We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True suite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“True suite hotel”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent two nights over the weekend in Sept - no football game so things were quiet and lots of room which is nice. The buffet line is pretty busy in the mornings however - the make to order and buffet are in the same place so it got rather long the later the morning went. However, the personnel were all pleasant and there is plenty of seating. The location is great for getting to all the sights around DE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    198
    79
    39
    36
See reviews for
302
96
30
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel to be close to a triathlon race and didn't know that there was a University of Delaware football game going on at the same time. Even though parking was a little confusing, they had the lot blocked off so there was still plenty of parking for hotel guests. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The tub area was definitely a little older but clean. Room was very quiet and had a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at Embassy Suites Newark for the Labor Day week with a co-worker on business, so we got to see it from Monday evening through to the next Sunday! Reception was always good - friendly and helpful. The service staff throughout I found very good - all day, we noticed the function rooms being set and dismantled, the rooms being cleaned, the breakfast staff always there and very helpful, it was like a well-oiled machine.

The overall interior look has a slightly faded feel, like an expensive armchair that has settled through use to become more lived-in and comfortable, and the sight of the back of the lifts from the foyer has an industrial look that doesn't quite fit with the foyer design. But the general hotel ambience fits with the surrounding district, which also has a comfortable feel (the University of Delaware campus is just across the road, and well worth exploring - the dairy that sells its own ice-cream is a must!).

The foyer is huge, with all the various functions, breakfast ,and Happy Hour happening within that space, and the fountain adds a nice touch. My room was large and clean, the furniture comfortable, the king-size bed are soft and 'wallowy', the bathroom always clean and supplied with Crabtree & Evelyn (non-chemical) items, which was great. The whole "eco-friendly" orientation of the hotel (read the plaque in the lift) actually fits with me. The breakfast was varied and filling, and a walk-though TGIF provides a decent option for lunch and dinner, even if their style is a bit at odds with that of the hotel itself.

The only two things I felt needed a bit more attention were the complete lack of any changing-rooms for the gym and pool area, which is probably a major reason they aren't more used; and the distance of the hotel from any major shops, which one over-used shuttle can barely accomodate. My cell phone was down the whole time I was there because I couldn't get to the shops to find a charger; and catching a cold meant that I had to use toilet paper for lack of any tissues in the hotel's small shop.

Apart from that, though, it was a good experience, and I'm very happy to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiralx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was a little hesitant to book a room at this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but we were exhausted and needed a last minute room. I had checked and many of the other hotels in the area were full, so I took a gamble and it paid off. Our room was clean and very comfortable.

The hotel is a little too far to walk to the restaurants and bars on Main Street and the walls were a little thin, but I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mielleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Husband and I went three nights over Labor Day Weekend and were very pleased. The king bed was very comfortable. The made to order omelettes at breakfast are great. The room was a large suite. Loved crabtree bath products . It is an older hotel and bathroom tub area was older but clean. Our service was good. The manager's reception has free drinks. Room had a refrigerator and microwave. Parking was free. Newspapers were free in lobby. Indoor pool area is small. Skipped that. Overall, a very good experience for our Labor Day rate.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member and it might help you get a good room. Not sure but we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy60974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the third or fourth time we have stayed at this Embassy Suites over the past 5 years. It is really starting to look worn and in need of fresh paint/new furniture/and thorough cleaning. Like one of the other reviewers, the first thing we noticed when we opened the door of this "nonsmoking" room was the strong odor of stale cigarette smoke. This was somewhat improved by turning on the air, but overall air quality was poor in the room; my daughter and husband coughed quite a bit during our two-night stay. Sofa was very worn out; some stains on carpeting and sofa. Either Embassy Suites as a chain is slipping from past quality or it is just an issue at this location. Not certain if we would stay here again, but location is convenient

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy_O353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice, clean, friendly Embassy Suites hotel. Great staff at breakfast and it was convenient that, since we were traveling from the north down south, there was a Fridays attached to the hotel. Typical of the atrium style Embassy Suites, the fact that there were two events being held in the lobby area meant that it was noisy up in the living room part of the hotel room. We couldn't hear the noise in the bedroom though. Breakfast was typical Embassy Suites stuff and not overly crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Property: Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing