We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately want to like it...but can't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The rooms are up to date. The location affords an easy walk to the downtown area. The staff is very friendly. But, it just doesn't come together. Here are my lists of misses:

1. The gym is very small and always too hot.
2. Breakfast is kinda included. The have the facility for an included buffet, but don't do it.
3. The ironing board covers don't fit the boards. Can't press anything.
4. They threw away my reusable coffee cup.

Special note: Ed the bartender is outstanding!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank stuartb561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks Stuart for your feedback and you have been a valued guest for numerous visits. I will check on the temperature in the fitness room. Sadly we are limited as to the size of the room, and we have an excellent relationship with a local fitness club with a much more extensive facility for guests who want more. Please let us know when you are back and we can set that up for you.

We also will look at the ironing board cover just to be sure that all are in proper shape and size. I hope you will enjoy the Bistro concept for breakfast and we offer our breakfast buffet on weekends only per Marriott brand standards. The Bistro team can prepare any items that were previously offered on our breakfast buffet and our guest feedback has been excellent.

Thanks for comment on Ed, our head barman, he is a valuable associate and I will pass along your comment to him, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Is a solid place to stay. Check in was exceptionally quick. Very nice rooms. Large, clean, well-appointed. Workout room is solid with decent equipment. Bar and grill area is well done. Decent menu and decent food. Short drive to middle of campus or the main drag. Favorite place to stay in town

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks Jon, for taking the time to comment on our hotel and services. You are a valued guest and it was a pleasure to have you at the Hotel. We hope you will come back often and enjoy the hotel and Newark, thanks and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is fine, although overpriced for Newark, Delaware. But the breakfast was dreadful. Only a few choices. Order yourself. They bring it to your table. Problem was, they brought the meals two at a time, to a table of 8. By the time the last person got his breakfast, everyone else was finished. Most of the orders were fouled up -- came with the wrong toast or side dish. Coffee was cold. Awful service and food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed just one night here and enjoyed it. Our room was clean and comfortable. Good service at the front desk, and there is a pleasant lounge/lobby/restaurant/bar area. We particularly enjoyed the friendly service from the bar tender. Breakfast is either ala carte from a Starbucks counter in the lobby or a reasonably priced buffet with made to order omelets and a variety of other warm and cold foods. As others have mentioned, the location is at the edge of the campus and town of Newark. We stayed in November and had no problem with the temperature in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thanks for sharing your most kind comments about our hotel, and we are pleased to have you as our guest for your conference. We are pleased to be on campus and close the famous Newark Main Street shops, restaurants and clubs. We offer local van service to help our guests get around town in a safe manner

Hope we see you again soon as your group returns to Newark!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel each week for work, and have found this to be a very good quality Marriott property. The facilities and amenities are nice, but what makes this hotel shine are the warm and welcoming staff. It's tough to be away from home each week, but the employees at the hotel have made me feel very welcome. The food served in the restaurant is very good, especially the crab cakes. The hotel is also in close proximity to Main Street and its variety of food and entertainment options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Sincere thanks for your most gracious comments and we are pleased to be your "home" for your frequent visits to Newark, Delaware. We hope we continue to have you as our guest and that we exceed your expectations for service and facilities. We are so proud of our crab cakes that are our house special prepared by Chef Mark Chopko!

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a recent conference. The hotel is clean and well appointed. The front desk staff was friendly. The room was comfortable and very clean. The location though "on campus" is on the far fringes of campus, it is a good 15 min walk to the main drag or the heart of campus. The pool was warm and the hot tub hot.

Two things that keep it from getting a better rating from me:
- the heat wasn't on in the rooms. The University owns the building and therefore dictates when the heat gets turned on. There is no advanced notice of this, so I spent time playing with the theromstat in the room, that did nothing. I would have liked up-front notice when I checked in along with an offer of space heaters or blankets (both of which they offered once I complained).
- the staff didn't know how to split the bill between me and my "roommate" for the conference. It took them about 30 minutes when I was checking out to get the bill right. They did offer me a snack while I waited, and were really polite about it, but it still was something that should have been straight forward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleReebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us for your conference. I apologize for the issue with the heat and billing, both are unacceptable and not our standard. Our heat issue was a temporary one that impacted some rooms and was corrected on Sunday. I am sorry this impacted you and your roommate.

I hope we get a chance in the future to regain your full confidence in our hotel and that your meeting again comes to Newark and the University of Delaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Courtyard at University of Delaware when we visited our grandchildren who attend UDEL. The hotel is right on campus, owned by UDEL and the university's students intern there. The front desk staff was courteous and friendly and gave us directions and campus maps. We opted for a King room. The room was large and had a couch and desk. It was immaculate which is always important to me. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable. We loved the down blanket which was thin, lightweight and warm. The bathroom was ample and had another feature that I liked. It had room on the side of the sink to put your makeup and bathroom accessories. The water was always hot. If I could suggest one thing to add to the bathroom it would be a wall swivel make up magnifying mirror. Many of the guests are parents and grandparents of the students whose eyesight is not so good and who would appreciate this touch. We did not eat in the small restaurant which I understand is very good because our grandkids had made reservations elsewhere. They do not have a complimentary breakfast as many of the hotels do nowadays. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here and we would not hesitate to come back here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks for your very kind comments about our hotel and we pleased that you made us your base for visit to the University of Delaware. As the campus hotel, we always welcome families, guests and prospective students to the hotel, and we are pleased that our staff helped you with maps and directions. I will note your comment on the room mirror and see if we can incorporate that into our upcoming guest room renovation. (to start Nov and over by end of Feb 2014). Our brand does not offer free breakfast, but next time you come, ask for the “stay with breakfast” rate that will give you an excellent value on breakfast.

Thanks and please come again soon, and meanwhile, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware

Address: 400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $159 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel in Newark, Delaware with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing