We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servicable for the price”
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Newark DE
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We made reservations here because we were attending an open house at University of Delaware and all other hotels were booked. The price was great, especially with the AAA discount. I had read the negative reviews before I booked, so I wasn't surprised when I opened the door to a mildew smell. Air conditioner was noisy, a dirty facecloth was by the bed, along with some paper wrappers. Was noisy with the sound of base from a nearby club. We didn't spend much time in the room, but we did not get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NJMom048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Newark DE
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

My fiancee and I wanted to do a night out and decided to get a room in Newark and hit the bars. After finding out Howard Johnson's on 896 was sold out, we ended up here. The desk agent was very nice. We asked if we could see a room (to make sure it wasn't nasty) and he showed us around. The room cost $50 something a night. I say "something" because he never showed us a bill (definitely a minus) when we paid with a credit card. For $50-something I was very pleased with the room.

Now it should be said that, given the circumstances, I had pretty low standards. There were a few small bugs in the room (not near the bed), the air conditioner was very weak, and the bathroom was not spotless (the sink was slightly cracked and there was a little mildew around the caulking line of the tub). The King Bed was very comfortable. The room had a microwave and a mini-fridge. The hotel advertises free breakfast but we didn't get up early enough to catch it. The parking is very convenient and easy compared to other places on Main St.

The best part of staying at Super 8 was that my fiancee and I did not need a Designated Driver. The furthest bar on Main Street is only a 10 minute walk while the bar we ended up at was only about 5 minutes away from the hotel. The night life in Newark (when the University of Delaware is not in Fall or Spring Semester) can be pretty lively. When UD is in Fall or Spring Semester I would stay away from Newark. I went to UD and unfortunately my peers can be some of the rudest, crudest, basest drunks I've ever seen. We went on a Thursday night in the summer and there were many people walking the streets bar hopping at 11:30 at night. During the weekend it is probably busier. If you like going to bars, going to fancier restaurants, or dining on ethnic food, Newark is a great place to visit (when UD is not in main session).

For a couple or a group, I would consider night life on Main St. to be totally safe (when UD is not in main session).

I was glad to save money by staying at Super 8 but I can totally understand if the cleanliness of the rooms is unacceptable. You get what you pay for, and I think for the price Super 8 Newark is a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The dirtiest motel I've ever stayed in. Carpet looks like it hasn't been vacuumed in a century...cobwebs, spiders, bugs in bed, stains on bed sheets, lumpy pillows, plastic covers on matresses makes you feel like you are sleeping on a bed made for bedwetters. The outside of this motel is just as filthy. Needs new management, along with everything else. Obviously, someone needs hotel management 101. Would rather sleep outside under a tree...it would be cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

First, our non-smoking room smelled like smoke... bad. The air conditioning unit smelled like vomit. The bathroom window was broken out and glass was on the floor. Of the 5 outlets in the room, only one worked. The bedding was not clean.

Now to top it all off, the bar next door played thumping music from 10pm until 2am keeping us awake... on a Tuesday. I have stayed in nicer hotels in post-earthquake Haiti. Never stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The room is not extremely clean but it is clean enough for me to feel comfortable. Didn have any problems and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels234, Manager at Super 8 Newark DE, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

I want to personally thank you for your time with reviewing our hotel. Its the guests with valuable reviews that help make our hotel a better stay for everyone!

Thank You,
Super 8 Newark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We had to change our room the first night because it looked like a crime scene there was blood in the bathroom ..it looked like they hadn't even changed the sheets. The scent they use to freshen up the rooms sent me into asthma attacks. We asked them not to use the spray on our room the next day because of that and they still did ... we had to leave and stay with family. It was the worse place ever !!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wyshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The first room we had, the door would not lock . When i asked the guy at the first desk "could he fix the door" ...he told me that there was nothing wrong with it ....me and my wife had to leave to take care of some business and called 3 hours later and asked again was the door fixed....the man replied "yes, the door is fixed" ....got back 2 hrs after that and the door was still broken ...then i went to the desk to tell him and he asked "what door?"....i asked him to come check it out and he finally gave me another room. This room smelled like somebody had alcohol poisoning and they tried to hurry up and clean before we go there.....i have never smelled any room that bad in my life and i have been deployed to Iraq ....twice ...we had to open both windows and open and close the door every five mins...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delltadogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Newark at University of Delaware
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Newark DE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Newark DE

Address: 268 E Main St, Newark, DE 19711-7390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $68 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Newark DE 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Newark DE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Newark, De Hotel Newark
Super Eight Newark
Super 8 Newark
Newark Super 8
Newark Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing