We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Nearby Hotels
$134
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington(Newark)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites(Newark)(Great Value!)
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$167
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
138
89
25
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
89
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab cakesmain streethospitality managementstarbucks coffeebistro restaurantstaff was extremely helpfulbusiness tripfront desk staffshuttle servicewould stay here againplenty of parkingbeds were very comfortableenjoyed my stayroom rateexercise roomnice staystudents
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 260 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is undergoing renovations, and I could tell we were on a recently-renovated floor. Besides the new carpet smell, everything looked and felt clean and contemporary. The bed in our room was very comfy, although an additional blanket would've been nice. Free Wi-Fi is always a plus. We didn't eat here so I can't comment on the restaurant. We walked into town and it was a good 15 minutes to restaurants on Main St.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Twit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for your most kind comments about our hotel and while we are in the renovation process of our guest rooms, we hope it did not disturb your visit. We should be completely renovated in our guest rooms by Jan 29 and as of today more than half the hotel is complete.

We look forward to your next visit! And please let us show your our new guest rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Spacious, nicely decorated rooms. Comfortable beds, clean and quiet. Great lobby area with small bar & counter service bistro. Excellent front desk service. Easy parking. My only disappointment was that a "refreshing bottle of water" was provided in the room, but an additional $1.50 would be added to the bill if consumed. Seriously? Either provided it complimentary or not at all. That seemed very tacky to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadtripMomma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your business. I will look at the large water bottle in the room, as it relates to charging for it. We will look at options for our guests, and I appreciate your point on this item

thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Newark!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The rooms are up to date. The location affords an easy walk to the downtown area. The staff is very friendly. But, it just doesn't come together. Here are my lists of misses:

1. The gym is very small and always too hot.
2. Breakfast is kinda included. The have the facility for an included buffet, but don't do it.
3. The ironing board covers don't fit the boards. Can't press anything.
4. They threw away my reusable coffee cup.

Special note: Ed the bartender is outstanding!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank stuartb561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks Stuart for your feedback and you have been a valued guest for numerous visits. I will check on the temperature in the fitness room. Sadly we are limited as to the size of the room, and we have an excellent relationship with a local fitness club with a much more extensive facility for guests who want more. Please let us know when you are back and we can set that up for you.

We also will look at the ironing board cover just to be sure that all are in proper shape and size. I hope you will enjoy the Bistro concept for breakfast and we offer our breakfast buffet on weekends only per Marriott brand standards. The Bistro team can prepare any items that were previously offered on our breakfast buffet and our guest feedback has been excellent.

Thanks for comment on Ed, our head barman, he is a valuable associate and I will pass along your comment to him, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Is a solid place to stay. Check in was exceptionally quick. Very nice rooms. Large, clean, well-appointed. Workout room is solid with decent equipment. Bar and grill area is well done. Decent menu and decent food. Short drive to middle of campus or the main drag. Favorite place to stay in town

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks Jon, for taking the time to comment on our hotel and services. You are a valued guest and it was a pleasure to have you at the Hotel. We hope you will come back often and enjoy the hotel and Newark, thanks and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is fine, although overpriced for Newark, Delaware. But the breakfast was dreadful. Only a few choices. Order yourself. They bring it to your table. Problem was, they brought the meals two at a time, to a table of 8. By the time the last person got his breakfast, everyone else was finished. Most of the orders were fouled up -- came with the wrong toast or side dish. Coffee was cold. Awful service and food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews