We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location near the racetrack” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Perfect location near the racetrack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This may say "Comfort Inn & Suites" on the sign but there is no doubt that this was once a Hampton Inn. The furniture is the same, the bathrooms are the same, as are the beds and bedding. So comfortable. The staff here go out of their way to be welcoming and we thank Bobby for always keeping the pool clean and ready for us. We always meet our cousins here and go to the track and racino and head for the pool evenings and mornings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    87
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
94
54
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room was clean but very small, and bathroom even smaller. Air conditioner would not stay on and appeared to go off every time door was opened. Front desk recommendation: not to put temp below 70 degrees and put fan on. Unfortunately, this did not cool room adequately and Cool would not stay on. Rooms were quiet and bed, although appeared small for queen size, was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtraveler1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had a reservation here, but cancelled my stay after seeing two rooms. In the first room there was an insect crawling across the bedspread. I do not think it was a bedbug, but I was not wanting to have any kind of crawling thing in my room. In addition, we have allergies to cigarette smoke, and the room -even though billed as non-smoking- smelled of smoke. The desk clerk gave me another room immediately, but the second room also smelled of smoke, and there were crumbs on the bedspread. When I informed the clerk, he agreed to cancel my stay and the hold that had been put on my credit card. However, he did not have his correct merchant number and could not accomplish this while I waited for 30 minutes.

I finally left and phoned the credit card company directly. To cap everything off, the day manager called me the next morning to apologize. This would have been a nice gesture, but he called before 8:00am, waking me up from sleeping in on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was travelling to Delaware and SE Pennsylvania on a multi-day business trip. Previously had been staying in Dover area at Sleep or Comfort Inn's there, however, this time selected this more centrally located hotel. Pleasantly surprised by the above-average Comfort Inn offering quiet rooms, well appointed, great location near I-95 with proximity to Wilmington, Central Delaware and the Philadelphia airport. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Would stay here again without concerns.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivesInPacificNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with visiting family. Could not have asked for better service. The entire staff , from the front desk clerks to the pool maintenance man, were willing to go the extra mile. The accomodations were extremely clean, pool was lovely and well maintained, the gym was great for me to do my 2 miles a day on the tredmill. Breakfast was great, plenty of choices, tasty, and always kept full. Have stayed many times and will continue to do so in the future. Close to Delaware Park Casino and Race Track.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. Very quiet and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My kids and I stayed here for a sports event at U. Delaware and were pleasantly surprised by how clean and new the facility was. Nicely kept out door pool. Our room was upgraded because they oversold what we requested. Hot breakfast good- kids liked waffle maker!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We checked with trip advisor. Then we found a great comfort inn and suites in Newark Delaware.
Minutes to the university of delaware.John at the front desk was very welcoming. We had a great room.The hotel was so clean.Breakfast was very good.It was a great value.They have a coupon deal that is very fair.We could not ask for more.As our college search continues.We will keep all our traveler friends aware.Thanks trip advisor.

Room Tip: As a general rule we stay on a top floor.We like to face the back/pool its quieter.Always look for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aa53095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 3 Concord Ln, Newark, DE 19713-3577 (Formerly Inn At Christiana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Inn and Suites located right off of I-95, close to many attractions and businesses. Hotel Amenities include: Microwaves and Refrigerators in all rooms, Flat screen TVs, All new workout equipment, Free Deluxe Continental breakfast bar with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newark
Hampton Inn Newark
Newark Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing