We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The entire hotel is beautiful, the rooms overlook the atrium. The lobby area is very spacious. Each room is very spacious. The breakfast was one of the best I had considering it was free. We didn't use the pool or exercise area but did check it out and it was very clean and nice. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Dnnklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 789 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent stop over when traveling with grandchildren. Worth it especially for the gourmet breakfast, the two TVs and the sleeping space. Also excellent for any family or business trip. Would recommend it to family, friends and business associates,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

July 18th we hosted a rehearsal dinner for 50 for my sons wedding. I worked with Joan who actually handled the whole process. The event went seamless. The room was decorated with center pieces, linen table clothes, and cover chairs. The food and service were great.
We also stayed at the hotel for two nights with a group of 45 other guests that attended the wedding. I didn't hear one complaint from any of our friends and family. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdebbie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ok, I was here for almost a week and had good experience.

Rooms: Decent sized rooms. My room faced the enterance of the hotel.
Breakfast: Good spread. On the spot kitchen/cooking. Lots of options, prompt staff who remembered what you had eaten yesterday, would bring your morning drink without any prompting
Cleanliness: Rooms cleaned on regular basis, no issues there
Lunch/Dinner: they do not have a restaurant of their own but there is a common door between TGIF and the hotel. Ofcourse, you will get good food and drinks there.

Newark as a whole is a small but nice place. There is one street (forgot the name) which has several nice restaurants and pubs apart from basic shops. A good place to hang out for one evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryClubMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel is nice, location is perfect, but the front desk staff are useless. Every night I had asked for a wake up call and every morning I never recieved one. 3 mornings in a row I had my cellphone set as a backup luckly.
Breakfast is comp. and great. Good selection, omelet chefs were great.
Beds and rooms are very comfortable.
Free wifi all over
DON'T FORGET TO BRING YOUR OWN ALARM!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1212L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent hotel, close to the University, very helpful staff. Manager's reception better than most. The only complaint was the quality of the omelets. The eggs were watered down leaving the result tasteless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very clean and friendly hotel. Breakfast is excellent. Many choices, hot and cold, eggs are made to order. Excellent beds. Rooms had beds in seperate room so the kids could go to bed early while the adults sat and chatted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
281 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $102 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing