We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Red Roof was a pleasant surprise! Clean, comfortable, and quiet (at least where I was staying), I couldn't ask for much more for the price.

When I first arrived, the A/C (room 219) was LOUD ... humming and buzzing. I tried smacking it a few times but to no avail. The front desk immediately moved me (on request) to a different room (317) and that was the extent of the issue. The room was clean (and kept that way by housekeeping who did an excellent job), the bedding was comfortable, and even though it was not an empty place (judging by the cars in the parking lot), it was remarkably quiet.

Definitely won't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradigmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Paradigmwg,

Thank your for your comments about my Inn. Myself and the staff love to hear feedback about our guests stay.

We look forward to hosting your next visit to Delaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked here for convenience of Location to where we needed near Girlfriends family. An liked stay friendly staff when we checked in The main was a clean reasonably modern room. But the bathroom could of been far better there were a good few hairs scatted about bath area it's a shame that something like this can drop your view of a room i would of rated it 5 if it wasn't for this. I would however stay here again. And intend to in a few weeks!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Spider666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Spider666,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at my Inn. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that this is not a usual occurance. I am fortunate to have a staff who takes great pride in giving our guests the best home away from home experience.

Look forward to seeing you during your next Wilmington visit. Please feel free to stop by the desk and ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff were great and attentive but they have to do something about the smell in the rooms.
They did such a good job renovating this inn except for scrubbing the rooms of smoke residue. I tried 3 rooms and decieded to stop checking and settled for the least smokey.
I know I tend to be a single issue critic, but most other "smoke free" properties do a pretty good job.
I don't know what they do with the $200.00 fine, but they sure don't use it to get the tobacco residue out.

Room Tip: If you sleep in aviod rooms near the laundry. If you have a lot of clothes or gear get a first floor...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Silverfxr,

Thank you for your comments about our Inn. Yes, you are correct about the smoking issues at our hotel. We are extremely happy to be 100% smoke free. However, this is a constant challenge to assure guests do not smoke in rooms. We are looking to add a outdoor smoking pavillion in the near future to give our smoking guest an area to use. Housekeepers are also trained in how to properly clean any room where smoking may be suspected.

We are happy to hear that you like our new product and look forward to rolling out more new items in the next few months.

Thank you for staying at our Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son and I were traveling and taking a flight out of Wilmington Airport. We drove down the night before and needed a hotel. We were trying to find a safe, clean hotel and not break the budget. We trusted the Trip Advisor reviews and got a great AAA rate for this hotel. The check-in was quick and efficient and the room was spotless and appeared to have been recently updated. We had no complaints and the price was extremely fair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TC-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear TC_PA,

Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at my Inn. The staff is pleased to hear about how you enjoyed your stay. Many guests are suprised at how nice of a room Red Roof Inn's have for such a reasonable price.

I hope you will remember us the next time you are in Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had driven 16 hours, so I was glad when it only took a couple of minutes to check in. Rooms were newly refurbished and the beds were very comfy. No hair dryer. Downside were the people hanging out in the parking lot. There was a 1st floor room that had it's door open and was dark inside, but you could hear people talking. There were a couple of girls sitting in a vehicle near the room. The whole situation made me uncomfortable. Also, it is very difficult to find. Follow the signs or you will be driving around in circles. Ate dinner at the Chili's and was disappointed that all the food was subpar. Also, we were traveling with a dog and this was one of the few places that allowed pets with only a $10 per night fee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

For our road trip perfectly located near the highway with lots of restaurants nearby. But it was a bit hard to get there. Make sure to follow the Red Roof Inn signs. We got a king standard room on 2nd floor where unfortunately (although it is 100 % smoke-free) somebody had smoked inside recently. Also the linen were dirty and had cigarette burns. I went to the receptionist and she gave us another room on 3rd floor without complaining. That's what I call perfect service! We enjoyed our stay at this Red Roof Inn which already had the new modern Red Roof style.

Room Tip: Just ask for it
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived very late and the front desk lady was very pleasant and eager to assist me, Check was no more than 5 minutes, it was like she knew my name and everything waiting for me. This was extremely pleasing, as we frequently stay at another location simply because of it's location near an airport. I have been a redicard member for years and feel that I really missed out by choosing the other location. I slept good and uninterrupted by and noise which is unheard of on Friday night. The room was very comfortable and nice. So I am still kicking myself for not coming to this location first. We will not make that mistake again. VERY NICE !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: clean, safe, quiet and great staff
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redicardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#17 of 24 in Newark
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $67 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing