We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to love it Here!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Stones Pub

Two Stones Pub
Ranked #9 of 353 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 25 Craftbrew Taphandles- all great beer, pub grub and hifgh end- example- foie gras burger, cheeseplate, mini corn dogs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to love it Here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Haven't had a good meal here in quite some time. Got the brewers plate and almost got sick instantly, the bratwurst were so bad, they tasted rancid and smelled worse. Next tried the pulled pork, mistake. Was so dry I couldn't eat half of it. The nachos left so much to be desired... just cold white cheese, giant green onions and a few good pieces here and there.

The waitresses are not on their game, ever. We often sat with empty beers or water...didn't come back to check how either our appetizers or meals were for some time. They all seem to just hang out by the bar and chat.. then when I ordered the Brooklyn sorachi ace beer she condescendingly let me know it was a saison. My reply, "well what's a saison?" Hers I don't know it's just lighter ill go get it for you....gee thanks for the help.

Used to love it fun with a warm atmosphere and we saw the chef and owner often...seems lately like they've gotten side tracked with Wilmington opening up that Newark has just slipped, in food quality and service..

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LHR622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    72
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is entertaining, Beer is way, way, overpriced. Not a neighborhood pub.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been to the Naamans road location many times, it's just so convenient for us in N. Wilmington, and there is little competition nearby. We had hoped this would be our new "place to hang out" but not so. The food is different, entertaining, and fairly good. The atmosphere is dark, industrial and forboding. The beer offerings seem devoted to the abnormal, and outragously expensive. Now I love micro brews, but I want a pint, not 9oz or 6oz, and I don't want to pay $10 for that pint, or $5 for a can of beer? i understand carrying the eclectic, but is it asking too much to price 10 of the 32 beers in the $3.50-5.00 range? As it is, instead of popping in for a few, we have to pretty much plan the visit, and the $100 we are going to spend for a lite dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Losing focus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Ive been visiting two stones since they opened, but have since stopped going.

They have lost their focus on customer service. Sitting at the akward shaped bar is fine because their bartenders are great and very helpful. However, sit at a table and if your lucky enough your server isnt chatting at the end of the bar. That has happened far to many times, theres a time and a place for it, not right infront of your customers. Plus if your server knows someone at the bar or another table you might as well get up and leave because your gonna be waiting forever.

Plus the only time to go that makes their food worth it is happy hour. I mean 9 bucks for chips with white nacho cheese on top, really? As far as beer goes, its great you guys do samples but 12.00 for a 120 or an etrusca for a 12 oz pour??. Do 1/6 kegs really cost you that much? I doubt it.

Its no wonder you could open a second location with your outrageous mark ups beer and sun pare food.

Get your heads together guys, or else you will start turning away more and more customers.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafindumonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been looking for a good spot for Friday night relaxation. This is a good answer. There are $3.00 beers and $5.00 appetizers. The appetizers are different and good. The service was excellent. This place fits the bill!

Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food used to be good here, not sure what happened but now it's overpriced and not very good. Steak with fries and overcooked asparagus was around $22 and although meat was good it was served sliced and looked to be about 4oz, it was a joke. Gumbo resembled mud or a wet concrete, It clearly had been left out in the pot for way too long, and all moisture was evaporated and it was overcooked, it was also luke warm, any chef that could put that out clearly doesn't have a clue. I love sweet potatoes but the sweet potato buddha fries looked like vomit in a bowl and tasted like it too. They used to have a much better menu and ever since it changed so has the quality of the food. Beer selection is great so I'd go for happy hour but get a bite to eat somewhere else first.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkee187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Two Stones Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing