We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as home”

Guilday's Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 354 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (302) 366-1241
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“As good as home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I'm from the south and this place is as close if not better than places I've eaten at back home. My wife and I were actually going to cracker barrel for breakfast, but saw the crowd here and decided to give it a try. Delicious! We will not be going to CB for breakfast anymore.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great taste and easy on the budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I love the breakfast and lunch specials. This place has the feel of a diner and a lot of retired folks eat here because of the good quality and great prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fox252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good food! Seafood is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This restaurant is on the west side of Glasgow on westbound Route 40. It is about one mile west of Route 896, and is 0.7 miles west of Glasgow Avenue. Glasgow Park is about 1.5 miles to the east. This restaurant is nowhere near Newark (it can 25 minutes from Newark in heavy traffic.) Elkton MD is about 4.3 miles to the west. Lunch is great, especially the seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dghornock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Want to Try Scrapple? Feel Safe in Doing so Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a great breakfast spot. Lunch is good too, but the main draw is usually the breakfast, as witnessed by the parking lot full of cars.

This place has been around forever it seems, and has been enlarged and remodeled in the past. It's clean, it's comfortable, it's great value for the money. And, it's consistent. It's a place you can take mom for breakfast, and she'll be happy.

One of their breakfast combo's - always on the menu - is Scrapple & Eggs. Now, if you like scrapple, you'll love this. And, if you've always wanted to try scrapple, this is a great place to take the plunge!

They deep fry their scrapple - makes it nice and crispy on the outside, and moist and delicious on the inside. CAUTION - it will be hot! And will remain hot all the way to your last home fry and bite of toast.

Here's what puts Guilday's on the map - you can ask them to flat top the scrapple as well. After the deep fry, they put it on the griddle and 'smoosh it'. Breaks the crust up a little, and allows another layer of caramelization. As if there's not enough flavor going on already!

Big portions, not greasy, not expensive, and fast friendly service. The only slight drawback will be finding a parking spot, and a seat. They stay pretty busy.

Visit them, and you'll see why!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mysterytraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
642 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,746 helpful votes
“Decent Food at Decent Prices--Relaxed Country Atmosphere No-Frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Guilday's is a small no-frills restaurant on Route 40 halfway between Bear, DE & Elkton, MD. It only serves breakfast and is only open til mid afternoon (2pm or 3pm depending on the day). However, they OPEN really early...5:30am on every day except Sunday (7am). My husband and I have eaten here a few times now. It is nothing special, but a decent place to get decent food at decent prices. They have a fairly decent breakfast menu that consists of the basics: eggs, pancakes, omelets, waffles, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, bagels, english muffins and etc. However, they have several country favorites like Corned Beef Hash, Creamed Chipped Beef, Sausage Gravy & Biscuits, Steak & Eggs and SCRAPPLE!

Today we stopped in around 8am & were told to grab a seat where ever we liked. So, we grabbed a table right in front of the grill area. The inside of Guilday's is kind of dated with the dark wood paneling, but overall it appears to be clean. Our waitress was over to our table right away and took our drink order. We both ordered medium sized orange juices ($1.75 each). My husband decided to get a scrambled egg, cheese and bacon on a biscuit ($4.50). I ordered the two over medium egg breakfast that comes with hashbrowns, toast & jelly ($5.55). You get your choice of bread for toast--I chose white bread. Meanwhile, we sat and chatted.

Within maybe 5 minutes, our breakfasts were out from the kitchen. The service was super fast! We both enjoyed our PULP-FREE orange juice. They were super large for mediums, so next time we might order a small. Definatly a good value on the juice sizes here compared to other restaurants!! Plus it was really good OJ. My husband loved his bacon, egg & cheese biscuit. The biscuits were homemade and "definately better than a McBiscuit" according to him. Plus they did not skimp on the egg, bacon OR cheese. There was lots of ooey-gooey cheese dripping off his sandwich!! My eggs were JUMBO sized eggs and they were cooked perfectly! The toast was a little soggy from butter, but it was good. The homefries are REAL homemade homefries. They are huge chunks of diced potatoes. They are cooked so that they are tender, but not falling apart. However, the flavor is a little bland. I love homefries, but these ones are just average. I wish they would improve on the flavor because it is hard to find REAL homemade homefries! These ones just fall a little short in the flavor department, but some pepper and ketchup made them a little better.

Overall, we had a good homestyle breakfast at decent prices. The service was super fast and friendly. The serving sizes were large and a good value. The atmosphere is a little dark & a tad outdated (woodpaneling, wooden tables and a large wooden bar area). Inside you find no frills, but a welcoming country atmosphere. It is a good place to get a hearty breakfast that feels like grandma cooked it without the fuss of making a mess in your own kitchen. I would recommend it IF you want a good homestyle breakfast and decent prices. You can relax and feel at home here.

TIP: Go early (before 11am Mon-Fri) and you can take advantage of the Breakfast Special. The Guilday's Breakfast Special consists of 2 hotcakes, 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon, 2 sausage links & your choice of coffee, tea OR a small soda FOR ONLY $5.75!! You can't beat that deal. Only downside is that it is only offered before 11am on the weekdays & NO SUBSTITUTIONS are allowed.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guilday's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guilday's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing