We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare bones hotel, definitely NOT non-smoking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bare bones hotel, definitely NOT non-smoking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

First, the hotel is hard to find. You have to make a turn onto a side road ad if you miss it, you need to loop around again. There is a sign saying where to turn once you get to that side road, but not telling you to make the initial turn. Amusingly, once you get there, they have a sign that says "You Found Us!". The hotel is questionably two stars. There is no breakfast, no refrigerators in standard rooms and no coffee. When you check in, you have to agree that they can charge you $1.50 a day for the safe deposit box. You need to ask to have it removed at checkout if you did not use it. Our room smelled like someone had smoked in it, even though the location is advertised as smoke free (this is mentioned in other reviews; the front desk clerk acknowledged that people do smoke in them even though they are told not to). The air conditioner was very loud, as was the fan in the bathroom. The bed wasn't bad. Shower did not have an adjustable shower-head and shampoo/soap were tiny sizes, smaller than other two star hotels. There was only one ice machine that I was able to find, on the first floor next to the office (we were on the second floor), and it wasn't working our first night there. I seriously question Priceline's rating system if this can be rated two stars, as it definitely seemed more like one star to me. I would probably not bid 2 stars in this zone again for fear of getting it again. The only good thing I can say is that I got a great price, considering that it was graduation weekend at the University of Delaware, and I wasn't in the hotel room very much. We had to wash all of our stuff after getting home because of the smoke smell in the room. The Internet worked reasonably well, although I had problems streaming the graduation ceremony (it was choppy), but it was not clear if it was the hotel or university's problem.

Room Tip: If it smells like someone was smoking when you enter the room, ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MisterBill99,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us. Sorry that you had some difficulty finding us; there is some construction going on in the area but the township assures us that it should be completed shortly. Also we do have a second ice machine which is conveniently located on our third floor as well as additional vending machines. Thank you also for mentioning our great price and our all new beds; we do hear a lot of positive feedback on both. I hope if you are in the area in the future you will choose our hotel again. Sincerely, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    69
    48
    24
    21
See reviews for
75
62
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose this hotel/location for two reasons - we had a free Red Roof Inn certificate to use up, and it was about as far as we intended to drive for the night. We really liked how they've remodeled the room we stayed in, mostly for the fact that they removed the wall-to-wall carpeting and had just flooring instead. That really makes the room feel cleaner and fresher. Also, the bed linens were up-to-date (no more printed bed-spreads!), and the furnishings were also modern-looking. Great water pressure in the shower! We'd recommend this location (a Chili's restaurant only a quick walk away across the parking lot), and we hope all Red Roofs are going in this direction for updates and remodels! The evening clerk was friendly, which is always a plus when checking in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room next door to the office, so we can vouch for that one at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Signal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Signal50,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are very proud of our newly remodeled rooms and it is always nice to hear that you found them to feel clean and fresh; our housekeeping folks work very hard to keep them that way. On another note, the plan is that by the end of 2013 ALL Redroof Inns will be updated and remodeled. Thank you also for mentioning that our evening clerk ( Elise ) was friendly; she has been with us for many years now and we are very fortunate to have her representing our hotel in the evenings! I hope that the next time you are in town you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Money well spent. After a long tiresome trip w 2 boys I was very irritable and on edge and Leron at the front desk was very patient, helpful and personable. My room was very clean and cozy....In the morning I needed extra towels, so I called the front desk and house keeping ws there in a few minutes...My experience was GREAT!!!!!!!! I will definitely stay there again and recommend to my friends and family . ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trini2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Trini2785,
Thank you so much for sharing a few of your thoughts with us, we are all very glad your experience was "GREAT"… in particular, thank you for recognizing Laron's effort, I know he prides himself in being as patient, helpful and personable as possible. I am always glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in providing you with quick service for your linen needs. We all look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you also for your recommendation to your friends and family, it means a great deal to all of us! Sincerely, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Cheryl at the front desk is amazing! Very helpful, caring and personable! And rooms are always very clean, beds are comfy, and I love that they are very modern. Feels homey! Great place to stay, and will always recommend the red roof to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimattia2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear dimattia,
Thank you very much for your kinds words about our Hotel. Our entire group of associates work extremely hard to create, as you put it, a "clean, comfy and homey" experience for all our guests. Cheryl continues to be the face of the morning front desk; she works so hard to ensure that all of "her" guests have to best stay possible and we all are very proud to work with her. Thank you again for taking the time to share a few of your thoughts with us, I hope the next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us! Sincerely, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a horrible road trip,and trying to find a place to rest late night, it was nice to have a friendly face to welcome us. Front desk was very pleasant and helpful location is a little tricky but felt safe. I definitely would stay again if needed. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roccstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear roccslarr,
Thank you so much for giving us "Two thumbs up", the entire staff here works very hard to provide our guests with a memorable experience. It continues to be great here that you were welcomed by a pleasant, friendly face and you felt safe. I truly hope that the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again! Sincerly, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Best red roof inn stay yet just remodeled its excellent how much they have updated and redone everything so clean great staff!!!!!!! Helpful and clean house keepers price is a value and cheaper rates are available for longer stay walk to chilies restaurant Delaware park Christiana mall with tax free shopping are both short drive or bus ride also close to hospital I stay here every time iam in town on business allows pets is 100 percent smoke free redi card gives you points for your stay great!!!!!!!! Will stay again

Room Tip: They have coupons in travel guides located in rest areas off 95 making price even cheaper also if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Greg1980,
Thank you so much for your kind words for our "great staff", they all work very hard to keep the property "shiny and new looking”. Red Roof as a whole prides itself on clean rooms, great service and convenient locations which all add up to providing a great overall value to our guests. I am glad to hear that you are a part of our Redicard program which seems to be the most comprehensive rewards program in the entire hotel industry. Thanks again for your feedback, we all greatly appreciate it! Sincerely, Bill Ashenfelder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions without incident until this last visit. I stayed in Room 313 and woke up with bedbug bites on my upper torso. I spoke with the manager who quite reluctantly placed me in another room. Once again, I woke up with bedbug bites on my face, neck and shoulders. At that point I decided to check out which was earlier than I had planned. The manager reluctantly offered to to return my money to my credit card for the last evening. The money was not readily available because it takes 7-10 days to process. This created more issues as I was traveling on a budget Their Guest Relations Department was of no assistance whatsoever. I was repeatedly told that they had no authority to make decisions about any form of relief and that I would need to wait until a report was completed.

At this writing, I am staying at another hotel and hope that their creatures are not traveling with me. This location has a bedbug infestation and the management will most likely continue to rent out the rooms to unwitting travelers. I will see them in court.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear WWXXI, I apologize for your experience at our inn and I want to assure you our guests comfort is our top priority. After this matter was brought to our attention we had a third party vendor inspect both rooms and no activity was found within either room to cause any concern that the room was not ready to provide the best in comfort four our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity to not only meed but exceed your expectations the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#19 of 24 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2119
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing