We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINE ON TAP! need I say more?”
Review of Taverna

Taverna
Ranked #5 of 358 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newark, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WINE ON TAP! need I say more?”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food was amazing, service was awesome, and they have WINE ON TAP!!! The menu has a variety of choices and the waitstaff and kitchen was very accommodating regarding changes that needed to be made for certain dietary restrictions. The atmosphere is rustic. We went for a special occasion and were seated towards the back of the restaurant which was very nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    74
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East, Maryland, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful all around!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to this establishment for lunch today. The service was excellent - Tim was our waiter and he certainly knew the menu inside and out. Highly recommend any coal burnt food. The flatbread (eggplant) was incredible! The chicken ravioli was amazing! We both enjoyed our meals and would order/recommend them again. Specials everyday, too. The environment was pleasing with clean bathrooms. They even provide parking validation. We would definitely come back again and bring the family and friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank journeysend3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome pasta, no sides”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Be sure to try their homemade pastas! We had the special--ricotta & mascarpone-filled ravioli with chicken, fresh corn, grape tomatoes and basil in wine sauce last night and are still raving about it today. Fabulous food! Another diner had the potato gnocchi--light and tasty in a tomato sauce. The rigatoni with meatballs could feed you for several days, and the mushroom pizza with goat cheese was also tasty. They do bring you bread and dipping sauce but all other sides are a la carte. Service was excellent and our waiter seemed very knowledgeable. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beacon2875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not enough vegetables included”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I think this place charges too much for what you get. The food served at our table of six was pretty unhealthy. On the menu it seemed like it would be okay, but the sauces and gravies were overloaded over the food. The included sides were bread and starchy sides. Most Italian restaurants at leas include a side salad with a meal-not this place, it costs extra.
The food was pricey, for what you got.
The atmosphere: seating close enough to reach into another table's food if you wanted to do that. The room was also noisy.
I will not got back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkglow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best meal out in a long time....”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just happened to go here on a whim tonight. Amazing. The decor is fantastic and very comfy. The food however was outstanding! Everything about the evening was great. Our waiter described the menu well and the service was excellent. I had the Steak Fritte which was the best ever. I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigrompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing