We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Step Ahead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Step Ahead”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Attitude is the key word here. Anyone could have done the tasks that the hotel staff did, but it was their upbeat attitude and extraordinary personality that made all of us feel so appreciative of them. Embassy Suites was always one step ahead! I felt so pleased in one of the staff members positive and “get it done” attitude, Felix Torres. He never hesitated or acted bothered at any time for any of our eccentric requests. Thank you Felix, Joan, and all of the staff at Embassy Suites for making Mandy and Eric’s Wedding a memorable event for myself and everyone who attended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarieInDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    202
    81
    41
    38
See reviews for
312
101
31
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Embassy Suites was excellent! The rooms are very spacious with a separate living room/bedroom area. Furniture was modern and very comfortable. Large bathrooms with big fluffy towels, and nice soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion. The best thing about the room was the beds! They were incredible! I usually don't sleep well in hotels but this was the exception. The mattress, pillows, & sheets were soo comfortable I didn't want to get up. Room was very soundproof, didn't here anything from the large atrium or from the neighbors. They had a great fitness room and indoor pool/spa. The spa could have been a little hotter, but the pool made up for it. You could just walk right in it was so warm. I can't stand a cold indoor pool! Every night there was a manager's reception where you got 2 comp. cocktails, beer, or wine and snacks. In the morning they had an excellent comp. breakfast in the large atrium. They had everything you could think of including cooked to order eggs & omelets. The late check out time was great. The only negative for us was the sour puss front desk woman. She must really hate her job. Besides her, the rest of the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SdoubleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The Embassy Newark is one of the hotels I look forward to most on my travels. I visit it a few times a year on business and always have an excellent experience. The staff is welcoming and consistenly strive to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are extrememly spacious and immaculately maintained. I truly look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeter906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We had a wonderful two-night experience here when our daughter auditioned for music school entry into the University of Delaware (walking distance!) and Temple University, 45 miles away.

The suites were wonderful for families with a living area with pull-put sofa, bedroom with two queens upon request, bathroom (with extra outside vanity area allowing Mom to use electric rollers while kids were in the shower), and refrigerator for left-overs from the take-out we picked up at the T. G. I. Friday's located within the building. (There's no state tax and if you pick up your dinner, no delivery charge or gratuity!)

We used the exercise room and indoor pool. The water temperatures were great in both the pool and hot tub! The evening manager's reception was lovely with different hot and cold hors d'oeuvres both evenings and up to two alcoholic or soft drinks per person (at no extra charge!).

Staff was exceptionally warm and friendly -- from the front desk who helped with an Internet problem to the bar tender at the manager's reception to the omlet chef at the excellent breakfast (which was incidentally included in the price).

One of our two evenings there, a group of pre-teens/teens started running the corridors in front of the rooms and overlooking the atrium, but within a short period of time, a manager began walking the area and monitoring public areas such as the pool and exercise room, so there were no further issues.

This hotel offers wonderful space, amenities, and customer service for the price. If my child is accepted into UDel's music school, I expect to stay there for visits the next four years. Outstanding experience!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveABeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Hotel was filled with Youth Hockey league members and few parents. A local resident who visited the hotel frequently told us this was not an uncommon event, but happened frequently. The children ran, jumped, and yelled along the open atrium style halls that were open to the lobby area. This occured on our floor, the floor above and the floor below so the noise level was incredible. At one time we left our room and requested four boys to stop bouncing a ball off the exterior wall of our room. Parents/Chaperones made no attempt to control the children. The hotel had a memo posted in the elevator warning that if bag bombs, running, and missles thrown from the upper levels to the lobby continued the perpetrators would be banned from the hotel. The hotel staff did not seem to enforce the no running or climbing on the rails. This rude, inconsiderate group took over the hotel lobby and breakfast area. Using these amenities was impossible. The hotel did lock the pool and fitness area.

  • Liked — Room style
  • Disliked — Entire experience with noise, unruly crowd, inconvenience of elevators and lobby
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dechessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Standard hotel of the Hilton group. Stuff is "professional friendly". No warm feeling. I like the happy hour with free drinks. Breakfast offers a wide variety. From special made omletts to cereals from the box. The rooms have a bedroom and a living room. On some of the furniture and carpets you can see that the hotel exists since many years. If you check in ask that you get a room that directs to the Homewood Suites because there is a busy traffic crossing that may disturb you during the night. In the building there is a TGI Friday's. It is a good alternative if you are to tired to go out. Check different offers. Some do not contain internet access (10$/day)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embassy_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review, February 15, 2009
As the General Manager of the Embassy Suites I am always happy to hear our guest’s feedback. I would like to thank you for your comments, as we use them to better train our team members and to correct any challenges our guests have experienced.

We strive to make every guest experience exceed their expectations. While we are not a brand new property, we have an amazing crew that does a great job keeping our product fresh and clean. We also have many exciting things coming as part of our 2010 improvements. Some of them we’ve completed this year including our state of the art fitness center, brand new bedding, all new soft seating, 32” flat screen tvs, and our new shuttle.

We’ve also worked with the local government to restrict traffic on the road next to the hotel. This has reduced the noise for the rooms on this side of the building. We did this with the help of guests voicing their concerns about the noise. We welcome any comments and are always looking to improve any nuance of our service we provide.

Thank you again for all of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again when you come back to Newark.

Yours in hospitality,


Bill Silva
General Manager
Embassy Suites Newark / Wilmington South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

The front desk service here was outstanding! The rooms were nice and stocked with all the little things we needed. Very well-run establicshment.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Tishphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Property: Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing