We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The place looked great! The service staff was good! The only problem was that it was below 60 degrees in my room and the heat was not working! It was October 26 and 42 degrees outside And NO HEAT!!! According to the hotel the heat was controlled by the university? Really??? They did supply a heater that didn't warm the room because of its miniature size. I never received the blankets I was promised either!!! I would suggest a better policy regarding the heat , in most places heat is available after October 15th. I had a horrible night and an aggravated medical condition because off the cold!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your note about your recent stay with us and I apologize for the issue with the guest room temperature, that is clearly unacceptable and not our standard. I hope you can give us a chance to regain your full confidence in our hotel and please contact me, Bill Sullivan, General Manager for your next visit to Newark and our Hotel.

thanks so much for taking the time to share this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    85
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
28
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited my younger sister at university of delaware and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott by recommendation of my parents. It was the perfect place to stay for this trip. Due to a late flight, we checked in close to midnight and the man at the front desk was so kind even though it was so late! The rooms are updated and nice, ours had a balcony which was nice to open as the weather was perfect that weekend. The lobby is very nice too with many places to sit and gather withe friends. Did not eat there but breakfast looked good. The hotel is also a very short walk to Main Street. I am sure we will be staying here many times over the next four years and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sox33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments about our hotel and we welcome your family to the University of Delaware and our hotel. We hope we can be your "Newark Home" while your family member attends the University of Delaware. We are on campus and we agree with you about our great location for access to Newark Main Street, with over 100 shops and restaurants.

thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was in town for a wedding and really enjoyed my stay here. Free parking and walking distance to main st. Very clean and comfortable room. Starbucks in the lobby which is always a plus. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased that your wedding event choose our hotel for their special event, and hope all had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Newark, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in at approximately 9:00pm, looked at some TV and went to bed. We woke up at approximately 8:00am. When I looked down at the floor, I saw two bugs. They looked a little like ants but much bigger. One ran under the rug. I slammed the other with my shoe. It was still moving after a good hit, so I did it again. Ten minutes later I noticed it was still moving, so I hit it a third time. They must be wearing helmets, but this whack did the trick. I then opened the curtains. The windows were absolutely filthy.If you looked out the window from a distance, it appeared to be raining, but it wasn't. A little while later I saw another bug on the floor, or maybe it was the one I saw previously. I have stayed at Marriott properties throughout the US and Europe. I willl stay at them again. This includes Marriotts, Courtyards and the other Marriott brands. I willl never set fooot in the Newark, Delaware Couryard again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments on our hotel and I assure you that we take all feedback very seriously. Our staff will fully inspect the room that you stayed in and insure that any issues are fully corrected. We hope we have the opportunity in the near future to win you back as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed two nights while on a business trip. It's a very quiet, clean, and comfortable hotel. The staff is friendly and efficient. They have changed the way they handle breakfast since my stay there a year ago when we enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet. Now they have a small bistro where you order at the counter and then they bring your food to your table. Overall, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Sincere thanks for your very positive comments about our hotel and staff. We are working hard to keep our Courtyard as one of the best in the US, and thanks to guests like you are doing well.

we hope to see you again soon in Newark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

First of all, the staff was very good. Very friendly and helpful. I think they could spend more on the toilet paper, considering it was the cheapest stuff I have ever experienced. For the money you would think they would have a free breakfast, but they don't even have the famous marriott buffett every day and no free coffee. I'd rather have free restaurant grade coffee than pay as much as I did for a room and still have to shell out for Starbucks. Room was nice, but don't get me started again on the toilet paper. Like using tree bark!

Room Tip: Non-smoking campus. If you have a patio room, you can't smoke out on the patio! And you are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn_c_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Carolyn, thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel, and we really appreciate your business. Your comments will help us continue to provide better service and facilities to our guests. I am sorry about breakfast, the Courtyard Brand does not offer free breakfast, but we do sell breakfast inclusive rates on all days, that offers a significant break on the cost of breakfast for our guests. We do provide complimentary coffee every day from 5:00am to 9:00am for all guests in the lobby, I apologize if this was not pointed out to you as you arrived. I appreciate your comment on the quality of the toilet paper, I will look to be sure we have the proper brand standard product for our guest rooms and public spaces.

Marriott US is an 100% non smoking hotel chain, and smoking is not permitted within 25 feet of the building. While I know this is an inconvenience for some guests, it has generally been well received by our guests. We are planning to build a “fire pit” area that will be available for smokers.

I hope you give us a chance in a future visit to fully regain your confidence in our hotel and value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Newark last weekend for a wedding and stayed here. It
was a great call! The hotel, staff, & food were top notch. This site is
truly the nicest Courtyard we've had the pleasure to stay at. If you
are in the area stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWMLongValley_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your very kind note about your recent visit to our hotel for a wedding event. We are pleased that you had a great stay, and we thank you for your business. Sharing feedback is vital to our success and we share your comments with our team of associates

thanks and all the best in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
263 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Property: Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing