We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome breakfast staff”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The breakfast staff is very attentive and they work tremendously hard during the busiest part of the morning - especially Yuridia. She always welcomes me with a smile and has my beverage waiting for me before i even sit down!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    203
    83
    41
    38
See reviews for
313
102
31
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have friends moving to Delaware. They recommended this hotel. It was clean, friendly and safe. Easy check in and out. The rooms provided you with a refrigerator and microwave. As an Honors guest they provided complimentary water and a personal greeter came to the suite to deliver the water and say hello and welcome us. The breakfast in the morning was a welcomed surprise. It included hot food and an omelet chef. Delightful!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLee479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a very nice Embassy Suites that is performing well according to the brands standards. The complimentary breakfast that is offered is also commendable. The property has many rooms, with convenient access to the University of Delaware. It also has a T.G.I. Fridays restaurant connected closely with the hotel. The price of the property was a little high, however it did provide a lot. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What you'd expect from a standard Enbassy Suites Hotel; clean, relatively quite, standard rooms and amenities. The loby is more open than many others I've stayed at. Easy access off the interstate. Across teh street trot men University of Delaware.
The heating system in meeting rooms must have been inoperable it was so cold.

Room Tip: No apparent difference from people I talked with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoChemProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Office
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

While attending a sporting event at the University of Delaware we stayed at the Embassy Suites in Newark, DE. This hotel is very well run. The staff could not of been nicer, from registration clerk, to the bartender serving cocktails and to the Chef serving up breakfast. Great smiles, with a very welcoming tone.

The Room was just a little smaller than other Embassy Suites I have been in, but the bed was very nice and the pillows were just right. The room was very clean and the attention to detail was right on.

We arrived late for the Manager's Reception however the Bartender was so nice he gave us a glass of wine and a beer as we sat down to recap the days activities.

In the morning the short order chef serving up, made to order breakfast, was very funny. He made everyone in line wake up to a smile and a chuckle. The only thing that was missing on the Breakfast Buffet was Bacon. But believe me, there are plenty of other items to choose from to get you set for the day.

All in all this was a great hotel. I would strongly urge anyone who is visiting Newark, DE to stay at the Embassy Suites. You will have a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor which was the top floor in the hotel so the interior halls were very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Long trip. Family trip to take child to college in Massachusetts. Last minute reservation. Plan to stay there on all visits to child's school. Pleasantly surprised. Nice reception, great room, excellent room service, and fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

They were installing a non-slip coating in all of the hotel tubs while we were there for 9 nights. No one bothered to tell us that we would have to change hotel rooms in the middle of our stay when we checked in. When I received the notice under my door that I would have to move, I made several attempts to change rooms, but there was never one available. After being assured by the front desk that they would probably just get to my room after I checked out, I finally felt comfortable to completely unpack. The next night I returned to my room to find a sticker on my door saying "Do Not Enter--Chemicals have been sprayed" I assumed that someone had packed my belongings and moved them, but was extremely dismayed to find that they had entered my room past the "Do Not Disturb" tag hanging on the door handle and sprayed the chemical in the bathroom with all of my toiletries on the sink and all of my possessions exposed in the room. The front desk then offered to move me to another room which turned out to have no closet for my clothes. Upon inquiring at the desk, this room was an addition to a bridal suite and was never supposed to be given to a guest. What a nightmare!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Property: Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing