We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“about what you'd expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What you'd expect from a standard Enbassy Suites Hotel; clean, relatively quite, standard rooms and amenities. The loby is more open than many others I've stayed at. Easy access off the interstate. Across teh street trot men University of Delaware.
The heating system in meeting rooms must have been inoperable it was so cold.

Room Tip: No apparent difference from people I talked with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoChemProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 798 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

While attending a sporting event at the University of Delaware we stayed at the Embassy Suites in Newark, DE. This hotel is very well run. The staff could not of been nicer, from registration clerk, to the bartender serving cocktails and to the Chef serving up breakfast. Great smiles, with a very welcoming tone.

The Room was just a little smaller than other Embassy Suites I have been in, but the bed was very nice and the pillows were just right. The room was very clean and the attention to detail was right on.

We arrived late for the Manager's Reception however the Bartender was so nice he gave us a glass of wine and a beer as we sat down to recap the days activities.

In the morning the short order chef serving up, made to order breakfast, was very funny. He made everyone in line wake up to a smile and a chuckle. The only thing that was missing on the Breakfast Buffet was Bacon. But believe me, there are plenty of other items to choose from to get you set for the day.

All in all this was a great hotel. I would strongly urge anyone who is visiting Newark, DE to stay at the Embassy Suites. You will have a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor which was the top floor in the hotel so the interior halls were very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Long trip. Family trip to take child to college in Massachusetts. Last minute reservation. Plan to stay there on all visits to child's school. Pleasantly surprised. Nice reception, great room, excellent room service, and fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

They were installing a non-slip coating in all of the hotel tubs while we were there for 9 nights. No one bothered to tell us that we would have to change hotel rooms in the middle of our stay when we checked in. When I received the notice under my door that I would have to move, I made several attempts to change rooms, but there was never one available. After being assured by the front desk that they would probably just get to my room after I checked out, I finally felt comfortable to completely unpack. The next night I returned to my room to find a sticker on my door saying "Do Not Enter--Chemicals have been sprayed" I assumed that someone had packed my belongings and moved them, but was extremely dismayed to find that they had entered my room past the "Do Not Disturb" tag hanging on the door handle and sprayed the chemical in the bathroom with all of my toiletries on the sink and all of my possessions exposed in the room. The front desk then offered to move me to another room which turned out to have no closet for my clothes. Upon inquiring at the desk, this room was an addition to a bridal suite and was never supposed to be given to a guest. What a nightmare!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a dozen times in the last 10 years, and it's been very consistent -- really somewhere between very good and excellent overall, I'd say, but with one outstanding feature: breakfast. I've been very pleased with almost everything about the breakfast, but the really outstanding feature is John, the omelette etc. chef. I see AggieTraveler98 wrote "omelette chef entertaining", but that doesn't do justice to him; he's a great chef, REALLY entertaining, and a terrific person as well.

Room Tip: The one thing to beware of is that rooms facing the road on one side of the hotel -- hmm, I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonAByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nothing special about this ES. Convenient to UD, although a little hard to get in/out of the parking lot northbound. TGIFridays attached (which I would never recommend on principle). Breakfast good...omelette chef entertaining. Had alot of loud holiday parties in the atrium, but that can't really be helped. Only real negative was the acoustics between bedrooms. I could hear everything our neighbors were doing all night. EVERYTHING. Would have called and asked for security, but they weren't even being that loud with what they were doing. It was just entirely obvious what they were doing...walls way too thin. Ugh.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank AggieTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is my family's little Home Away from Home...a place to take our kids for a day or two and get away conveniently, at a fair price and with nearly perfect results every time.

My 9 year-old daughter Jessica and I took a mini-vacation at this property the day after 2012 Christmas and, as always, the stay was near perfect.

It has a great indoor pool/Jacuzzi area, a terrific and filling (and included in the room price) breakfast and is connected to a TGIFriday's. So, breakfast is free and dinner is a phone call and a few steps away. And we didn't even need to step out in the freezing rain, either.

But perhaps best of all, the property is spotless clean and incredibly quiet. The latter is what I look for most in a hotel. When it is time to sleep, I don't need to hear doors shutting, or kids screaming. And in the ten or so visits to this property, I don't recall hearing either. They have a strict "no smoking" and "no noise policy" and they have teeth behind these, so these rules are not mearly words--they mean it and they enforce it. Thank you for this, Embassy Suites Newark!

The only minor issues this visit were the TV remotes weren't working. Oddly enuf, both remotes were not working. I'd like to think they would either know the shelf life of the batteries in the remotes and should replace accordingly, or should have the housekeeper check occasionally. Both incidents, the engineering staff member came up within seconds of being called, fixed the issue quickly and was as polite, professional and friendly as you could ask. He was one of the few staff members we came in contact with on this visit and he represented the hotel very well. We were also excited to see that this hotel now has high definition TV service, as this was a while in coming. Thank you.

The only other issue was the beds were way too soft. I have a bit of a balky back and the bed did not help. Still, I realize they can't have a bed for every guests preferences.

Again, these issues are minor and do not degrade the terrfic rating this hotel truly desserves.

As always, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KershKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
282 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $117 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing