We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Food; Warm and friendly service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #15 of 353 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Israeli, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great Food; Warm and friendly service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our family absolutely loves this place. we've tried almost every dish and have yet to be disappointed! The owners and wait staff are personable yet professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Middle East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited Newark, DE, a wonderful university town. Very nice downtown area. We stopped at Ali Baba based on a friend's recommendation. It was everything she promised and more. The food was great and as authentic as I coulod tell with my limited experience. The hummus with meat topping was well received by the group as were most of the other dishes. We had a group of eight, everyone ordered something different and there was just silence as everyone dug in. The service was exceptional as well. A very good experience. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Amazing find....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Randomly found this place and couldn't believe how amazing it was. Eggplant salad to die for. Tabbouleh salad was some of the best I've ever had (fresh, light and flavorful). Wonderful beer. But the kicker was, we watched a waiter slightly spill a small amount of beer; he could have hidden the lost amount which was rather minor. Instead, he put the bottle to the side and got a fresh one. That's how much they care about quality. We are coming back!!

Just watch out for the parking as the cops like to ticket nearby.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun, Fabulous & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just enjoyed a great Sunday evening at Ali Baba's! We brought some first time, out of town friends who were not disappointed. They have expanded their seating (and menu) since we were there before. We enjoyed our meal indoors with the relaxing music & ambiance.

Food superb as always! Our Appetizer of Stuffed Grape leaves was generous - they added 2 more so the four of us could each have 2! Never disappointed with the Charbroiled Kabobs and they even give you one of each, if you prefer - one chicken and one beef (Kafta). Hard to decide which one tastes better! I heard the baked salmon (Samke Harra) was delicious as well as the whole baked chicken (Dajaj Mashwy). Great hummus & fresh pita bread. Those who love Tabouli had generous servings. We took home leftovers and some Baklava for dessert. Very reasonable prices. Excellent, personable service as well. We even had a glimpse of a female belly dancer preparing to perform as we were leaving.

We have been going here for the past 10 years, whenever we get to Newark, and have never been disappointed. Keep up the great work! We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY- L.I.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable exotic restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ali Baba looks different with its North African décor and seating and tastes different. Quite authentic and flavorful. Large sized portions too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing