We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass this place by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newark
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Pass this place by”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I consider myself an honest reviewer and usually give reviews to the places that I like. However, this place was such a disappointment that I felt the need to actually write a "poor" review. We stayed here as it was a last minute reservation and the hotel that we usually stay in was booked solid. We have stayed at many Country Inns and have found them to usually be good to very good. The room was defintely not as clean as it should have been, the toilet was leaking. No one seemed to be able to fix it and we ended up turning off the water supply so we could sleep at night. The "business" center had a broken printer and it was (no exaggeration) 88 degrees in the small little room. I tried leaving the door open and it just made the heat come on. Yes, this was in June. We felt like no one was in charge. Everything would be taken care of "tomorrow" along with the non-existent shuttle to the track/casino. They don't have a pool. We will not be back there, ever, We didn't even stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    52
    37
    30
See reviews for
104
53
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Not awful, just way below average. Lots of finger marks on the walls, dirty carpets, etc. Go to next exit, there is a better looking Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
The Staff at the Country Inn & Suites Newark,De read each review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate both the positive and the constructive feedback. We use our guest's feedback to improve and fine-tune our operations and address issues with our staff.

Thank you again for your honest and constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a group of six friends overnight at this hotel. Upon arrival, our rooms were properly held, ready for occupancy and there were nice cookies at the desk. Easy check in and checkout process.

The rooms themselves are fairly standard looking, as one would expect in a moderate priced chain hotel. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were silly small. The TV and remote both worked well, as did the AC. The bathroom was fine, and the usual array of shampoos, conditioner and soaps were provided. The rooms that we stayed in were all very clean.

The one issue that we had was that our friends in the adjoining room had a door that did not lock without being bolted. That meant that they had to bolt their door from the inside and enter through our room. A complaint to the desk was met with something on the order of "Meh, that's room 307 again." Hardly a modicum of concern.

Breakfast was the usual hotel Sysco stuff. Fakey bagels, mini muffins, cereal and make your own waffles. One thing that was good was that there was yogurt with a side of fresh berries. One of my friends put the berries in the waffle mix and had some great berry filled waffles.

Would I stay here again? I guess so, as the price was right, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was OK. But, the front desk could be more concerned about maintenance and safety issues. Also, it would have been nice to have a pool, which this hotel does not have.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
On behalf of the Country Inn & Suites, please accept my apology for the poor service that was given by certain individuals on our staff.

We strive to ensure our guest's experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Best Regards,

Michele Yost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The front desk person was very personable and helpful. The room was clean and everything worked well. We stayed only one night but it was not a good night's sleep. I read previous reviews of how thin the walls were and thought, "How bad could it be?". It was bad! The room next to us had several females with loud voices. They were not trying to be obnoxious, they just had loud, booming voices. We could hear them as we watched TV, but thought they would quiet down after 11:00 PM. They did not. Around 12:30 AM I knocked on the wall, hoping they would realize they were being too loud. They knocked back and did not quiet down. They then tried to open the connecting door between the two rooms. We had to be up at 6:30AM the next morning which made it even worse. I had to use tissues and create ear plugs in order to get to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

A lot is still to be desired but the hotel is one of the few in America the is trying to feed us healthier, which in turn will be cheaper for them. It is a win win situation:) Sysco foods the provider to hotels, school, nursing homes around the world is killing us with sugar and additives. I went out and got 2 king size pillows of my own which helped give be a much better sleep. The bed and pillows need help:( The clerks were all nice. Before staying again I would discuss healthier food choices.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, ask for an upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelerenee, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns.

At this time we are looking into improving our breakfast menu by adding more healthy options for our guests. If you have any suggestions as to what you would like to see on our breakfast bar, please feel free to contact me and share your ideas with me.

Sincerely,

Michele Yost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I have stayed at many hotels and I am pleased with the service from Country Inn and Suites.

I recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Newark DE and I am so glad I did. Not only was the room clean but the hotel staff was courteous and friendly. The staff make you feel like family.

The amenties, including the breakfast was as advertised. The room was spaceous and modern. It was well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Check-in was easy, although only one clerk at desk who was not always there. Rooms were clean and neat. Beds were good although the pillows were tiny and flat for queen size beds. The breakfast was terrific. Had no problems with noise even though the hotel appeared pretty full. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank first-tymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing