaik, General Manager at Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Makesha,
I sincerely thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. I am really glad to see your review on TripAdvisor. I feel very happy to see your satisfaction. Your review inspires me to serve the guest better and it will help me for getting more business. Once again I thank you and I am looking forward to serve you again.
Bye and take care.
Rakesh Naik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    7
    9
    18
See reviews for
10
11
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this property for one night when I went to the area on business. A travel coupon made the total cost $54 for the single night, which was quite a bit lower than other motels in the area. The motel was easy to find, but be prepared to try finding a place to make a u-turn to get to it if you are coming off the interstate. The lobby was very clean and bright and the gentleman who checked me was friendly and efficient. I was given room #105, which must be a handicapped room, based upon the size and layout of the bathroom. One of the first things I noticed was how dark the room was. There was a lamp on the TV stand and one on a nightstand...that was it for the room. The lack of light just added to the dingy appearance of the room...dark / old bedspread and carpet. The room and linen were clean, but everything was showing its age. The bathroom was clean and bright and looked like it didn't belong attached to the dingy bedroom. The motel provided a strong, security enabled wifi signal and there was a fair selection of cable channels. The TV's remote control was very sluggish and made changing channels a bit of a chore. Despite the number of guests staying in adjacent rooms and the highway that was very close to the room, I experienced a quiet night and slept quite comfortably in the bed. There is a sports bar sharing the same lot and a very good Chinese restaurant down the street next to the Shell station. The property does not provide any large vehicle or RV parking and I probably would have stayed across the road at the Howard Johnson's had I been pulling my trailer and needed the extra parking space. Breakfast is served in room 115 starting at 6 a.m., but I left just before that time and the room's curtains were drawn, so I didn't even get a look at what they were providing. Overall, it was a comfortable stay at a reasonable price and pretty much what I expected from an ABVI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I needed a place to stay in Newark close to the Turnpike. I didn't expect much because the price was low but I did expect more than I got. I have stayed at the hotel across the street a year ago and it was definitely a cut above--I only picked this one because it was about the same price and I knew I wouldn't have to make a left turn in and out. The staff person at the desk was friendly but I had to go back to the desk several times to find out how to turn on the lights in the room and where the ice machine was. I would not have felt safe going to get ice if it had been dark out--it was accessible by an outside, unlit stairway and was a separate small room off the second floor corridor. The room smelled musty; I think the sheets and bathroom were clean but I saw at least a half dozen spiders and was surprised the next morning to discover the room coffee maker's pot hadn't been cleaned out since the last time it was used. It was one of the skimpiest continental breakfasts I've had at a hotel (though the orange juice was good). The pool was not only closed but it looked like it hadn't been opened in years. I will not go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Booked this the last minute on Hotwire because I wanted to be near my sons college for graduation...Last minute and got this. Don't stay here if you are grossed out by dirty, dingy and creepy surroundings. I really hate doing a review like this but there were so many unpleasent events...The sink didn't drain, the toilet kept running ....we finally turned off the valve to the water.The tops of the counters and end tables were filthy. I brought wipes so we cleaned everthing. The sheets looked clean and so we stayed the night. I would never recommend this place. Even the "free breakfast" was pathetic. There was a woment standing there like an armed gaurd watching our every move. The choices were terrible. I didn't eat.....I don't know who said it's nice now but it's not nice....I wouldn't put myself out and write this if I didn't feel so bad about our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here many years ago and it was run down NOW it is Great!
I will be here long term as I was before but at that time I stayed 1st at Howard J and was KICK OUT as they wanted to collect $125.00 a night for a College Event!!!
That is when I moved to Best Value (then it was Quality Inn). Please try to view this as : Americas Best Value Inn, Located In Newark, DE.
They said they would NOT KICK ME out for an EVENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

REASON FOR MY STAY: Shopping trip
CHECK IN: we checked in very late, 2am, after driving 7 hours. the check in went smoothly, and the gentlemen at the from gave us 3pm checkout since we arrived so late. This was very nice. However when we did pull up to the hotel there were 2 police cars in front of the hotel.
ROOM: The hotel is older, and the room did smell a bit musty. Windows are big, however make the room feel like a warehouse as they were very dirty. Although the room was non smoking the room smelled like smoke. The free breakfast was uncooked eggs, fruit and toast. My boyfriend and I grabbed coffee and when to pack to leave.
CHECKOUT: we checked out before 10 am.
Other Comments: don’t expect anything good to surprise you. it is what it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_bum6d9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I travel about once a month to participate in some events I enjoy. Being a middle-class American I look for the best rates in relation to the distance from my event location (so I have seen my share of cheap lodging). This trip I had booked at another hotel as it was less expensive but it was further away and when my friend's plans changed and I had to travel alone I figured I would just stay closer and pay slightly more.

Traveling from several hours away I just checked in, unloaded my belongings and called it a night, too tired to care too much about what I was in for. Before entering the room though I noticed that the grounds were in need of some care as there was a LOT of litter scattered about and I was a bit perturbed that they had decided to give me (a single female traveling alone) a room next to a block of rowdy, loud, drinking men (needless to say I wasn't too comfortable with the set up but again, was too tired to really think about it).

Well, when I did take the time to look about the room BOY was I surprised! The bedding and towels were clean (that was apparent) and the bathroom amenties. That was about it. The carpet was grossly stained (I wouldn't even walk around with shoes on). The fridge had spilled juice or wine in it. The TV didn't work (thank God for laptops and at least they had wifi). The window and mirrors were disgustingly dirty. The blanket on the bed had cigarette burns in it. And when you had the fan on in the bathroom it would fill up with the smell of cigarettes (I was in a non smoking room and am rather sensitive to the smell).

Working in the hospitality industry myself, I know one should voice their concerns but by the time I discovered what I was staying in it as just awkwardly late, plus only staying 2 nights I didn't want to have to repack to move to another room (figured it wouldn't kill me to tough it out). But also working in hospitality I know that the conditions of the room were unacceptable. I started off as a maid; I would have been fired in a heart beat if I left the room looking that way. I was half tempted to go buy supplies and clean it myself.

Needless to say, out of all of the times that I have traveled (mostly alone) I was the most uncomfortable here. The only positives about it were that the front desk staff was pleasant enough and the location was convenient. But I learned my lesson, you definitely get what you pay for and next time I will be looking elsewhere. And I suggest others do as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank semitraveler546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minu P, Manager at Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share a review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay. All claims against this property are taken seriously and will be further investigated. We have trained our housekeepers and hopefully this issue will not occur again. I hope you will give us another opportunity to stay again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inn's located across the Country.

Regards,
Minu-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Newark, DE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
5.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington

Property: Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington
Address: 1120 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Newark/Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rodeway Inn Newark/Wilmington, conveniently located off of I-95 Exits 1 and 1B. Our hotel is close to the University of Delaware, Delaware Park Racetrack and Slots, Christiana Mall, and historic New Castle. Additional nearby points of interest include the Delaware Industrial Park, annual Fair Hill Races Steeplechase Horse Racing Event, Hagley Museum and Library, and Brandywine Zoo. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Rodeway Inn Newark/Wilmington has it all. Our hotel offers clean comfortable guest rooms, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff. Start your day right with a free USA Today newspaper, a free cup of coffee, and our free deluxe continental breakfast. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Take advantage of our business center and meeting facility. Work out in our fitness facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, table with chairs, desk with lamp, and free local calls. Children age 12 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a nightly charge. At Rodeway Inn Newark/Wilmington, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn-Newark/Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Newark/Wilmington Hotel Newark
Quality Inn Newark
Newark Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing