We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious, great service, wonderful menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Grown Cafe

Home Grown Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Home Grown Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 354 Restaurants in Newark
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hains Street
Transit: Dart bus system stops one block down on Main Street.
Description: "Newark's most coolly sleek, vibrantly accented & adventuresome fine-dining destination." - The News Journal Home Grown Cafe is the destination for internationally inspired cuisine with a local flair. Enjoy award winning gourmet salads, home made soups, fresh seafood & steaks & a variety of vegetarian & vegan options. Unique martinis, eclectic beers a great wine list & mouth-watering desserts deserve a special trip. Best of Delaware 2005 - Best Martinis upstate. Enjoy live music on Wednesday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Wilmington,DE
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, great service, wonderful menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a need to take a family member who is vegetarian out for dinner. This restaurant offers a huge selection of suitable items, as well as a diverse menu for non-vegetarians. Restaurant was comfortable, our server was helpful and knowledgeable. All our dinners were excellent (I wouldn't say superb, but really good). Will visit here gladly again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnyNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    25
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“AMAZING VEGETARIAN AND VEGAN CHOICES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I love the fact that many of the menu options can be made vegan and vegetarian and they taste great! This is a place that my whole family can go because there is something for everyone from meat to vegan apps, entrees and desserts! Even the kids love it here! It is always their first choice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
215 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Spot for Vegetarians!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

While traveling down 95 towards North Carolina, we decided to stop in Delaware for the night. We had never been there, so when we saw a vegetarian place, we were ecstatic. The service here is awesome and the food is phenomenal. Both of us being varying levels of vegetarians, we easily found great options here. The restaurant itself has an eccentric vibe, and the atmosphere is very welcoming. Definitely stop here if you are traveling down 95, it's a MUST!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favorite Main Street Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I eat here often because the food is diversified, delicious, and organic. They serve tasty vegetarian and gluten free options, too.
I love their Thai Salad, their meatloaf dinner, and the Raw Ahi Tuna.

Yesterday I took a friend who cannot have Gluten; She was leary since she gets very ill upon ingesting ANY gluten.
Four hours later she called with delight to tell me that not only had she not gotten ill, but they she now had a place that she could trust to eat out with her family.

Some evenings Homegrown has a live band. Such fun!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkglow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gluten Free-NOT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Traveling on 95 and needing gluten free food due to celiac disease and milk allergies. Stopped here based on advertising of gluten free menu. Beware that GF items fried in oil with battered items, GF bread cut on same board as wheat bread and no GF pasta available. Had to leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeGrownCafe, Owner at Home Grown Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello, I am sorry we were not able to accommodate you. I apologize that we did run out of our locally made Gluten Free Bread, which does limit options. Deliveries were off with the 4th of July schedule this week. We do pride ourselves in being able to accommodate Gluten Free Lifestyles, but unfortunately, as we did fully disclose to you, we are not able to prepare or guarantee that food is completely celiac free, as our kitchen produces a lot of different types of food, and food is prepared in the same areas as gluten items. The items we say are gluten free will not contain gluten in the ingredients. We do our best to avoid any cross contamination, We did offer to sanitize our current cutting boards and knives to be free of gluten, as well as use fresh saute pans as we do anyway. Best luck in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Grown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Home Grown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing