We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over point between VA Beach and NYC to break up the drive. It was a great solution for our needs. We had intended to get their earlier in the day to take advantage of their pool but ended up leaving VA later than expected so had to forego the swimming. The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean (which I really like). The service was also very good. The staff was quite friendly and were very happy to mail me something that I accidentally left behind. I would definitely stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GStur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Traveling down to North Carolina for the week, we got stuck in 3 hours of traffic between the Connecticut line and the New Jersey line. So, we decided to pick a random (nice sounding) hotel in a state we've never stayed in. So, Delaware seemed like the perfect choice. The price for our hotel was quite good, especially since we were just arriving that night. The manager, Aisha, was super helpful with choosing restaurants and made us feel welcome. The rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I'd be glad to refer this easily accessible hotel to anyone traveling down I-95.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our second stay here coming back from our annual summer vacation in the south. Our experience has been that the Comfort name can be unreliable, but this hotel is first-rate. Completely renovated in 2011, it is new, clean, quiet, and refreshing after a long day's drive. The staff is remarkably friendly and helpful, offering suggestions for restaurants or anything else we might need. The pool is clean and has beautiful landscaping, plenty of pool towels, and nice chairs, loungers, and umbrellas. Breakfast is typical but fine. The rooms are super clean and fresh, and all have fridges and microwaves. There is an abundance of restaurants close by. I highly recommend this hotel, and will be back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our reservations were for 2 adults and 2 kids, King Room, with pull-out sofa. The first time we stayed at this hotel was good, with a room that actually had foot room. This "pull-out sofa" was a twin-sized bed, for 2 kids to sleep in--ridiculous. When the pull out was pulled out, there was room to squeeze sideways to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night. We had the air on from our "early" check in time of 2:45 (15 min early) and by 11 pm it finally got down to 70 degrees. When my husband called the desk (at 10 when we came back in from a graduation celebration) to say it wasn't working, they questioned him about having the thermostat set too low. No offers were made to change rooms or make us more comfortable. If you don't trust your guests to know how to use a thermostat, don't put one in a room. Use the simple, blue and red. We keep it cold to sleep, at 68. The refrigerator wasn't working, and was instead making an incessant clicking noise all night long. Worse than a drippy faucet! I am definitely not a satisfied customer and will not be re-visiting this hotel. In the past, we have been very satisfied with our stays at clarion hotels, but I just don't know that I'll take this type of chance again. For the price, it was not worth the aggravation.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel, and if they offer you room 332, DON'T STAY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and i spent a night there while visiting the University of Delaware. We found the hotel to be very clean and the front desk staff competent. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Check in and check out was fast. When visiting the Newark area make sure Comfort Inn and Suites is at the top of your list of hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metsfan182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have never been disappointed with this property. If I had the time I could sleep for more than 10 hours in those beds. The hotel is very clean from top to bottom, and the excellent customer service is always refreshing.

Room Tip: All the room have great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uptown3train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Attractive, comfortable, and very clean contemporary rooms with free wireless. Totally agree that the beds are wonderful. Very helpful staff, from the manager to the breakfast supervisor. Nice landscaping softened the commercial surroundings. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Address: 3 Concord Ln, Newark, DE 19713-3577 (Formerly Inn At Christiana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $85 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Inn and Suites located right off of I-95, close to many attractions and businesses. Hotel Amenities include: Microwaves and Refrigerators in all rooms, Flat screen TVs, All new workout equipment, Free Deluxe Continental breakfast bar with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newark
Hampton Inn Newark
Newark Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing