We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Need to Update Their Menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #2 of 353 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Firebirds Wood Fired Grill is located at Center Pointe Plaza just off Rt. 95. We offer authentic wood-fired steaks, seafood, specialty cocktails and select wines. Join us for Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 4-6:30PM at the FIREBAR(R) or on the patio. We offer top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. Visit us online to learn more.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“They Need to Update Their Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

While both the service and the quality if the food at Firebirds is quite good, they rarely change their menu options. This makes for a boring trip to the restaurant, and a laid back attitude in the kitchen.

I have reviewed this restaurant previously and gave it 4 stars, but that was a few years ago, a change, at least once, in the chef, and not knowing that they make no changes to that menu.

Busy bar scene on Friday night. If you enjoy a crowd, having next to nowhere to sit, then this is your place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you appreciate the service and quality of our food but disappointed that you have not experienced the variety we've been offering outside our main menu. A main menu of varied and highly popular items makes it difficult to add more items or decide which items to replace to keep menu size in check. As such, last year we introduced our Fresh Inspirations program, seasonal offerings to bring you even more variety beyond our main menu. You can check out this season's Fresh Inspirations at http://www.firebirdsrestaurants.com/fb/promos/spring-features
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    150
    42
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went here a couple weeks ago for a friend birthday gathering and I heard nothing but nice reviews before hand. Staff was kind as we waiting in the waiting area for all our girls. We entered and I admired the fireplace, wine bottle walls and all around scenery. The staff was so friend and happy which was a plus and the food was great!. I ordered a steak and sweet potatoes fries with carmel sauce on the side.. loved it! the staff even took pictures of our big group. enjoy ourself to the fullest

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlimGoodie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Firebirds for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice easy going atmosphere. Lots of fire grilled burger selections, big salads and specials in the $10-14 range. Real brewed iced tea as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DEBlueHen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visited for an early dinner on a Friday night. Unfortunately it was happy hour and loaded with college kids which made it very noisy. Otherwise the atmosphere was very nice, the food excellent and the service very attentive. We were visited several times by the manager as he went from table to table, making sure everything was satisfactory. We thought the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food and ambiance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D053004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a delight. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great meal with work colleagues. Nice friendly and attentive service. Super food. I'll be back on my next trip to Wilmington.

Helpful?
Thank GRMY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing