We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes, and not in a better way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here a year ago and was very impressed with our overall stay. Sadly, that's not the case this time. Husband and I are having to share a double (saggy) mattress and pillows (pulverized) (hotel currently doesn't appear to be at full capacity and we used ie Priceline). Unfortunately the breakfast no longer offeres the potatoes and rice and the dinner buffet has suffered from budget cuts. Although staff is warm and friendly, room doesn't get tidied up until 4:00 pm. Being that we are near a stairwell - the door is constantly slammed shut from people using it. Not a problem if the bed was comfortable and a nap was not needed - oh, and wondering how late housekeeping would be coming to get the trash etc. This is going to be a long 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrynmharrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank-you for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the mattress in your suite as the hotel is still relatively new. We will look into the issue and replace if needed. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the rice and potatoes, they were a personal addition to the breakfast buffet, however the brand has changed the standard, for both breakfast and dinner, so that all Staybridge Suites are serving a healthy consistent menu. We will share your comments with IHG! Our housekeeping staff is flexible with the times in which the suites are cleaned, you can always schedule a cleaning service between the hours of 8:30am to 4:30pm. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We consider all comments a learning tool, so if there is ever a chance to return, please let us know you are coming so we may show you how your comments have been put into place. Again thank-you for staying at the Staybridge Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 176 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed there for one night and liked it a lot! Nice, big rooms, very clean with ample natural light. Lobby and hallways were clean and new. Staff was very polite. Parking was free, wifi also free with decent speed. Breakfast was ok with decent coffee and freshly made waffles. Very conveniently located next to the highway with no extra noise. Rates were very competitive and cheaper than average. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay with us. We take much pride in our property and our guest satisfaction. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the area and hope that you will stay with us again if there is ever a chance to return. Thanks for choosing the Staybridge Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It s always a pleasure to stay in one of the finest and hospitable hotel in the northeastern region.So comfortable and well kept.I look forward to another stay very very soon.A 10 plus some more to a fabulous Staybridge in Newark Delaware

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nupkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at the Staybridge Suites, we strive to provide 100% customer satisfaction. We are looking forward to your return stay. We Thank-You for taking the time from your busy schedule to comment on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for an entire month. The stay knew my name. They were always warm and ready to help. I especially enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners. I had never been to the area and the staff was always there to offer help

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Staybridge Suites Newark, DE, we strive to provide 100% customer satisfaction. Hopefully you will stay with us again. We Thank-You for taking the time from your busy schedule to comment on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Staybridge Suites in Newark, DE for approximately two weeks. We were displaced from our house due to a car crashing into it. The room at Staybridge was welcoming, comforting and clean. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel like we were in a home away from home. It was wonderful to wake up to a hot breakfast everyday, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2341karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at the Staybridge Suites, we strive to provide 100% customer satisfaction. Hopefully you will stay with us again. We Thank-You for taking the time from your busy schedule to comment on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

After having troubles at the neighboring hotels, I called Staybridge at 1:30am asking if they could accommodate us such late notice. They were so welcoming and put us up in a wonderful room for a discounted price. We had a great stay and then even extended the stay because we loved it there. Thank you Staybridge for a wonderful Christmas gift!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenbabe4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are please that you enjoyed your stay over the holidays. At Staybridge Suites we strive to provide 100% customer satisfaction. Again we Thank-You for taking the time from your busy schedule to comment on your stay, and we hope that if you are in the area again that you will chose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good stay for a business trip, I was there for 2 nights this month while in Newark, DE on business. Arrived late and desk clerk was great, he was new and admitted he wasn't sure he was remembering everything (he only forgot my priority club snack), the next day the desk cleck provided it to me. The room was clean, although they forgot to tidy up the next day. Thank goodness I'm not a messy person even though I did leave the dirty towels on the floor, only to return to find them still there and the bed not made. When I brought it to the attention of Michael at the front desk he apologized and provided courtsey Holiday Inn points. My room was a king suite with an area to sit and watch TV and small kitchenette with stove, microwave and refrig. The breakfast was fantastic, many choices, fresh cooked eggs, fruit and cereal. Hotel is convenient to many restaurants in driving distance. If I am in the area again, I will definitely stay there again, love the comforts of home away from home. All staff I came in contact me was very friendly and the front desk staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMayvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Ms.Mayvee,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in regards to you stay with us. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip and hope that you will stay with us again when in the area. We will use your comments to help develop new policies to assure that we are not missing any part of your comfort. Again we thank-you for your comments, to help make a better hotel for your needs away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark

Address: 270 Chapman Rd, Route 273, Newark, DE 19702-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#8 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $128 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel, in Wilmington Newark DE, we strive to make every guest feel welcome & comfortable! Located directly off of I-95 & State Highway 273, our Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE is conveniently accessible. With Free High Speed Internet Access & 24-hour business center, Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Laundry Services, Evening Receptions, & Exercise Room set the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE apart from other area hotel options. Select the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE for accommodations when visiting Astra Zeneca, Du Pont, Christiana Hospital, or several other area corporations. For shoppers, we are less than 3 miles from Christiana Mall, and for those craving excitement, we are just 5 miles from Delaware Park Racetrack & Slots. Choose Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark DE Hotel for your needs when attending events at the University of Delaware, Wilmington College, or Delaware State University. Whether you need lodging for a mid-week business trip, weekend fun, or relocation, remember the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing