We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable overnight travel stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
DC Area
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable overnight travel stop”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our party (3 adults and two kids) stayed overnight here on our way to visiting Philadelphia for the weekend. We had a very comfortable two-bedroom suite (king in one room, 2 queens in the other). The location is convenient to the highway and to the University of Delaware campus. You can't really walk to anything, but there is a TGIFridays right in the parking lot.

We arrived around 10 p.m., and appreciated that the indoor pool was open until midnight, as the kids and I got in a quick swim, which released some pent-up energy from the drive. Officially after 10 p.m. it's adults only, but we were the only ones there.

Good-sized flat-panel TVs in both bedrooms and in the sitting room area. There was a delay each time you changed channels which was a bit irritating.

The beds were quite comfortable. The shower was a little weak (the diverter was not 100% effective so some water continued to come out of the tub spout), but acceptable.

Breakfast was a perfectly acceptable, if not particularly special, buffet with waffles (make your own), scrambled eggs (one with meat, one without), bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt, toast, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingBearMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is comments like yours that help our Team achieve the quality service expected. I retrieved your room number from our reservation system so that our Maintenance Engineer could verify the bathroom shower system to ensure it is working properly. Our goal is to deliver highly-personalized exceptional service to each of our guests. I was pleased to read that you scored our property so well.

Again, thank you for selecting the Homewood Suites Newark, Delaware we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    111
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
233
59
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I needed a comfortable place to stay in Newark, DE during the birth of our second grandson and hospitalization of our daughter. My husband had previously stayed at a Homewood Suites while traveling for business and recommended that we try to find one close to the hospital in Newark. This hotel was fabulous, it was clean, comfortable and the breakfast and managers receptions made it a great time saver. The staff went over and above to meet our every need so we had absolutely nothing to worry about but being with our family during this happy time. I highly recommend this hotel and we will stay there again when we visit.

Room Tip: The king suite was the perfect size for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and Congratulations on the birth of your Grandson! It is comments like yours that help our Team achieve the quality service expected. Thank you for the favorable score.

Again, thank you for selecting the Homewood Suites Newark, Delaware and we hope that you continue to stay with us when visiting the Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I'm in the midst of a seven night stay between houses. Could not wait to post my thoughts. I was greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful front desk person. The hotel is perfect for a lengthy stay. There is free wine and beer in the evenings along with food that can pass for dinner. My one and only negative is that the food the first night, Chinese themed, tasted horrible. There is also a full hot breakfast. This is much better then the nighttime food. Eggs, bacon, waffles,etc. Our suite has two full size beds, a separate sitting room and kitchenette. Beds are very comfy and the fridge is great. There is a toaster oven, microwave and two burner stove. All of the staff is very friendly, but special props to Bobbie in the morning breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMCEE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
I apologize for the delayed response. I shared your response with the Team and we were all pleased to read your comments and appreciate your favorable score.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

On our last trip to visit our family in DE, we stayed at the Homewood Suites. We really liked this hotel! First, it is in a nice location in Newark, close to the University and a few local restaurants, and easy access to I-95. The rooms were big, very well kept, and felt classier than the other hotels we stayed in on our trip. The bed was very comfortable and we had a wonderful night's rest before our flights the next day. The only downside was that the air return for the AC was in the bedroom and could be loud if you are a light sleeper. While we didn't sit down and eat breakfast in the morning, they had a nice selection of cereals and juice that we could grab for the kids for the car. Overall, we really enjoyed staying in this hotel and decided that we will be staying here whenever we come to town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Traveling with family and our grandson, this was a stop over on the way back home from Virginia. A great place with a great staff. Very helpful! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for a nascar race, had a studio room. Very clean, staff extermly helpful and always happy. Has wifi and breakfast had a good selection. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3kidsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A fantastic hotel in a great location. Apart from the fact that the hotel rooms and facilities were great, the deciding factor were the people working there. Everyone was friendly and eager to help in any way they could. Nothing was too much trouble, whatever time of the day or night.
The breakfast was out of this world. where you'd pay a good $30 at a upscale hotel, here was just as much choice thrown in for free. Also, there was an excellent evening buffet that was also complimentary.
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and I will be visiting here again in the future. You should do so too. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshMedic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Address: 640 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing