We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large King Room, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I've recently stayed away from Red Roof locations because of some disappointments compared with other chain motels but decided to try this old stand-by, but with the Large King Bed room.
We found this room to be very comfortable with a mini fridge not usually found in a Red Roof.
We requested and got a top floor quiet room - the room was well maintained and the large bed was very comfortable.
On the negative side, there wasn't a coffee maker in the room, only the machine in the lobby and there was no breakfast like most other comparable chain motels. That's the primary reason we rarely stay in Red Roof anymore.
All in all, we recommend this Red Roof in the Large King Bed room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D.W.Melvin-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2007

I chose the "Wilmington" (DE) Red Roof Inn in Newark (grr) when I went to Wilmington to visit my boyfriend because of their pet policy. I was taking his dog with me and wanted a place that wasn't going to charge me a ton to stay with a pet. Their policy is cool, one pet, no deposit, just a waiver. The room was TINY. I'm a little person, but the King Sized bed took over the pint sized room and there was barely a path to the bathroom. I can stay in a crappy room though. Given that and the fact that their wireless they advertised wasn't accessible without some $10/ day purchase, their cable had about 15 channels total, it was hard to believe they'd revamped the whole place as the website suggested.

I can get past all of that. I even chose to stay there an extra day than I'd reserved, because I had the next day off work and wanted to extend my time with my bf. The next morning we got up, he took his dog outside for a bathroom break and discovered that his window had been busted out of his car and his TomTom navigation thing and his nice digital camera were stolen. Thankfully the thieves left his and my laptops in their bags in the back seat, covered in window glass. We called the police and talked to the Hotel Manager. They both said that this parking lot is often hit with crimes like this. The officer talked about staking out that very parkinglot for stings etc. and who might have been involved... gypsies, teens from West Chester PA, what ever... Comprehensive car insurance didn't cover the theft, and my bf was out his $500 deductible. The hotel doesn't cover stolen items either, and the manager informed us that they're only legally required to have surveillance in the lobby not in the parking lot, even though things are often stolen in their parking lot. He's just out that stuff. Just today he got a call from the VP there who says that since it is posted on the hotel room doors on the back of the door that your stuff is not covered or guaranteed safe that they weren't going to do anything for him... not even reimburse the money he spent to stay there and be a sitting duck for these thieves. Yeah there was a sign, but you have to register and get into your room before you see it.

I'll never return and would like to remind everyone that they too could wake up to this scenario. We're out $1400 in stolen goods and the deductible for the window, and to think, we paid to be sitting ducks in this high crime parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gibbrishclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof190, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2010

Our hotel is not situated in a high crime area. Both police and management worked with this customer to address his concerns. Our Hotel features safes in all of our Guest rooms to secure your valuables. We do not recommend leaving any valuables in your vehicle for individuals to take advantage of, visibly or otherwise. Hotel management and staff work with local law enforcement regularly to prevent threats and provide security for all of our Guests and parking areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

I've often stayed with Red Roof, and I've always been pleased, but this Red Roof Inn is exceptional. The property is extremely clean, the bushes and shrubs are very attractive, and the rooms are immaculate. Coming off Interstate 95, the Red Roof is a bit tricky to find, but it's well worth the effort once you DO find it. What's most important to me while travelling is the friendliness of the staff. I stayed here twice on my trip, and both times ELISE waited on me. She couldn't have been sweeter! She treats all of her guests as if they were royalty! Red Roof Inns are very lucky to have this employee. The Christiana Mall area has quite a few hotels within a close proximity to one another, but for the value, and for the friendliness alone, THIS Red Roof Inn IS A GEM!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FENMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

This place was great because it really met our needs. We were on a road trip visiting many college campuses with two teenagers and three small dogs, plus me and my hubby. We checked in about 9:00 pm, and our room was clean, new, and the best part was we could pull our car up to the door to load and unload. All we did here was sleep, but everyone was friendly, and no problem with their pet friendly policies.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiannnnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Newly REDESIGNED, friendly staff, clean rooms (business King has more space + Micro/Fridge) good location, but tricky exit hidden off of I-95 exit 4B. Near Christiana Mall, Delaware Slots and lots more. My husband & I enjoyed our stay. Booked online "HOT DEALS" and will book again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmcwcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neunzehn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bobi7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#17 of 24 in Newark
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2119
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing