We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn & Suites Newark/Christiana, DE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Philadelphia, PA area
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites Newark/Christiana, DE”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here because of a partnership they have with Christiana Hospiatl-Excellent hotel. Very welcoming when you first enter. the staff is wonderful & very helpful-The beds were very comfortable-The hotel is less than 10 minutes to Christiana Hospital, which was just what we needed.
The breakfasts were really good too. French toast, sausage, scrambled eggs & hash browns. You can also make your own waffles.
The hotel was very clean and the housekeeping staff was vewry nice too.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel, if for 1 night or longer.
I will definately stay again, if necessary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave1jamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn1024, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We appreciate your kind words, and I hope that you will come back and visit us if you happen to be traveling to the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    52
    37
    30
See reviews for
104
53
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very close to Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack which was our destination for the weekend. The lobby was really nice, I liked the woodwork and decor, small gas fireplace. Cute and clean breakfast room with actual food options, juices, milk, large coffee center, and delicious little cinnamon swirl rolls. Staff was polite and non-invasive. We got a 1 bedroom whirpool suite and it was surprisingly clean. You could tell it probably used to be kind of bad until it was recently renovated and mostly redecorated. We had a good time and were comfortable. Definitely will return when visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheapDate19401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronks, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

the bed looked like it had been made by a 6 year old. the pillows were terrible.there was a lot of hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub when we arrived. room looked like it had not been swept. noticeable crumbs on floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sms0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Sharon,

Im sorry that you felt the need to write incorrect accusations regarding our hotel. However, our policy will always stand that we are not a party hotel, nor do we tolerate any type of situation that will interfere with the satisfaction of all of our guests.

I apologize that we may have ruined your New Years Eve party,

Sincerely,

Michele Yost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

It was a hotel. That's about it. Wifi was slow but included. The gym was tiny and used. The breakfast was nice enough. All together, it was a place to sleep, that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

i'm a mother of two and live in NJ about 2hr away from my other family we came down to enjoy family and i did not want to drive 2hr back at night. Country Inn and Suites of Newark was wonderful, friendly staff and easy check in, nice area, clean room and good cable(hubby) good breakfast in the morning before our 2hr ride out ... and yes COFFEE!!! must have Coffee

Room Tip: Country Inn and Suites great chain i join to earn points ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
It is always wonderful to hear how much our guests have enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful staff. We thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites while traveling to the Newark area and we all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place was the worst. The first room given to me smelled so bad I had to change rooms. The second room was only marginally better. The amenities were disappointing. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade or at the very least a thorough cleaning. I was very disappointed. This place was definately not worth the price of admisssion.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pac0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

1. Desk attendants are rarely at the desk. They were always in the backroom with the door closed. You always have to wait until they feel like coming out to help.
2. Never received a pleasant greeting. Most attendants didn't even give a verbal greeting.
3. Fitness room is very poor - 3 pieces of equipment with 1 broken. When I found an attendant, they said that they have no arrangements with outside gyms. They suggested a YMCA (who wouldn't allow visitors unless you belonged to a YMCA at home). I had to Google a gym.
4. I've seen worse breakfast but not for a long time. Milk always seemed to be empty and I had to track down the attendant (notice a theme?) who would refill it with a few ounces at a time. The "fresh fruit" was a dehydrated orange and apple.

There are lots of hotels in the area. I would put the Country Inn at the bottom of your list.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanB46439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing