We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Amenities Make All the Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travel for a living and having to stay at a hotel for several nights a week for a month or more in a place far from home can be extremely wearying. Many hotels help try to defray the exhaustion with free breakfasts in the mornings, manager's drinks in the evenings, and exercise room and/or pool. The Homewood Suites brand takes this a step further by offering hot, homemade-style meals at suppertime (included in the cost of the room) and the one in Newark (DE) makes the experience that much more enjoyable by having nothing but the friendliest, most hospitable staff I've encountered in years. They are ready and willing to help assist with the most tedious of chores. Need photocopies for a presentation? Not a problem. Wine cork for the bottle you were planning on working through that evening? Let me get one for you. And they always knew my name, engaged with me only to the extent I wanted (not that obsequious, semi-false "happiness" one finds too often in other hotels), and truly made me feel like I was at a friend's home as opposed to part of a corporate quota. I couldn't be more pleased to recommend them.

Room Tip: First floor rooms typically have higher ceilings and the elevators are a tad slow. The staff will h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Applebius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 507 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great rooms and great people and I really enjoyed staying here. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area again. This was a really great hotel and the people were extremely nice and friendly. When you are traveling on business this hotel feels like a second home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff. Clean and comfortable Loved having our own kitchen and own ice maker ... kids loved the pool and wow the breakfast was amazing changed it up every day. Also have dinner during week! Thank You you guys were amazing would recommend this to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The bed was very comfortable. We slept like babies. Overall our room was clean and nice. The bathroom was spacious. The price was higher than I thought it should be, but the location was right where we needed to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overall nice place, clean rooms staff was helpful. A little pricey but cheaper then the Embassy suites next door. Served the purpose for my stay, would recommend it. The pool was nice and the breakfast was ok, the same you would get at any hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is what you would expect for a Homewood. The property is starting to show its age but is kept clean. What I liked about this location was they did more with their breakfast and dinner than other locations. For breakfast they had many more options than others including fresh cut fruit and a better salad bar and amazing desserts with dinner. This hotel was a little pricey, but a good option.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank joan3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Poor service and maintenance. Arrived to a very cold clerk and every interaction at the front desk was the same way. Toilet backed up twice with feces all over the bathroom which caused delays. Shower head was hanging loose and could not get a good shower. First time I complained, they stuck a rubber glove in there to fix it, then I complained again and then used caulk. Still not fixed right. Maintenance staff is not qualified and maintenance is running a nice hotel into the ground.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Ctbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Ctbirkett,

We apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay. We have reported the issues in your restroom to our maintenance team who will resolve them for our future guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you return to the area so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect and deserve from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $118 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing