We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return if in the area!”

JB Dawson's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 365 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At J.B. Dawson's, we strive for excellence in our food, service and atmosphere. Our high quality menu begins by... using the freshest ingredients, like our hand cut steaks, fresh ground hamburgers, fresh seafood and home made soups, sauces,dressings and desserts. Our high-energy team oriented approach allows you to meet many members of our friendly staff and ensures that you receive attentive and complete service. Our clean open kitchen and warm classic atmosphere are combined with our outstanding food and service to give you a truly enjoyable experience. Your satisfaction is our number one goal.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This was our first time to try J.B. Dawson's. Have generally gone to Houlihan's, but that is now gone and replaced with a Bahama Breeze. We just took a chance and walked into J.B. Dawson's as it was near the location in the mall that we were coming from. We had no idea what type of place it was, but extremely glad that we gave it a chance. I had soup and salad. Great house salad and wonderful French onion soup. My son made a meal of the chicken tender appetizer. He said it was the best chicken tenders that he has had. That says a lot as he eats many chicken tenders. Praying we get back to Delaware so that we can get a full meal here next time!

Thank Lynnette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Owner at JB Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

So glad to hear that you loved your visit and that you chose us as your dining destination. It should always be that way and those chicken tenders are soooo gooood. Thanks again and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for JB Dawson's Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2014

Had a very nice dinner, the service and food was very good. The place is large enough that the noise level just fine, you could carry a conversation with no problem. The prime rib, rotisserie chicken where very tasty. Had a nice shrimp dish before we had our main meal which was very good, we has three sauces each had a great taste. This is a nice place to eat especially if you want to shop, located along side of Christiana mall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lstapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Owner at JB Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thanks for the very nice review & we hope to see you again when you visit the mall again. I love our Prime Rib as well. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

...the have the best entree selections, I really love their steamed broccoli, black beans and rice and the Salmon...very good..

Thank Moten919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Owner at JB Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thanks for the great review & we hope you come see us again! Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I normally don't review restaurants twice, but since my first wasn't entirely positive, I'm reviewing again. No complaints about the service this time around. Bartender was attentive and friendly. The food was very good. I'll definitely return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, General Manager at JB Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Lynne, so glad that you gave us a 2nd chance and that you enjoyed your visit. Your food and service should always be very good and if it's not please don't hesitate to ask for a manager. Hopefully, that won't happen again in the future. Thanks again! Sincerely, Steve Mullen. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife selected this restaurant since we had some business at the mall. We had reservations since it was a Saturday night but they weren't that crowded. Our server was professional and attentive. We both had filets - mine was Oscar. We both enjoyed our meals including the sides and salads. I also had a cocktail. Our total bill was $66 before tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Owner at JB Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thanks for the very nice review & we hope to see you again the next time you come out to the mall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB Dawson's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JB Dawson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing