We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for visit to UD.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Medway, MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for visit to UD.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in here while visiting our son for parents weekend at UD. Although we paid a premium because of the timing the hotel was terrific. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. We had a full kitchen minus a stove but had a toaster oven. Full breakfast which was very good. Eggs (both scrambled but one included items like spinach with cheese or steak and cheese), sausages, hashbrowns (real potatoes), fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, waffles, cereal, coffee and a nice selection of teas. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsusan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and your stay with us. Parents weekend is definitely one of our busier times and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the University of Delaware. College is definitely one of the most important experiences in anyone's lives and I'm glad we were able to be part of making that experience a comfortable one for you and your family. We look forward to your next visit and hope you choose our home to be yours again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    112
    41
    22
    15
See reviews for
237
59
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for UD move in day. Hotel that was clean and comfortable with a nice a complimentary breakfast (bonus). We would absolutely stay here again if we could get a reservation. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us in August. While we realize that UD move-in can often be a stressful time, we strive to make Newark DE your home away from home and I am glad to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to your return hopefully during parents weekend or Graduation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW CASTLE
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a female friend of mine visiting from Georgia the weekend of 8/10/2012 until 8/13/2012. The hotel was excellent in everyway. The decor, cleanliness, lobby and most of all the staff were all so helpful. I was surprised at how inexpensive the suite was and the overall size was much more than I expected. Although a local hotel to my home I've never stayed here. My friend was so impressed that she wants to come back up from Georgia and stay there for a few days. Keep up the great work and we'll be sure to return soon. I almost forgot to mention the excellent beds that were the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKNewCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped here on the way home from the Outer Banks! It was terrific! Rooms were spacious, pet friendly facility! Beds were very comfy, bath room had Neutrogena and Bath and Body Works products. Full kitchen in the room! Full breakfast included in the room fee! Very clean facility and extra helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

the size of the room was great, huge living room and really nice size bedroom, breakfast was great, the woman there couldnt do enough, besides the buffet she was nice enough to make mini egg white omelet and gave us 2 yummy tasting slices of banana bread, she really went all out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great hotel. Clean, nicely laid-out rooms. Good air conditioning. Good sized exercise room for this kind of hotel. Very quiet. But there is nothing to do anywhere near the place. There is a small shopping center about two miles away, but that's about it. Great for one night, but not for anything longer unless you need to stay on business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godzillany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lots of room for family of 3 in two room suite.
The evening food service was delicious but probably not enough as I noticed they had run out of the first serving by the first 15 minutes (5:45pm) Needed more than 1 person to do the cooking, collect dirty dishes and serve drinks at the same time.
pool ok, I used the skimmer myself to clear out a few bugs.
room: wall paper peeling off in the bathroom, shower didn't look clean. (dark mold spots on caulking around tub)
Fitted sheet on bed didn't stay on and kept ending up on the bare mattress .
For me the most important criteria is if I feel that initial feeling of cleanliness and freshness when I enter a hotel room and look around , and I didn't get that impression.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing