We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staybridge Suites Newark Delaware. Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Breezy Point, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staybridge Suites Newark Delaware. Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had a confirmed reservation on memorial day weekend for a 2 bedroom suite. Upon arrival the front desk person informed me that they had given my room away because another guest wanted to stay an extra night. I was with my family for my son"s graduation from college and we were forced from a suite which we had reserved almost a year in advance to two separate rooms which were far apart. I have contacted the customer service line but they have ignored my complaint and not called me back. There are plenty of other hotels in the Newark area. I recommend that you stay at one of them when visiting family at the University of Delaware.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metsfan182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected, At the Staybridge Suites we strive to ensure the comfort of both our in house guests and our new arrivals. During a city wide sell out this can sometimes prove difficult to manage. Thank you for your candid comments. It is our goal to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations to all of our guests. We do value each and every guest that stays at our Staybridge Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
22
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Do not book this hotel on Priceline.com I booked two rooms and called the hotel numerous times and informed them that i would arrive at a 12am. I called the hotel at 11pm to confirm the reservation and was told that the hotel was over booked and my reservation was moved to the Qulity inn a 2 star hotel I had paid more for than the list price for the Quality inn. the hotel desk was rude and not accommodating. what hotel moves a reservation for a prepaid room ?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linlan60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not able to stay at the Staybridge Suites. We would like to speak with you personally to address your concerns. Again we are sorry that we were unable to accommodate your family. General Manager Karen Whitsett 302 366 8097
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, OH
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First time I stayed with this chain and was generally satisfied. The room was neat & very clean with a comfortable bed and good water pressure/temperature. Very roomy with the kitchenette for longer stays which is reflected in the price. I only needed an overnighter and this was very close to my meeting place. It can be somewhat of a hassel to get to other exists due to construction on I-95 at the moment.

I was on the top floor and my only complaint was that my room AC could not keep up with the heat load. The hotel had already set the room for 72 and the AC was on when I checked in but it was 81 in the hallway which only made it harder to bring the room down a few degrees. I said something at the front desk the next morning and they confirmed that this was a management decision to leave the off AC in the hallway. This can make for an uncomfortable stay if checking in late. That kind of decision is short sighted and I would expect more consideration from a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank-you for the comments regarding your stay! We are please to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. The road construction is scheduled to be completed by Dec. 2013. Your next visit to the area should be easier! During the spring, the temperature varies quite a bit and we are constantly adjusting the temperature, in our public areas, to meet the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week while on a trip to the area for birding. The facility has everything we needed including a complete breakfast included in the room rate, free laundry, and dinner three nights each week. The employees and staff were friendly and helpful, room very clean and quiet. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify a king room ahead of time...we thought we reserved a king and got two doubles or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosema_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay with us, while viewing the lovely types of birds in our area. We strive to ensure our guest satisfaction, it is also a pleasure to know we are coming close to the mark. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the area and We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again should you return the area. Thanks for choosing the Staybridge Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

stayed for 2nights with the family while in town on business. 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. room plenty big, clean and noise not an issue. breakfast had a good selection was tasty. staff very nice, hotel felt extremely safe. only issue kind of hard to locate once off of I95 as it is tucked on a side road behind a Ramada Inn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gborotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay with us. We take much pride in our property and our guest satisfaction. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the area and We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again should you return the area. We are sorry about the difficulty in locating the hotel, we will work on updating the signage to assist with easier locating. Again thank-you for choosing the Staybridge Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay of 4nights in a 2 bdrm suite that was perfect for my husband, myself, daughter, her husband and 2 kids. The cleaning schedule was clearly written in the room, and if we needed anything different, all we had to do was ask. The staff is the friendliest at any hotel so far. We will be visiting Delaware frequently and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coehny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay with us. We take much pride in our property and our guest satisfaction. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the area and We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again should you return the area. Thanks for choosing the Staybridge Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here a year ago and was very impressed with our overall stay. Sadly, that's not the case this time. Husband and I are having to share a double (saggy) mattress and pillows (pulverized) (hotel currently doesn't appear to be at full capacity and we used ie Priceline). Unfortunately the breakfast no longer offeres the potatoes and rice and the dinner buffet has suffered from budget cuts. Although staff is warm and friendly, room doesn't get tidied up until 4:00 pm. Being that we are near a stairwell - the door is constantly slammed shut from people using it. Not a problem if the bed was comfortable and a nap was not needed - oh, and wondering how late housekeeping would be coming to get the trash etc. This is going to be a long 3 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrynmharrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank-you for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the mattress in your suite as the hotel is still relatively new. We will look into the issue and replace if needed. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the rice and potatoes, they were a personal addition to the breakfast buffet, however the brand has changed the standard, for both breakfast and dinner, so that all Staybridge Suites are serving a healthy consistent menu. We will share your comments with IHG! Our housekeeping staff is flexible with the times in which the suites are cleaned, you can always schedule a cleaning service between the hours of 8:30am to 4:30pm. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We consider all comments a learning tool, so if there is ever a chance to return, please let us know you are coming so we may show you how your comments have been put into place. Again thank-you for staying at the Staybridge Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
1.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
0.0 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark

Property: Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Address: 270 Chapman Rd, Route 273, Newark, DE 19702-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#8 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel, in Wilmington Newark DE, we strive to make every guest feel welcome & comfortable! Located directly off of I-95 & State Highway 273, our Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE is conveniently accessible. With Free High Speed Internet Access & 24-hour business center, Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Laundry Services, Evening Receptions, & Exercise Room set the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE apart from other area hotel options. Select the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE for accommodations when visiting Astra Zeneca, Du Pont, Christiana Hospital, or several other area corporations. For shoppers, we are less than 3 miles from Christiana Mall, and for those craving excitement, we are just 5 miles from Delaware Park Racetrack & Slots. Choose Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark DE Hotel for your needs when attending events at the University of Delaware, Wilmington College, or Delaware State University. Whether you need lodging for a mid-week business trip, weekend fun, or relocation, remember the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing