We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Newark/Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay was pleasant - room was clean with clean linen and bed. And so was the bathroom. The breakfast is pretty good too, esp. at the price that they offer. The best thing about this hotel I found was the staff - extremely nice and accommodating. I would stay here again.

One issue though - this hotel has no elevators - it's 2 storeyed and you HAVE to use the staircase.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, Manager at Ramada Newark/Wilmington, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for warm words. I'll be sure to pass them along to our staff, as they take great pride in the hospitality they provide. We are looking at options to add an elevator to address your concern. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    164
    140
    80
    68
See reviews for
258
94
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI BEACH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first time in Delaware and staying in a Ramada.
The room was adequate. We requested a king for two nights but were forced to settle for queens. I like the size of the room but the smell was musty and lingered of yesrs of smoke. The least they could do is steam clean the carpets and refreshen the wall paper. You can't just put a no smoking sign on the door and call it that!
So to contribute to this funky smelly room further was the no window open policy. I guess that really shows us. The room smell was insufferable.
We managed to tolerate it, I got up as early as possible, went downstairs to try the continental freeby breaky. It had a great selection but very bland.
We tried out the restaurant later that night, ordered Shrimp scampi. Shrimp was grilled but oddly served on the side. The pasta was served alone with a tomato sauce.???? It was bad. Runny watered down tomato spaghetti. . No onions or garlic. Canned sauce. It should have been served with garlic cream sauce and fettuccini noodles. Not recommended.
Later that night we were awoken at 3 am by a large thump against our wall accompanying loud noises and furniture thumps. We had to wake up at 7 am. We called the front desk immediately, but the issue was not resolved until more calls and about an hour later. The offending noisy people in the actually moved rooms.
Ridiculous. Now I do not want to negatively judge any of the staff. They were very nice and tried to accommodate as best as allowed. This place needs management overhaul and a very thorough cleaning.
Wifi did not work... Ever!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank SEAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, Manager at Ramada Newark/Wilmington, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us on several fronts. We recently incurred some water damage, which contributed to our inability to provide you with a king-size bed. Our Executive Housekeeper is addressing odors in all rooms. Our non-smoking rooms have been non-smoking since the last renovation, but unfortunately, we do have guests break the policy from time-to-time. That is our issue to deal with, and I'm sorry it affected your stay with us. Our restaurant generally receives praise, but I spoke with our Head Chef and he will review the kitchen for inconsistencies. Lastly, I have talked to our front desk staff about handling noisy guests at night, and I happy to hear that they did have the guests moved within an hour, but I am sorry that it disrupted your good night's sleep - which is of utmost importance to you. If you do pass through the area, please stop by - I'm sure your next stay will be much better as we take comments to heart and make quick changes to address issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#19 of 24 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Newark/Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Newark/Wilmington

Property: Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Address: 260 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702-5490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Newark/Wilmington 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-appointed hotel in Newark, DE, minutes from Wilmington, DE, with an attached Italian Restaurant for fine dining, a lively bar and lounge to unwind, a beautiful garden courtyard with an outdoor pool, banquet facilities for your next event, and the best high-speed wireless in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Newark/Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Newark / Wilmington Hotel Newark
Newark Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing